We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value”
Review of The Central House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Central House
Ranked #33 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Colorado, USA
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Value”
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Located on Cottage St it's an excellent location to shops and restaurants. Great old hose converted into an inn. Spacious and comfortable rooms, Very quiet.. An excellent value for being in walking distance to everything in town, The owner is very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank juma196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    39
    12
    2
    1
See reviews for
8
62
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Medford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Great place to stay in Bar Harbor , nice rooms , nice host , easy access to downtown , The Central House is appropriately named . My fiance and I stayed here for three nights and had zero complaints. Loved it. We would definitely stay here again upon any return.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Central House in Bar Harbor is an interesting hybrid of Inn and small hotel. It offers a house-like atmosphere, but no breakfast and few hotel amenities. However, at the price point its rooms are offered, it is far better than the motel options. Great location on Cottage Street in downtown Bar Harbor, a short walk from the harbor, the Shore Path and the better restaurants in town (which are NOT on Main Street). The Inn is owned by non-resident owners, and the manager Beth, is a very outgoing, friendly woman who is a pleasure to deal with. The rooms themselves run the gamut---my daughters shared a room with twin beds on the 1st floor and my wife and I had a room on the 2nd floor for 3 nights and moved to a room on the third floor for the last night. The room on the third floor, despite being the cheapest, was the nicest room. If you don't mind the looong walk up (34 steps with bags is tiring), it's a great deal. But don't expect 1000 count sheets and jacuzzis---this is not what you are paying for. Rather, you get to relax in the large living room, sunporch or front covered porch sipping on whatever you choose to bring with you. And there is something to be said for that. Now the minor gripes---it was HOT, until I asked Beth about the central air (only on the 1st two floors---the third floor has room air conditioners). They brought someone in and the problem was fixed. Shower pressure is low, no matter what floor you are on. They should do something about this. Other than that, I cannot imagine a better place in Bar Harbor for the price.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonfromPhilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Central House has an air of the turn of the previous century. Innkeeper Beth graciously explained about the guest cottages along Cottage Street and how Central House and its decor recall them. We liked the dated room, the prismatic delight of the crystal chandelier hanging above stairs and generous entry. The location provides easy walking all over town, including to the Shore Path, and the Cottage Bakery across the street provdied good breakfasts and dinners and blueberry turnovers that my husband termed the best pastry he'd ever eaten. We appreciated the travel advice offered by the hard-working Beth who seemed to be there well into the evenings and found this a very comfortable, atmospheric and friendly place to stay!

Room Tip: All we saw seemed good, though I suspect those not on the front may be a bit quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LPStravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
138 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

The Central House is exactly what it states: central to everything you could want to do in Bar Harbor. I visited the area for a weekend and this was the perfect place to stay. The building was built in the 1800's, wide planked wood floors, period decor, impecably kept up, very reasonable pricing, an adorable front porch to sit an have (complimentary) morning coffee or tea. Each room has a private bath, central a/c and cable TV. You are within walking distance to all shops, ferries, etc., without the "touristy" feeling. If the tide is low, it is a short walk down the street and over the sandbar to Bar Island. The entrance to the national park is a very short drive away. Hospitablity was warm, free parking for guests onsite. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jmkma09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chambersburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2012

Like others have said, the Central House sits in a great location close to everything in downtown Bar Harbor. We didn't have to use our car the entire 3 days that we were there as everything is within walking distance. The CH is also a great value considering its location. The House is rather old and does show some wear but our room was very clean and everthing was in working order. About my only complaint (which is a minor one) is that the complimentary coffee wasn't ready until 8 am i believe. A couple of mornings we were up earlier and had to run to a couple of the nearby bakeries for our morning fix. This did give us the opportunity to discover some of the great blueberry pastries available at the bakeries. The CH has a nice sized front porch with seating that we used in the morning while drinking our coffee and again at night sharing a bottle of wine. Overall we enjoyed our stay and would definately stay there again if I was travaling on a budget.

Room Tip: Take a look at their website to see pictures of each individual room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TonyinPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

We were looking for an affordable place to stay last minute. Not easy in August in Bar Harbor... We stumbled upon the Central House, which is in a great location. We were surprised to see that they had availability, the prices were good value and the rooms very nice. Friendly owners and easy parking, too.

Free coffee/tea in the morning and good breakfast and lunch boxes across the street. The only minus was the bed which could have been a bit more comfortable. But overall a very nice experience.

Room Tip: after we took a slightly more expensive room, we had a look at the cheaper rooms and they look very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuPel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.2 mi away
West Street Hotel
West Street Hotel
#14 of 41 in Bar Harbor
672 reviews
0.2 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#11 of 41 in Bar Harbor
345 reviews
0.2 mi away
ANCHORAGE MOTEL
ANCHORAGE MOTEL
#37 of 41 in Bar Harbor
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Quimby House Inn
Quimby House Inn
#31 of 41 in Bar Harbor
352 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bar Harbor Manor
Bar Harbor Manor
#13 of 41 in Bar Harbor
428 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cromwell Harbor Motel
Cromwell Harbor Motel
#21 of 41 in Bar Harbor
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Central House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Central House

Property: The Central House
Address: 60 Cottage St, PO Box 955, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1831
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Central House 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Central House was built as a guest house in 1887. Tourism was just getting started in Bar Harbor. Much has changed since then and The Central House is now right down the street from many Bar Harbor shops, tours, restaurants, and the Island Explorer shuttle bus to Acadia National Park and Sand Beach. We offer Maine-roasted coffee and a selection of teas at 8 o'clock every morning. While we do not serve food, we provide a $10.00 gift card per room per day to lunch and dinner favorite Geddy's Restaurant facing the harbor. Our living room, front porch, and coffee area provide comfortable places to sit and enjoy your own food and drink and wireless internet is complementary throughout the house. Our rooms are simple and cozy with A/C, cable TV, and private bathrooms. Each room is uniquely furnished and decorated and many returning guests reserve their favorite rooms year after year. Rooms have a queen-sized bed, except Room 206 with a king-sized bed, and Room 204 has an extra twin-sized bed in addition to the four-posted queen to comfortably sleep three. We have been told by many guests that they find The Central House is a great value for the charm and ideal location. We hope to hear from you this season! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your The Central House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Hotel Bar Harbor
The Central House Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing