We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Place for Those on a Budget”
Review of Edenbrook Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Edenbrook Motel
Ranked #28 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Stow,MA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good Place for Those on a Budget”
Reviewed 24 September 2012

If you are visiting Acadia Nat'l Park and Bar Harbor, this is a good choice. It is close to Acadia and very close to Bar Harbor. The rooms are clean. There is lots of parking. The shuttle bus to Bar Harbor runs frequently. We were in the second building, so we had a porch in the back for breakfast. Refrigerators are in the rooms in that building. Cost was $95 per night.

Room Tip: The second building has refrigerators. If you are at the far end, it is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank baldeagleStow_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    52
    16
    2
    2
See reviews for
33
52
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Saint John, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

As in other reviews, the motel is older, but clean and very reasonable. The rooms are spacious and ice and pop machines easily accessible. The best feature of the motel is its location on the Island Hopper (free tourist bus) route. The bus stops right at the end of their lower driveway, and in the summer months runs every 15 minutes after 4pm. The bus stops in the common green at the terminal where you can pick up another bus that will take you all over the island. This way you can explore downtown (and the rest of the island) without the headache of traffic and parking! When you are ready to return to the motel, just jump on the bus back at the common green. An excellent place to explore from!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Don_Roberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Stayed here two nights. As pointed out in other reviews, the motel is old. but the rooms are reasonably sized and are comfortable. Yes, the wi-fi can be spotty, but that also can be the case elsewhere. The rooms (or at least those in our building) front on an outdoor balcony that runs the length oif the building and has chairs. And the rate was phenomenal for Bar Harbor. To be sure, they don't serve breakfast, but the rate was low enough that we could go out for breakfast and still save money as compared to other motels. And it's closer to town than other lower-priced motels.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theoax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elmsdale, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Old motel but very happy to see how clean it was. Beds were comfortable. Had a few things that needed looked at and they were done while we were out that same day.
We had the suite with 2 double beds and 1 queen bed. #56 third building up off the road.
Lots of hot water and water pressure in the shower.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveIse133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

I paid less than $50 for a room in May. The room was large and clean. The wifi was lousy though. If you need to plug something in you'll need a 3 Prong to 2 prong grounding converter.Luckily there was one in my room and I was able to plug in my laptop. Maybe the other rooms have updated electrical outlets.
Road noise is an issue especially if you stay in the first building.
Great for a night or two.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raineday33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simsbury CT
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 October 2011

Our room was one of the best surprises we've had in our travels. It was quite large, very clean, comfortable and had a view to the ocean. We were in the building furthest up the hill, Building #4. It's the perfect room if you're looking for great comfort, cleanliness, and a terrific value (especially in Bar Harbor). It had two double beds, very good ones. We will definitely stay there again and will reccommend it to friends.

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor of the building furthest up the hill. (You will have to climb one flight of st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marti A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sisters, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2011

Great motel that is very reasonably priced. Large rooms, very clean and just a little ways from town.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms up the hill away from highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HalKOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.3 mi away
Wonder View Inn
Wonder View Inn
#27 of 41 in Bar Harbor
412 reviews
5.4 mi away
Belle Isle Motel
Belle Isle Motel
#21 of 41 in Bar Harbor
361 reviews
0.9 mi away
ANCHORAGE MOTEL
ANCHORAGE MOTEL
#37 of 41 in Bar Harbor
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Cromwell Harbor Motel
Cromwell Harbor Motel
#22 of 41 in Bar Harbor
207 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#18 of 41 in Bar Harbor
289 reviews
0.1 mi away
Highbrook Motel
Highbrook Motel
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edenbrook Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edenbrook Motel

Property: Edenbrook Motel
Address: 96 Eden St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1106
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edenbrook Motel is a family run business since we opened in 1953. Our modest rooms in the 1st and 3rd are updated and accommodating families, and with a covered porch. The 2nd and 4th rooms are modern and very up-to-date with balconies and top floor of the 4th has views of Frenchman's Bay. This is reflected in the prices. We welcome reviews from all our guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Edenbrook Hotel Bar Harbor
Edenbrook Motel Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing