We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cozy w/helpful front desk”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sunnyside Motel & Cottages
Ranked #31 of 42 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2010

We stayed in the motel portion because the cottages were full. It was rather rustic and cozy but clean. It was a short drive into both Bar Harbor and Acadia Nat'l. Park. The man at the front desk (I believe an owner) was quite helpful. We were only staying one night and arrived in late afternoon. He laid out our stay for us so that we could experience as much as possible in a short time. Best of all, the price was reasonable for this area!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank okfergy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2010

We really enjoyed our stay here. It was a good value. It was close enough to Bar Harbor, but a much better price than hotels located closer into town. I was unsure of staying there at first because I usually like to stay at chain hotels, but m husband convinced me based on cost that we should give it a try. I have already decided that when we go back to Bar Harbor, we will stay there because it was great! Nice owners, clean room, close enough location, and affordable! We recommended it to another couple for their trip, and they also felt the same way!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank traveler123456023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2009

2 couples, staying in cabins #4 and #6. 3 nights. One couple stayed last year and found this place to be even more improved than last time. The cottages are VERY CLEAN and comfortable. You will see the owners running around non-stop to keep everything in its place, very willing to help and make sure you have a great stay. The newly remodeled cottage was very cute (#4) - knotty pine, a nice little kitchen, and nice counter space in the bathroom. Location - the Trenton bridge and Far East lobster pounds are just over the bridge and both are terrific! We enjoyed the picnic tables out front and meeting our neighbors each night. It's about 10 miles from Bar Harbor - but who cares ? Nice and quiet. at the Sunny side . The beds very comfortable. A few cooking utensils and dishes are supplied - but pretty limited. This would be the only suggestion - get a few more dishes/pots & pans, paper towel etc. for guests to use. Thank you to the owners we had a wonderful stay - and will recommend it to all we know !

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kimvossjezwinski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2009

High season in Bar Harbor means you pay a lot for a room. So I searched the internet for a basic room and was lucky to find this reasonably priced motel. VERY clean and very nice owners. I like staying at a place where the owners care about their customers and this was evident. I just wanted a place to sleep while I visited Acadia. Internet access was very good. On the way into the park I ate at the bagel place across the street from the Log Cabin restaurant. I also ate at the Colonels Bakery in Northeast Harbor. Good stuff.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Foto_Frogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2009

We stayed in room 18. It was in the "new" section. It was by the road. The traffic didnt seem to bother me. Actually I'm usually an extreamely light sleeper in motel/hotels and I didnt have that problem here. The beds were very comfortalble. The room was clean. And the owner was very nice. There wasn't alot in the way of furniture true but we knew we were not staying at the hilton. In actuality there was probably more furniture then in some higher priced places (there was 2 recliner type chairs) most places would only have one. (This was nice with 2 children who like to fight over things.) The bathroom was just as big as anyother hotel we have been to. The heater did take a little bit to get to the correct tempature that was comfortable. ( yes with the rain the heater was needed.) Over all we were very happy with our stay. It was a little further from bar harbor and acadia entrances then we had planned but for the price at this time of the year we didnt mind the travel so much.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaineHockeymum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2009

Came from Syracuse,NY for our first trip to Bar Harbor, and chose Sunnyside from the
internet. Very glad we did because its really the nicest place we have ever stayed. The
cottages are clean neat and well arranged and equipped. Housekeeping well done,too.
Property well kept, mowed and flowers everywhere. parking great too. Located in a quiet area but not far from Bar Harbor or the town of Trenton on the mainland. And the price was "right" too.. very reasonable....and wireless internet,too.....the perfect place to stay.
We will return................

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sharkySyracuse_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2008

We've been at the motel for two nights during Columbus day weekend 2008. We had a good service at desk, the room we had was simple, but clean and spacious. True: The bathroom is not very large, but that do not cause any problem.

We had room 17 which is very near from hwy 3. Early in the morning, big trucks running fast on the hwy wakes us up. The problem was that those rooms were not well isolated (for sound and even for the cold).

There was only one heating and it was very noisy. We couldn't really use it during the night, so we found that this place was a bit cold in that time of the year.

In the background of the motel, you can find a little playground for kids which we found very useful for our kids.

We probably could go again to that place again, but we would certainly ask for a room or a cottage that is not right in front of the road. They do have some.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Enrique73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
2.2 mi away
Belle Isle Motel
Belle Isle Motel
#20 of 42 in Bar Harbor
382 reviews
7.1 mi away
Wonder View Inn
Wonder View Inn
#27 of 42 in Bar Harbor
450 reviews
1.9 mi away
Eden Village Motel and Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Acadia Ocean View Motel
Acadia Ocean View Motel
#36 of 42 in Bar Harbor
24 reviews
6.3 mi away
High Seas Motel
High Seas Motel
#21 of 42 in Bar Harbor
158 reviews
6.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunnyside Motel & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunnyside Motel & Cottages

Address: 1441 State Highway 3, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-7143
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 42 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Price Range: £76 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sunnyside Motel & Cottages 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Sunnyside Motel & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunnyside Motel And Cottages
Sunnyside Motel & Cottages Hotel Bar Harbor
Sunnyside Hotel Bar Harbor
Sunnyside Motel Bar Harbor
Sunnyside Motel & Cottages Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing