We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay away from the hassle”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sunnyside Motel & Cottages
Ranked #30 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2012

We spent a great week here in a cottage for two. For the style of accommodation this was faultless - clean, well equipped kitchenette with two-rig electric, fridge, microwave, Mr Coffee coffee maker. Great attention to detail, too - so there were filters for the coffee pot, salt and pepper, dish-wash liquid. King size bed, two very comfortable easy chairs - same bedroom tv we have at home.

Daily room clean service and towels as needed. Nice inground pool - clean and btight.

The owners are very helpful, and were able to loan us a charcoal grill, and also an outdoor lobster boiler, so we could sit at the picnic table and eat our own locally caught lobster while sipping a cool one. Nice!

The location is pretty much just as you get onto Mount Desert Island, so it is about 10 minutes from downtown Bar Harbor - but nicely away from the bustle and traffic hassle of that area. It also makes it easy access to the quiet Western side of the Island.

Only two criticisms:
The mattress protector was pretty fierce on our king-size bed. I have no problem with a protector but it needed something between it and the sheets to stop it sounding so crinkly. I have never noticed this before so there must be som 'hoteliers' solution to the noise and clammy feeling.

The campus was very brightly lit at night. Understandable - but we missed out on stars.

I would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a cabin away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David-from-CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2012

What a nice place! We needed a cottage with 2 bedrooms because my children are 16 and 19, and their cabin fit the bill perfectly with 2 twin beds in the second bedroom. The cottage was extremely clean, there was a nice screened in porch, and the kitchen was well equipped. The proprietor was very friendly and knowledgeable. Only drawback was being 1 mile away from the shuttle stop. Price was very reasonable as well. In all, a nice place to stay!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rn2con
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

We stayed at Sunnyside in one of the cottages last June for a few days. The stay was more than affordable, especially considering the costs of the surrounding lodgings. The cottage was cozy but had plenty of room for the two of us. Small kitchen area was a plus. Enjoyed screened-in front porch and a picnic table on front lawn.

Room was clean, though furniture a bit dated. Bathroom looked newly remodeled but did have a cramped shower. The woman who checked us in and out (I think one of the owners) was very friendly and helpful.

The location is farther from downtown and Acadia than most of the other lodgings, but we didn’t mind. Overall, it was a pleasant stay, one that we would repeat.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank atm91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

We had two rooms that were very we suited to our family's needs. The rooms were very clean and well laid out with plenty of space. We were welcomed by one of the owners who spent a good bit of time sharing with us recommendations on things to see and do, places to eat for breakfast and dinner, and more. I wish we had a little shorter drive to downtown Bar Harbor, but still I would stay here again! The place seems to draw friendly people as everyone we bumped into here was very nice.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RAD59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

This motel was a real surprise. They have cabins and motel style rooms. I had a motel room which was more like a bedroom in a friends home.

Very clean rooms and the grounds were immaculate. Bed was super comfortable. The bathroom was a little tight, but it was easy to put up with.

The owners are a really nice and very helpful couple.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NeilGrindal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Stayed here for a few days while we explored Acadia National park, Bar Harbor and Maine coastline points south. We stayed in cabin #6 and - though tight - was more then we immagined it to be. The only downside would be the slightly longer drive it takes to get into Bar Harbor and enter the park. The cabin more than made up for the drive. Beside it being very affordable, it was very clean and included a nice functioning tv, bath, and kitchen. The owners Richard and Helen were very nice and helpful. We are planning a return trip whenever we visit Acadia again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RickKoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

A few friends and I came to Bar Harbor on a long weekend, and stayed a night at Sunnyside. The staff was so inviting and helpful with advice about where to go, what to see, and the room was not your typical motel room but rather very cozy and immaculately clean-all of us remarked how much it felt like we were staying over at a friend's guest home. We loved our stay, and will definitely be going back if we ever make it back to Bar Harbor!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steph343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
2.2 mi away
Belle Isle Motel
Belle Isle Motel
#22 of 41 in Bar Harbor
381 reviews
4.1 mi away
Best Western Acadia Park Inn
7.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#18 of 41 in Bar Harbor
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
The Colony on Frenchman's Bay
4.8 mi away
Acadia Ocean View Motel
Acadia Ocean View Motel
#35 of 41 in Bar Harbor
23 reviews
5.3 mi away
Gallagher’s Travels Bar Harbor Motel and Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunnyside Motel & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunnyside Motel & Cottages

Address: 1441 State Highway 3, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-7143
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sunnyside Motel & Cottages 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Sunnyside Motel & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunnyside Motel & Cottages Hotel Bar Harbor
Sunnyside Motel And Cottages
Sunnyside Hotel Bar Harbor
Sunnyside Motel Bar Harbor
Sunnyside Motel & Cottages Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing