We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay”
Review of The Central House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Central House
Ranked #27 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2014

This place (can't call it a BNB since they do not serve breakfast) is close enough to walk to the bars and restaurants, yet far enough away that you can get away from the bustle.

We did not have a reservation, but just stopped in to see what was available. The staff was accommodating and friendly--nice since we stopped by right at 7 pm when they innkeeper was just about "off duty".

The room was comfortable and clean. We only stayed one night, but would have been happy to stay longer. The porch and coffee area are quaint and a nice place to sit and relax.

I can't remember our room number, but we paid $135 for the night in the middle of August.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank redallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2014

I spent 3 nights in Bar Harbor in August 2014. I didn't have advance reservations and I didn't do on-line research. I took my chances. The first night I stayed at 2Cats in Cottage Street (I had tried Central House but they were sold out, despite the "Vacancy" sign out front). Down the street from Central House, 2Cats is charming, in a 60s/rasta sort of way. Its hugely popular breakfasts are famous and filling. After one night, I decided to stay another night in Bar Harbor, but 2Cats had no room (they only have 3 bedrooms). I stopped in Central House to inquire about vacancies and, lo and behold, they had one (room 204). Wow, what a difference. Where 2Cats is funky in a 2d-hand store furniture sort of way, Central House is like staying with your maiden aunt. Flowered wall paper, ceramic bedside table lamps that match (sort of), a coverlet that I would be proud to put on my own bed, and a four-poster. This is a place that my mother would approve of. There's no breakfast, but there iis an extensive array of coffees and teas, as well as a big communal fridge that you can stock with pastres from several nearby bakeries (the absence of breakfast reduced my rating from excellent to very good, but for those who don't care, this place is great!). As noted by others, the front porch is a splendid and comfy place to watch the world go by from their big wicker chairs. This is what a Maine escape looks like in the picture books, folks.

Room Tip: I only saw 204, but it was terrific.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank rmajor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

After much research on where to stay we chose the Central House for it's location and charm. It truly is in the perfect location - easy walk to everything! We stayed in room 206 and it was very comfortable. No problem with noise, etc. The front porch is a wonderful place to relax and people watch. You can't beat this place for the value and location. Definitely recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Room 206 was perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank griffin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We had a lovely time staying at Central House. The rate for our room was very affordable and it was very clean. It was within walking distance to shops, restaurants and the Harbor front. The Inn keeper was very friendly and got to know your names. The Inn didn't include breakfast but, offered free coffee, they had a coffee machine, small frig, ice cube machine and a beautiful dining room. We are planning to return for another visit.

Room Tip: The top floor might have bigger rooms, but our was just fine and we were on the main floor..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

This was a great place to stay in Bar Harbor. It is 2 blocks from where all the shops and restaurants are, so it's walkable but not noisy. We stayed on the 3rd floor and we didn't hear anyone else around moving. We had our own bathroom and it was huge. They didn't include breakfast, but freed us up to do our own thing and allowed them to charge less. They did have a small refrigerator and also a Keurig machine to make coffee and tea (with to go cups which was great). I'd for sure come back and stay again!

Room Tip: We had Room 302 which was a queen bed and private shower/tub. The bathroom was huge. The 2 windows f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank erica_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed for 5 days on the 3rd floor and paid the cheapest price in downtown Bar Harbor. We liked that it is a walking distance to restaurants, bike rentals and shops. The inn keeper is very friendly and informative. We'll keep this in mind on our next visits.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malou C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed two nights in room 204. Let me start off by saying the location is one of the best in Bar Harbor. It's right next to downtown, but not directly in the heart of everything so you avoid most of the noise. The inn itself is one of the cleanest and most welcoming accommodations I've stayed at. When we checked in, the unoccupied rooms, including ours, had the doors open to let the air flow through the inn. I think this helped avoid the musty smell you can find in other older inns. The innkeeper we met was very friendly and helpful, and made it a point to learn our names. They don't serve breakfast, but I didn't mind because the price was so affordable and there are many breakfast places and bakeries in the vicinity to try. The room itself was larger than I expected, especially for the price. We had what seemed like a king bed, a small twin bed set up like a sort of lounge, and a beautiful antique looking couch facing the TV. Some other reviewers on here complained of the noise late at night, but as I'm a light sleeper I always bring a fan with me when I travel to block out any noise and had no problems with it. The only cons I can think of would be that the curtains are sheer, so if you can't sleep in a room with light you'll wake up with the sun. Which isn't a bad thing, if you're planning on taking an early morning hike. Also, the shower pressure isn't the greatest, but the house was built in the late 1800s, so I guess that's to be expected.

Room Tip: If you have a lot of luggage or have trouble with stairs, avoid staying in a room on the top two flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.2 mi away
Quimby House Inn
Quimby House Inn
#32 of 41 in Bar Harbor
375 reviews
0.6 mi away
Wonder View Inn
Wonder View Inn
#26 of 41 in Bar Harbor
448 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bar Harbor Manor
Bar Harbor Manor
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Acadia Inn
Acadia Inn
#14 of 41 in Bar Harbor
660 reviews
0.2 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#8 of 41 in Bar Harbor
388 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#18 of 41 in Bar Harbor
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Central House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Central House

Address: 60 Cottage St, PO Box 955, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1831
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range: £142 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Central House 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built as a residence in 1887, historic Central House opened its doors to the public in 1925, making it the longest operating inn in Bar Harbor. Originally named Briarfield (for the blackberries, so emblematic of Maine summers, that still grow in our border) Central House has a history of hospitality that extends to its earliest years. Please visit our website for a brief history! Located at the center of downtown Bar Harbor, Central House enjoys easy access to restaurants, shops, waterfront, Bar Island, the Bar Harbor Shore Path, the Village Green and Island Explorer buses. Walk or bike to Acadia. Please come and enjoy our welcoming front porch, where visitors to Bar Harbor have come to relax during one hundred and thirty Maine summers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Central House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Hotel Bar Harbor
The Central House Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing