We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Edenbrook Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Edenbrook Motel
Ranked #27 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cheap”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

This place was perfect for me and my girlfriend because we don't have much money but still wanted to enjoy Bar Harbor. The room we got was perfect for us! Two beds and a bathroom, great! The lighting was sub-par but we managed. The small TV did not bother us, but maybe could be updated. Clean bathroom except for toilet paper left behind by previous guests. Friendly and helpful front desk office. Poor lighting was basically our only complaint, otherwise it was a clean and reasonably priced room! Decent value.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Tarik A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    49
    13
    2
    2
See reviews for
29
48
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

This is a wonderful place to stay. Our room was extremely clean, and very pleasant. The bathroom was spacious, very well lit, and the shower was hot! We stayed in building #2, and it was quiet with zero road noise. The balcony was peaceful for morning coffee, and the staff was so friendly! We loved having a refrigerator and coffee maker, just wish there were blow dryers and microwaves in the rooms (however, the sign did say that the office had some for use). If only there was a pool, I would have given five stars! We will be back! Thank you, Edenbrook!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Nichole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

The Edenbrook is convenient to Acadia Park entrances for daytime exploring and to the town of Bar Harbor for dining in the evening. Our room was clean and old-fashioned. Good shower. Having a fridge was great for picnic lunches.

Room Tip: Stay in one of the3 groups of rooms back from road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estelle M, Owner at Edenbrook Motel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us your thoughts on our place. Estelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

We travelled as a group of family of 11 people. Enjoyed our stay for two nights. Easy access to town and Acadia National Park. Very nice and helpful staff. Try to choose building #2 or #3 for your room.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dnzmny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estelle M, Owner at Edenbrook Motel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you for letting us know your opinion of our motel. Estelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medway, Maine
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed in building #2. A very comfortable feeling place... clean rooms, well kept grounds and friendly staff. Free internet, refrigerator, and coffee maker. The only thing missing is a microwave and pool. We really enjoyed the balcony. We will stay here again!!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank mlvoisine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

This is a horrid experience that I will never forget: we asked for a quiet room and we got the stuffy room that had a mold smell that chocked me in the sleep so I could not rest. The furniture should to be replaced : it is al least 70 years old, the chairs are broken and stick to your skin, the TV is very old and not working so well; the pillows are so plastic that your skin burns and the maid could not change the dirty linen; the doors are so old and very hard ot use. 2 nights for most horrid place I ever stayed in my intire Life. We came late at night and next day I was ill and could not enjoy the Acadia, everythng is is like a fog in my memory. We used the AC to work on the smell but we were leaving when it was better. The room was not prepared for the visit for years.

Room Tip: Do not choose this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 772MrsB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

This was our second stay at the Edenbrook Motel. If you are looking for frills, go somewhere else. However, if you want a clean, quiet motel located near Bar Harbor and you don't want to pay a fortune, this is the place for you. We love the proximity to the town and to the Carriage Trails in Acadia. You can bike out the back lot of the hotel and be in the park with a few minutes.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jack H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
5.4 mi away
Belle Isle Motel
Belle Isle Motel
#19 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wonder View Inn
Wonder View Inn
#33 of 41 in Bar Harbor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
0.1 mi away
Acadia Inn
Acadia Inn
#15 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Cromwell Harbor Motel
Cromwell Harbor Motel
#21 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.1 mi away
Highbrook Motel
Highbrook Motel
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bar Harbor Motel
Bar Harbor Motel
#5 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edenbrook Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edenbrook Motel

Property: Edenbrook Motel
Address: 96 Eden St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1106
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edenbrook Motel is a family run business since we opened in 1953. Our modest rooms in the 1st and 3rd are updated and accommodating families, and with a covered porch. The 2nd and 4th rooms are modern and very up-to-date with balconies and top floor of the 4th has views of Frenchman's Bay. This is reflected in the prices. We welcome reviews from all our guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Edenbrook Hotel Bar Harbor
Edenbrook Motel Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing