We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value and quality for the price”
Review of Edenbrook Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Edenbrook Motel
Ranked #27 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Sewell, New Jersey
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent value and quality for the price”
Reviewed 30 August 2011

I make my ratings in comparison to other motels, not in comparison to hotels or B&Bs. This was a very good basic motel, very clean, provided us with everything they advertised. Cheapest place in Bar Harbor area short of a campsite. The town is a 20 minute walk (no sidewalks), and a very easy drive down the street.

We were in building 4 on the second floor, up on a hill so we could see the water. Highly recommended to ask for one of these rooms - this building looked a little nicer than the others in general.

Our room looked like it had been rehabbed fairly recently - carpet and walls were very clean. We had a nice balcony to sit on and watch the water. Had a small refrigerator as well so to save money we bought a box of cereal and milk for our breakfasts, got to eat outside. A baby deer visited us each day, hanging out below waiting for his mom. Very nice setting.

If you're an exerciser, make sure to explore the College of the Atlantic across the street (rte 3) - beautiful grounds and a public flower garden hidden in the middle.

Only small complaint is that if others sit out on their balconies, you can't expect to leave your windows open and get any sleep - there is no barrier btwn the balconies. Lucky for us, no one smoked. But don't know how much the management could really do about that.

Room Tip: Building 4, second floor - room with a view and balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Dulcinea10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    50
    13
    2
    2
See reviews for
29
49
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
VA
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

The best thing about this motel was....there are 3 layers and the one we stayed in was the highest building. We could see some of the bay from there and saw a beautiful big sail boat/ship going by and got a great photo of it! Felt like we were way out of civilization in this building....we loved that! We caught the bus not far from our front door which goes by very often into Bar Harbor since there's not a lot of space and parking there. Come to find out, the girl working at the desk when we checked in had family from my part of the country, southwest VA, small world! We enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CHold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Book this place if you really want to upset your wife. Seriously, this place is the pits. Stay ANYWHERE else. Pillows smelled like dirty feet. The beds are from the 1950's evidently because they sag almost all the way to the floor... AND they are covered in plastic to keep 'fluids' off so you are reminded of the disgusting bed you are in everytime they crinkle when you toss and turn in discomfort and disgust. The fitted sheets are so old that all of the elastic is gone, so just from the sagging of the horrible mattresses the corners come off constantly and you end up directly ON the nasty plastic cover! We have traveled extensively and never stayed somewhere we forfeited our money to stay somewhere else until Edenbrook. Do yourself a favor and steer clear of this dirthole.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelerNotTourist82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Had a special rate for College of Atlantic Graduation. Perfect location for that, right across (busy) street. Easy walk to town. Even though we were in the first building you are far back from the road. Staff was friendly and helpful, room was clean, not huge but we had 4 people in there and we fit! This is an older place - not a Best Western kind of room, so if that's what you want pay a lot more and stay at one of them, but if you want a nice, clean, homey place stay here and spend the money you save in all the Bar Harbor stores!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
81 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2011

If you want artsy wall decor, a table runner across your featherbed and chocolates on your pillow, then this place is not for you. If you want a classically simple and clean room to sleep and shower up in, this is perfect. The white bedspreads were spotless, the walls were clean and the staff friendly and accommodating. We were not looking for frills or luxury, just getting to the point when pitching a tent and sleeping with the sweat and mosquitos was a part of the experience that we could do without. We stayed here in late June just before summer rush-- the weather was beautiful and the location was only a hop and a skip into the historic downtown Bar Harbor area, and over to Acadia National Park. Walk across the street to check out the Natural History Museum at the College of the Atlantic, too. And free WI-FI! We will definitely stay here every time we return to Bar Harbor.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phoenix095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Dakota
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2010

I spent alot of time on internet looking for an affordable place to stay in Bar Harbor during their high season of fall foliage. If you are on a budget or just don't want to pay alot of money for a room you are never in...this is a great choice. What worked well for my circumstances is I was able to get a 2 bedroom motel room for only $90. Was extremely satisfied (although I had an idea of exactly what I was reserving, so was not surprised). Very clean, which is really the only thing I care about.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank gooseberries47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2010

We booked this motel as it was the cheapest non-camping accommodation within walking distance of Bar Harbor. Indeed, it was the cheapest motel we could find on Mt. Desert Island.

The rooms were very clean, and although not 'luxury' contained everything we needed: Cable T.V., full bathroom, coffee making facilities and a fridge. Our room also had a pleasant balcony that didn't face onto the car park.

It is conveniently located 15 minutes walk from Bar Harbor and one the way to the main Acadia park entrance. All in all, perfect for our needs.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IanSudbery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bar Harbor
5.4 mi away
Belle Isle Motel
Belle Isle Motel
#20 of 41 in Bar Harbor
325 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wonder View Inn
Wonder View Inn
#32 of 41 in Bar Harbor
370 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#19 of 41 in Bar Harbor
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bar Harbor Motel
Bar Harbor Motel
#5 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,563 reviews
0.1 mi away
Highbrook Motel
Highbrook Motel
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
766 reviews
7.8 mi away
Isleview Motel and Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edenbrook Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edenbrook Motel

Property: Edenbrook Motel
Address: 96 Eden St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1106
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edenbrook Motel is a family run business since we opened in 1953. Our modest rooms in the 1st and 3rd are updated and accommodating families, and with a covered porch. The 2nd and 4th rooms are modern and very up-to-date with balconies and top floor of the 4th has views of Frenchman's Bay. This is reflected in the prices. We welcome reviews from all our guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Edenbrook Hotel Bar Harbor
Edenbrook Motel Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing