We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, clean, convenient and NOW Wi-Fi!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
Review of Edenbrook Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Edenbrook Motel
Ranked #26 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Woburn, MA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great value, clean, convenient and NOW Wi-Fi!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed 21 July 2010

We've been staying at Eden Brook for years and have been consistently happy. This year we discovered that they now have Wi-Fi. The facilities are a bit dated, but that's what keeps the rates so low. This is the third year that the rates have not increased. The owners are very nice and that makes it feel like going home.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CoriIzzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    49
    13
    2
    2
See reviews for
29
48
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
TX
Level Contributor
116 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2009

We spent 2 nights at the Edenbrook Motel and found it to be a clean, well kept facility. It offers accomodations away from the busy roadway and is only 5 minutes from downtown. The check-in clerk was very helpful and had no problem with us examining the room before paying. Like the last reviewer, we would suggest the owner provide computer access for guests.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GFCTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belmar, NJ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2009

We found the Edenbrook after having a horrific experience the night before at the Sea Breeze Motel. So scarred were we that, despite reading favorable reviews about the Edenbrook on TripAdvisor, we wouldn't even book a room until we inspected it first. the owner happily obliged, and we found the room to be basic but immaculate. The water, unlike the brown water at the Sea Breeze Motel down the street, was CRYSTAL CLEAR! Fancy that! In addition, there was a nice little balcony to sit out on that faced a quiet wooded area. We were very happy there. The only advice that I would give to the owner would be to perhaps think about getting a wireless internet connection - but other than that, this hotel is a great value!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingchik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biddeford, ME
1 review
Reviewed 18 July 2009

I have visited Bar Harbor every summer for the past 5 years and love staying at the Edenbrook. It is a basic motel with everything I would need for my stay. There's nothing fancy or extravagant to the room, but it was impeccably clean and the bed was very comfortable. I stayed in a room with 2 double beds in the third building off the road. For four 20 year olds, it was perfect! I couldn't get over how comfortable the bed was and how well I slept that night! For a very reasonable rate of 80 dollars plus taxes we got a room that supplied us with plenty of towels, coffee and tea right in the room, cable tv, heat and air conditioning (and suprisingly we needed the heat in july!) with a nice shower with good pressure. The bathroom was nicely cleaned and we liked the option of having a shower or bath. We stayed a total of three days, and the room was cleaned very promptly after we left in the morning.
The staff was very friendly and informative. I talked to the manager in the morning and he could tell me anything I wanted to know about the island. It looked as though it was a family business, because the maid that did our room was his daughter! She was very friendly and had some good recommendations for places to eat as well as an extremely good cleaner. Next summer I'll be sure to stay at Edenbrook, as I always do!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fldhckygrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ELIZABETHTOWN
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2009

Location - less than a mile from downtown Bar Harbor and about a mile and a half to the entrance of Acadia National Park.

Noise level - we stayed in building 3 (building 1 is the closest to the road) and didn't hear any traffic. The only problems with noise were the grackles that tended to loudly crow around sunrise (which in June is before 5:00am) and the clanging of the water pipes in the morning when everyone seemed to be showering around the same time.

Room cleanliness - Very clean.

Accomodations - no frills with a very retro feel to the room (furniture, towel holders, nightstands, chairs, bathroom heater) are old, but all are clean and in excellent working order.

Value - we paid less than $50/night for a non-smoking queen in early-mid June - quite pleased with the price. The $ we saved on the room allowed us to splurge for a nice dinner in downtown Bar Harbor.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schrivey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio
Level Contributor
158 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2008

Our third time to Bar Harbor and our third time at the Edenbrook. Great rates, great views, great location. Equal distance between Downtown Bar Harbor and the entrance to Acadia NP make it a fantastic location for the price

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmc1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2008

This is a clean, basic, no frills motel. We chose it for its proximity to the CAT Ferry. All rooms are ground level.

  • Liked — The proximity to Acadia Park and to the CAT Ferry
  • Disliked — The noise from the Bar Harbor Transit Bus that turns at the corner (but it stops at 11 pm)
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fungilady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
5.4 mi away
Belle Isle Motel
Belle Isle Motel
#20 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wonder View Inn
Wonder View Inn
#32 of 41 in Bar Harbor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
0.1 mi away
Acadia Inn
Acadia Inn
#16 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Cromwell Harbor Motel
Cromwell Harbor Motel
#21 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.1 mi away
Highbrook Motel
Highbrook Motel
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bar Harbor Motel
Bar Harbor Motel
#5 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edenbrook Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edenbrook Motel

Property: Edenbrook Motel
Address: 96 Eden St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1106
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edenbrook Motel is a family run business since we opened in 1953. Our modest rooms in the 1st and 3rd are updated and accommodating families, and with a covered porch. The 2nd and 4th rooms are modern and very up-to-date with balconies and top floor of the 4th has views of Frenchman's Bay. This is reflected in the prices. We welcome reviews from all our guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Edenbrook Hotel Bar Harbor
Edenbrook Motel Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing