We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location in the Center of Bar Harbor”
Review of The Central House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Central House
Ranked #27 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2013

I stayed at the Central House for three nights in early August 2013. It literally is in the center of the two main streets of activity. Park your car there and walk everywhere you need to go in town.

I was looking for a clean, safe place where I could be left to myself, but have someone available to ask and answer questions. This place fit that perfectly. No formal breakfast, but there are great places literally across and down the street in all directions to explore, which is just what I wanted.

The wifi worked even on the third floor. Noise wasn't really an issue as everyone there seemed to respect the quiet times well. Cable TV and air conditioning in the room too.

The place is small but large enough to have several place for folks to stretch out. There is a small lobby, a "library" room with a couple of sofas, a "coffee" room with several tables to bring your own food in, and a fantastic front porch to watch the townsfolk and tourists wander by.

For the price, you cannot beat this place. If I return to Bar Harbor, I'm absolutely staying here again and highly recommend it to you :-)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank oogiebug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2013

The Central House was an absolute great value and a wonderful place to stay. Beth was helpful, kind, and dedicated to her inn. The location is absolutely convenient and the room was clean and comfortable. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dprice04355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

I stayed at The Central House for 4 nights. It was my first trip to Bar Harbor and I relied on the reviews I read on this site. The price and location are fabulous. The room was clean and comfortable. Beth was so helpful with suggestions, brochures, maps, etc. There is a lovely room where you can make tea, coffee, relax and enjoy a snack. Lots of things to do and places to eat very close by. I would definitely stay here the next time I travel to this area.

Room Tip: We stayed in Rm 103 on the first floor. It had twin beds and a private bathroom. Very convenient a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EJK1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Stayed 4 nights with my wife and in-laws in two very nice rooms. Rooms are nicely appointed, cozy and compliment an inn with a lot of character. The location is perfect! Just off Main Street, a few minutes walk from the water, restaurants and the town square! We started off our bike through Acadia from a bike shop just a couple doors down from the inn. We will definitely book here again the next time we holiday in Bar Harbor!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jslashk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

For the price in Bar Harbor, you can't beat the prices here. I didn't care to have food, a swimming pool, or any extras. I just wanted a clean inexpensive place to stay. Complimentary tea, coffee, snacks, and Ice in the break room. Can't go wrong. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joseph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Located on Cottage St it's an excellent location to shops and restaurants. Great old hose converted into an inn. Spacious and comfortable rooms, Very quiet.. An excellent value for being in walking distance to everything in town, The owner is very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank juma196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Great place to stay in Bar Harbor , nice rooms , nice host , easy access to downtown , The Central House is appropriately named . My fiance and I stayed here for three nights and had zero complaints. Loved it. We would definitely stay here again upon any return.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank david v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.2 mi away
Quimby House Inn
Quimby House Inn
#34 of 41 in Bar Harbor
367 reviews
0.6 mi away
Wonder View Inn
Wonder View Inn
#26 of 41 in Bar Harbor
443 reviews
0.2 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#8 of 41 in Bar Harbor
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#18 of 41 in Bar Harbor
312 reviews
0.2 mi away
ANCHORAGE MOTEL
ANCHORAGE MOTEL
#38 of 41 in Bar Harbor
184 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bar Harbor Villager Motel
Bar Harbor Villager Motel
#11 of 41 in Bar Harbor
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Central House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Central House

Address: 60 Cottage St, PO Box 955, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1831
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range: £95 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Central House 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built as a residence in 1887, historic Central House opened its doors to the public in 1925, making it the longest operating inn in Bar Harbor. Originally named Briarfield (for the blackberries, so emblematic of Maine summers, that still grow in our border) Central House has a history of hospitality that extends to its earliest years. Please visit our website for a brief history! Located at the center of downtown Bar Harbor, Central House enjoys easy access to restaurants, shops, waterfront, Bar Island, the Bar Harbor Shore Path, the Village Green and Island Explorer buses. Walk or bike to Acadia. Please come and enjoy our welcoming front porch, where visitors to Bar Harbor have come to relax during one hundred and thirty Maine summers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Central House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Hotel Bar Harbor
The Central House Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing