We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I'll take dated plus clean and room any day”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Edenbrook Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Edenbrook Motel
Ranked #27 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Duncanville, Texas
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“I'll take dated plus clean and room any day”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

The key word I looked for in other reviews was "clean", and this unit certainly was. I got room 49 in the one story second unit, which is the farthest away from the side street, and made for easy parking by the door. Entering, you see a sink with mirror, bench for your suitcase, a large mini-fridge, coffee maker (reg. coffee only) ,desk with drawers, small flat screen TV, and sliding door onto the porch. The room was large with an extra table and 2 chairs, and 2 double beds with night stand. A handy light switch panel and labeled on the wall between the beds. The bathroom had a small sink with storage under it or on the window sill. The tub had great pressure, although the non-skid strips were starting to come up, and a heater for cool mornings.

It was great having 2 sinks when getting ready in the morning. My only gripe was that the hot water had to make a long journey to the sink. I ended up turning on the tub for a while to get it there faster.

The AC unit is located low in the wall (odd). Had to move a chair to remove blockage. Luckily we didn't have to use it at night thanks to the ceiling fan.

A big ice machine is also available in the middle of the building.

By the way, their water tastes great, so simply refill your plastic water bottles, pop in the fridge, and you're set.

There is a side street next to the property where the free shuttle bus drives into downtown Bar Harbor. You need only walk to the end of the motel parking lot and flag them down when they drive by. You don't want to try to find a parking spot in town. Virtually impossible, plus most areas have a 2-3 hr. maximum. This is especially helpful if you go on a whale watch tour, etc.

The porch was nice in the morning and evening. Unfortunately the trees have grown up in front of the building, so the view is pretty limited.

The staff was friendly and answered questions about the bus and town.

Room Tip: Building #2 is perfect: away from Eden St., walk into room parking, and fridge. Get room away from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estelle M, Public Relations Manager at Edenbrook Motel, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us and others your thoughts about our place. Estelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    49
    13
    2
    2
See reviews for
29
48
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
upstate NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

I stayed here last week for three nights for $55 a night in the 3rd building. The room was quite clean, a little dust here and there, and spacious with enough room to park 2 bicycles in and still walk around without a problem. The bed was firm and comfortable and the shower had good water pressure. The staff was a bit odd and quite but were sufficiently friendly and helpful. Also, the parking was located conveniently in front of the room and I could actually see the ocean a little bit from there. The hotel is conveniently located about a mile from the center of town so getting around was quick and easy. I agree with other reviewers that it could use a little updating but everything was in working order. Overall a great value for the money.

Room Tip: rooms in the 3rd building are very quite at night and you get a peak of the ocean from there
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JBcu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estelle M, Owner at Edenbrook Motel, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Thank you for your review of our motel. Sorry about the dust. The room should have checked before renting. Again, thank you. Estelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
154 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

This motel is very outdated and could use some TLC. If you are visiting Acadia Nat'l Park and Bar Harbor, this is a good choice. It is close to Acadia and very close to Bar Harbor. The rooms are clean, and include chairs outside for sitting as well as a table and chairs in the room.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank d e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Three Bridges, New Jersey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2012

This motel is very, very outdated (like 1960's or 70's), but it's clean and well-maintained. It reminds me of some hotels in Europe, where they seem less likely to renovate if things are still in good working condition. The location is right between downtown Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park. The Eden St. (#2) Island Explorer bus, which is free, can take you right from the Edenbrook to and from downtown Bar Harbor. From there you can get another bus to Acadia. .

This was my first trip to Mt. Desert Island and I think next time we will probably splurge and stay at one of Bar Harbor's beautiful inns (at least for a few nights), but I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Edenbrook to someone on a tight budget or just looking for a no-frills place to sleep. Though out-dated, the rooms are big and have decent amenities.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the 2nd or 3rd building, as Building 1 faces the main road. We stayed in Build...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KL35390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012

We loved this motel. The price was so low that we actually ended up staying an extra night because we could. This is Acadia, and that was trip-changing on a cool fall night. The staff was great, and as soon as the woman caring for the rooms saw that my husband was disabled, she put grips around the toilet for us. Our room had a double and a single bed, and a sliding glass door to a brief deck at the back of the room. The rooms were incredibly clean, but have not been updated since perhaps the 1960's, which we kind of liked but others may not. The cleanliness made it a non-issue. The moderately stale smell when we first entered the room soon abated. They should raise their prices because it feels like highway robbery to stay here and they are very close to town.

I highly recommend this place. It is quite honestly the best motel I have ever visited.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yutopia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stow,MA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

If you are visiting Acadia Nat'l Park and Bar Harbor, this is a good choice. It is close to Acadia and very close to Bar Harbor. The rooms are clean. There is lots of parking. The shuttle bus to Bar Harbor runs frequently. We were in the second building, so we had a porch in the back for breakfast. Refrigerators are in the rooms in that building. Cost was $95 per night.

Room Tip: The second building has refrigerators. If you are at the far end, it is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank baldeagleStow_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint John, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

As in other reviews, the motel is older, but clean and very reasonable. The rooms are spacious and ice and pop machines easily accessible. The best feature of the motel is its location on the Island Hopper (free tourist bus) route. The bus stops right at the end of their lower driveway, and in the summer months runs every 15 minutes after 4pm. The bus stops in the common green at the terminal where you can pick up another bus that will take you all over the island. This way you can explore downtown (and the rest of the island) without the headache of traffic and parking! When you are ready to return to the motel, just jump on the bus back at the common green. An excellent place to explore from!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Don_Roberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
5.4 mi away
Belle Isle Motel
Belle Isle Motel
#19 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wonder View Inn
Wonder View Inn
#33 of 41 in Bar Harbor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
0.1 mi away
Acadia Inn
Acadia Inn
#15 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Cromwell Harbor Motel
Cromwell Harbor Motel
#21 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.1 mi away
Highbrook Motel
Highbrook Motel
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bar Harbor Motel
Bar Harbor Motel
#5 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edenbrook Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edenbrook Motel

Property: Edenbrook Motel
Address: 96 Eden St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1106
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edenbrook Motel is a family run business since we opened in 1953. Our modest rooms in the 1st and 3rd are updated and accommodating families, and with a covered porch. The 2nd and 4th rooms are modern and very up-to-date with balconies and top floor of the 4th has views of Frenchman's Bay. This is reflected in the prices. We welcome reviews from all our guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Edenbrook Hotel Bar Harbor
Edenbrook Motel Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing