We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Quiet, Convenient”
Review of High Seas Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
High Seas Motel
Ranked #19 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 October 2012

We stayed at the High Seas Motel for four nights in late September 2012, and was very pleased with our stay. The non-smoking room with king-size bed was spacious and most importantly--clean. It also had a small table and two chairs and night stands on each side of the king bed. It was a short drive to Bar Harbor and Acadia Park. We had two good restaurants within walking distance--Mainly Meat and Log Cabin (the lobster was better at Log Cabin but Mainly Meat has great BBQ and decent breakfast). The room had a fridge but no microwave and no continental breakfast. But trust me, there is no free breakfast. The rates here were reasonable. Other hotels/motels wanted $50-$100 more a night for that "free" breakfast! Breakfast is available at Mainly Meat and in downtown Bar Harbor (we liked Testa's for breakfast and, try Side Street Cafe for a good and reasonably priced lunch).

Other thoughts: We wish the room had a microwave. There is one near the office but would have preferred one in the room. A putt-put golf is within walking distance.

Room Tip: Non-smoking available. All first floor. Can park your car right in front of your room. Don't be...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vickie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (154)
There are newer reviews for High Seas Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 155 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2012

we had left another motel down the road and booked this nice place.. . clean large rooms,quite,laundry, restaurant walking distance,internet and very nice people... it is about 7 miles from Bar Harbor but the price was good ...the guy at front desk was so helpful....

Room Tip: pick yellow for your stay in Bar Harbor !!!!
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelingtrudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Rooms were clean, and large, rooms were in good level of maintenance. Wifi was secured and fast, free. Room rates good. Location to Bar Harbor and Acadia entrance were very good without staying in Bar Harbor. Dont let the yellow paint scare you off very nice place to stay was easy on our budget.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

Needed a place to stay when a friend and I went rock climbing at Otter Cliffs. It isn't fancy or luxurious, but it's very clean. The room we had faced the pool and although the motel is located on the main road (Rt 3) it was very quiet. The motel is located 3.5 miles from downtown Bar Harbor, and a bit over 5.5 miles to Otter Cliffs. We chose this motel based on its rates as well as reviews and ratings on TripAdvisor.com. Lots of maps and brochures at the front desk!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lovena H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Very clean comfortable rooms, located 3.5 miles from downtown Bar Harbor and 2 miles from the entrance to Acadia National park, which explains the high ratings on Trip Advisor. Very good value for the money. Our room was in the front with a deck, even though it was on the main road, very quiet. It was peaceful and after a long day to sit on the deck w/ a nice glass of wine was very relaxing. Loved the area! The staff were all extremely helpful.

Room Tip: We stayed on the front rooms with the deck, lovely.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lee_leeNy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

If you are looking for a clean comfortable motel, look no further. Short drive into downtown Bar Harbor and minutes from Acadia park. Glad we did not stay in downtown Bar Harbor, the motel was so quiet even though it is located on the main road. The pool was nice with plenty of room. The room was very clean and comfortable. No frills, just a bed, TV, table, chairs and bathroom.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meghan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

A friend had recommended this place to me when going to Bar Harbor. One day we decided to come to this motel, and it was an excellent decision! The rates were affordable and the person on the phone (who helped make our reservation) was very helpful. The hotel is easy to find, as its bright yellow color stands out in the green forest of Acadia. Once checked-in, we went to our room. It was very clean and very big! Before leaving for Bar Harbor, we asked about good places to eat, and the person at the front desk was very helpful. The recommendations he made were great! Getting to Bar Harbor is easy, as the Island Explorer, a free shuttle service, goes right by the front entrance to the motel. Overall the trip was fantastic thanks to this motel!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheBGRTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
2.6 mi away
Belle Isle Motel
Belle Isle Motel
#21 of 41 in Bar Harbor
368 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Acadia Park Inn
3.6 mi away
Wonder View Inn
Wonder View Inn
#26 of 41 in Bar Harbor
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Colony on Frenchman's Bay
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency
2.8 mi away
Eden Village Motel and Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Seas Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Seas Motel

Address: 339 State Highway #3, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Bar Harbor
#14 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#23 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range: £64 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your High Seas Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Seas Hotel Bar Harbor
High Seas Motel Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing