We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Cozy Cottage and friendly owners"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sunnyside Motel & Cottages
Ranked #29 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 September 2012

My wife and I stayed here for the first time last year, and really enjoyed our stay. Our cottage was large, comfortable and was done personally by the owner, Richard. It was a perfect stay. We decided to book the same cottage again for our stay this year. It was like going back to visit an old friend! The cottage was as we left it last year and Richard and his wife were so pleasant and appreciative of our returning to stay with them. In these days of NO customer service, it is nice to spend your money with people who truly appreciate it. Another great stay!

Room Tip: If you want a clean, comfortable cottage with nice owners, this is the place!
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VTLaxRef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (116)
There are newer reviews for Sunnyside Motel & Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 116 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2012

After having spent 2 weeks in hotels in New York, Boston (Hilton Double Tree) and in an apartment in Old Orchard Beach, we could end a journey on the highest note in a Sunnyside cottage.
The cottages look indeed sunny from the outside and are tastefully furnished. The rooms are big and the cottage is equipped by the owners who really seem to care about what travellers need. This is what I call the soul.
We have very much appreciated our stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maria Luise N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

as the majority of other reviews go, this place was worth the value on many levels. we decided to splurge on a cottage over a motel room for three days and found it VERY clean, efficient and well-equipped. space was cozy and immaculate, kitchen fully stocked with cookware, appliances, and dish ware. bathroom looked brand new and well-maintained. bed was spotless and comfy after a long day of biking in acadia, which the lovely owner told us all about at check in.

she was friendly and informative, had no problem taking the time to give us a bunch of great ideas for things to do around mt. desert island. sunny side is a bit far from bar harbor, but we REALLY didn't mind...so much to do and see in the park! minutes from the hulls cove visitor center at acadia. the grounds are full of flowers, everything looks well taken care of and freshly painted. we took full advantage of all the amenities while staying here, felt more like staying at your aunt's summer home than your typical "motel" stay. will definitely be back when we return to maine!!!

Room Tip: we had cottage 6 and were more than happy!
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pollita86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

We where looking for a place to visit the Acadia national park and live outside most of the time. It's location is good because it is on the island and you are close to the two major roads the island has. It is however a 15min drive to Bar Harbor.
This place was perfect for a 3 day visit. The rooms are clean and spacious (the A.C. is a little loud) and every room or cabin has a nice porch or terrace to chill on or have diner. There is a neat pool at the back of the compound which makes it nice and quiet. The (free to use) BBQ is perfect.
The prices are a little higher than as displayed on the website but it still is good value.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WDCnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

We spent a great week here in a cottage for two. For the style of accommodation this was faultless - clean, well equipped kitchenette with two-rig electric, fridge, microwave, Mr Coffee coffee maker. Great attention to detail, too - so there were filters for the coffee pot, salt and pepper, dish-wash liquid. King size bed, two very comfortable easy chairs - same bedroom tv we have at home.

Daily room clean service and towels as needed. Nice inground pool - clean and btight.

The owners are very helpful, and were able to loan us a charcoal grill, and also an outdoor lobster boiler, so we could sit at the picnic table and eat our own locally caught lobster while sipping a cool one. Nice!

The location is pretty much just as you get onto Mount Desert Island, so it is about 10 minutes from downtown Bar Harbor - but nicely away from the bustle and traffic hassle of that area. It also makes it easy access to the quiet Western side of the Island.

Only two criticisms:
The mattress protector was pretty fierce on our king-size bed. I have no problem with a protector but it needed something between it and the sheets to stop it sounding so crinkly. I have never noticed this before so there must be som 'hoteliers' solution to the noise and clammy feeling.

The campus was very brightly lit at night. Understandable - but we missed out on stars.

I would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a cabin away from the road.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David-from-CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

What a nice place! We needed a cottage with 2 bedrooms because my children are 16 and 19, and their cabin fit the bill perfectly with 2 twin beds in the second bedroom. The cottage was extremely clean, there was a nice screened in porch, and the kitchen was well equipped. The proprietor was very friendly and knowledgeable. Only drawback was being 1 mile away from the shuttle stop. Price was very reasonable as well. In all, a nice place to stay!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rn2con
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

We stayed at Sunnyside in one of the cottages last June for a few days. The stay was more than affordable, especially considering the costs of the surrounding lodgings. The cottage was cozy but had plenty of room for the two of us. Small kitchen area was a plus. Enjoyed screened-in front porch and a picnic table on front lawn.

Room was clean, though furniture a bit dated. Bathroom looked newly remodeled but did have a cramped shower. The woman who checked us in and out (I think one of the owners) was very friendly and helpful.

The location is farther from downtown and Acadia than most of the other lodgings, but we didn’t mind. Overall, it was a pleasant stay, one that we would repeat.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank atm91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
2.2 mi away
Belle Isle Motel
Belle Isle Motel
#20 of 41 in Bar Harbor
368 reviews
7.1 mi away
Wonder View Inn
Wonder View Inn
#26 of 41 in Bar Harbor
429 reviews
4.1 mi away
Best Western Acadia Park Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
The Colony on Frenchman's Bay
4.8 mi away
Acadia Ocean View Motel
Acadia Ocean View Motel
#37 of 41 in Bar Harbor
15 reviews
1.9 mi away
Eden Village Motel and Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunnyside Motel & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunnyside Motel & Cottages

Address: 1441 State Highway 3, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-7143
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Price Range: £78 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sunnyside Motel & Cottages 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Sunnyside Motel & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunnyside Motel & Cottages Hotel Bar Harbor
Sunnyside Motel And Cottages
Sunnyside Hotel Bar Harbor
Sunnyside Motel Bar Harbor
Sunnyside Motel & Cottages Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing