We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”
Review of High Seas Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
High Seas Motel
Ranked #19 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 July 2013

In Bar Harbor for the birth of my first grandchild and it was after 8pm at the end of July. Luckily they had a room available and I will stay there again. Very clean and well-maintained, it is obvious the owners take good care of the motel. While it wasn't sleek and modern like the chains, it was comfortable and had everything I needed including wifi. Was the best price I could find in the area, too. Not that far out of Bar Harbor.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andeygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (154)
There are newer reviews for High Seas Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 155 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2013

We stayed two nights in this motel in July 2013. We got into Bar Harbor late, and we were happy that the front desk was staffed so late as some of the neighbouring motels were closed.
It was clean and the staff were friendly. It was a bit of a drive into Bar Harbor, but it was worth it for the price.
It looked like some of the rooms were being updated and worked on.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abricadabra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

It's very clean and comfortable and owners Rich and Kelly couldn't be more friendly and helpful.
We have been coming to Bar harbor for 15 years now and stayed at several different motels, but now High Seas is our go to place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We stayed at High Seas Motel for 2 days over a very rainy Memorial Day Weekend. The High Seas Motel was quiet, close to two restaurants and most importantly it was clean. The bed was comfortable, the linens were soft, the towels replaced daily, the hair dryer adequate, shampoo provided, and a hot shower. There was a table with two chairs, a TV, and a room heater which we did have to use due to the unseaonsably cool weather. The couple who run the motel were friendly and informative about the area. There is a vending machine area and coffee and tea are provided every morning (we did not take advantage so cannot comment) but it was nice to have it available. The grounds were very pretty with lots of greenery and flowers well groomed. We were not in the room much except to rest/sleep and so I have no complaints about The High Seas Motel. The price was great. It was 5 miles by car to Bar Harbor. If you are not looking for a B&B experience, this is the place to stay. Has everything you need to be comfortable in the Bar Harbor area.

Room Tip: We had a room in the front of the building we were not disturbed by any road noise.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gerry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012

We have been to Bar Harbor 5 times and this is the first time that we have stayed at the High Seas Motel. I wish that I would have known about this little gem a long time ago. Lots of room and very clean. We had a king sized bed and it was very comfortable and no noise from the highway or the people staying next to us. The owners are very friendly and helpful. Perfect location for us as we don't like staying in town but closer to the park. The price was crazy cheap for the area. So happy we found the High Seas Motel and will stay would stay here again when visiting the area.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShezzyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

We stayed at the High Seas Motel for four nights in late September 2012, and was very pleased with our stay. The non-smoking room with king-size bed was spacious and most importantly--clean. It also had a small table and two chairs and night stands on each side of the king bed. It was a short drive to Bar Harbor and Acadia Park. We had two good restaurants within walking distance--Mainly Meat and Log Cabin (the lobster was better at Log Cabin but Mainly Meat has great BBQ and decent breakfast). The room had a fridge but no microwave and no continental breakfast. But trust me, there is no free breakfast. The rates here were reasonable. Other hotels/motels wanted $50-$100 more a night for that "free" breakfast! Breakfast is available at Mainly Meat and in downtown Bar Harbor (we liked Testa's for breakfast and, try Side Street Cafe for a good and reasonably priced lunch).

Other thoughts: We wish the room had a microwave. There is one near the office but would have preferred one in the room. A putt-put golf is within walking distance.

Room Tip: Non-smoking available. All first floor. Can park your car right in front of your room. Don't be...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vickie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

we had left another motel down the road and booked this nice place.. . clean large rooms,quite,laundry, restaurant walking distance,internet and very nice people... it is about 7 miles from Bar Harbor but the price was good ...the guy at front desk was so helpful....

Room Tip: pick yellow for your stay in Bar Harbor !!!!
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelingtrudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
2.6 mi away
Belle Isle Motel
Belle Isle Motel
#21 of 41 in Bar Harbor
368 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Acadia Park Inn
3.6 mi away
Wonder View Inn
Wonder View Inn
#26 of 41 in Bar Harbor
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Colony on Frenchman's Bay
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency
2.8 mi away
Eden Village Motel and Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Seas Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Seas Motel

Address: 339 State Highway #3, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Bar Harbor
#14 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#23 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range: £64 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your High Seas Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Seas Hotel Bar Harbor
High Seas Motel Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing