We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good large campsite”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bar Harbor Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good large campsite”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

We enjoyed our stay at this campground but didn't think it was anything special compared to others that we've visited elsewhere in New England.

-The staff were helpful and pleasant,
-bathrooms are clean but drafty and dated (I found I needed 2 qtrs. to have a proper shower)
- whilst there is a good view of the bay from the pool area, there are very few sites from which you can see this
-the campsite is on the pick up for the bar harbour shuttle, however note that this is the last campground on route and so at busy times you may only have standing space
-some of the sites were not well drained in rain, and you may end up camping in a puddle!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    39
    12
    4
    1
See reviews for
45
54
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lakeville
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

This campground had clean bathrooms and nice sites. Showers are a quarter but well worth it. Cash only so no reservations. You drive around until you find a site you like. The fire pits are cleaned daily and everyone is so friendly. I can't wait to go back again! Went with my fiance and had a tent. Queit time is at ten but as long as you are not rowdy they won't make you put out your fire. Close to amenities like miniature golf and a free ice cream after the game across the street. The workers at the main office are knowledgable about things to do and see. I would definitely recommend this place!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Amber H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

We enjoyed this campground very much. We stayed there with our 2 kids for 4 nights. The view from the pool is very nice as it overlooks the ocean. The campground is very quiet, the bathrooms are clean, the staff helpful. We strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sebastien_Ivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
121 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

We did not arrive until after 4 pm and hoped for a pull thru site with full hookups and got the last one. Yeah! The staff here are so helpful and pleasant. The campsites for the tents and back in sites are gorgeous, but we are happy to have an easy pull thru. The plus side is shuttle around the area. Recommend this place highly.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LindaVA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

Cash only campground. You drive around and pick your spot. Be there by noon or you will not find a spot even in the middle of the week. It said "Oceanview" but there is not much of one.
One pool, which no one talks to you at, and a playground. No Jacuzzi, or store or one close by. Bring what you need because all they sell is ice and wood.
If you pick a site near the pool or "oceanview" then you are quite the walk from the office or where the trolley picks you up.
The campground is NOT social at all. We were there 3 days and hardly anyone spoke to us. We like the social aspect of big campgrounds and this one does not fit that bill.
The wooded sites are where the water/electric sites are located and there are trees between you and your neighbors which leads to privacy and.... silence. We enjoy sitting by a campfire with new friends we meet on our journeys and you will not find that here. Everyone is asleep by 9pm and there are few early risers it seems.
The staff were helpful, the younger staff incl the son of the owner but the elderly staff were kinda cranky.
The washrooms were clean, but you had to pay for showers. It's very no frills but clean and acceptable. There were no singles camping it seemed, only couples and families.
We probably will not return again, only because it's not our kind of campground. If we wanted privacy we would go to the North Maine Woods to camp. It's probably perfect for those with very young children or couples wanting solitude.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tabitha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor,Maine
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

I was pretty impressed with this place! Yes, you can't make reservations, and they don't take credit cards, but this place is really nice! We got here at 8 in the morning, and the woman at the office told us to drive around until we found a place that was empty. It took us only a few minutes to fine a site for our tent. It was close to the bath house, and it had electric. We liked where we were located. It was shady in the morning (YAY for not waking up with the sun!!) and sunny in the afternoon. I loved that the quiet hours are just that...quiet. That in itself was quite surprising because of how large this place is. It is huge and your neighbors can be pretty close to you, depending on where you land, but overall, my husband and I really liked it and will absolutely stay here again.

The only downside that I found was that the bath house was pretty small for the size of the campground. There are 3 of them, though, and they were VERY clean, which I loved!

(I'm not sure why one of the previous reviewers said the tent sites were not wooded. That is not true!! There are many sites that are absolutely surrounded by trees. They are so shady, in fact, I might try to stay there next time, because I like it darker when I sleep. Plus in the dead of summer, those sites would be way cooler.)

Room Tip: Get to the campground early (around 8:30 or 9:00) to grab a site as people are leaving the campgroun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vzteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

Many wooded large sites w electric. Great location only short drive to the harbor. Restaurants and deluxe putt putt within short walk. Beautiful views from hilltop. Laundry facility has many washers and dryers. Private clean showers. Quiet hours were observed. We had site 0-8

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jtighe66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn
2.2 mi away
Belle Isle Motel
Belle Isle Motel
#20 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
3.3 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
4.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,600 reviews
0.4 mi away
High Seas Motel
High Seas Motel
#27 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bar Harbor Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bar Harbor Campground

Property: Bar Harbor Campground
Address: 409 State Highway 3, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-7551
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 300
Also Known As:
Bar Harbor Campground Hotel Bar Harbor
Bar Harbor Campground Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing