We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT MOTEL”
Review of Belle Isle Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Belle Isle Motel
Ranked #21 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
672 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“GREAT MOTEL”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Never been to Bar Harbor before and really wanted to spend a few days without breaking the wallet. The Belle Isle Motel is just the perfect fit for that! EXTREMELY clean, wonderful A/C, beds were comfortable, bathroom has great water pressure, Keurig in room is great and you can get coffee at the main office as you please! Staff was very friendly. Grounds were well kept and pool looked great! We just didn't have enough time to enjoy that...was too busy scouting the area for the 3 days that we had. They have a cozy cabin that has an ice machine, vendor and laundry. Rooms were very quaint, we had a king size bed and the truth is that the rooms offer you a great place to put your head down at night, quiet and clean...with A/C! Only 10 mins from mostly everything. Will make sure to stay here again!

Room Tip: We had room #17....it was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CMC_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    132
    38
    12
    2
See reviews for
81
175
30
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Loved the area, decent motel, friendly staff, clean rooms, nice pool, fire pit and hammock, keurig in the room which is awesome. King bed was totally uncomfortable, hard as a rock. Would definitely stay here again. Would just need to bring an egg crate mattress topper.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kyle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We found this Motel Friendly and conveniently situated to the entrance to Acadia National Park. The motel had a swimming pool out door. guest laundry and free wi-fi. There was a peculator in the room which made good individual cups of coffee

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed for four nights in June and had a wonderful stay. Clean and comfortable room and very pet friendly for our 2year old hound. Lots of room for the pup to roam and play off leash. Not a bad distance to Acadia and Bar Harbor. Easy to find and locate off a main road. Owners were incredibly hospitable and sweet. Great knowledge of the area and pet friendly sites. We'll definitely be back if we're in the area.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank cyranotony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centerport, New York
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

My husband and I traveled up to Bar Harbor with some relatives and wanted to find a cheap, yet clean, place to stay (we spent the majority of our days hiking and sightseeing, so all we really needed from lodging was a comfy bed and clean room with no fancy extras). The Belle Isle motel was perfect for our needs for this particular trip - it's easy to find and not far from town. It's definitely a no frills place, but our room was clean and comfortable. A very good value if you're traveling on a budget or just don't want to spend too much money on a hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Traveler3381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livermore, Maine
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

First off the owners are really nice people that I enjoyed giving my business too. That goes a long ways. You can tell they take pride in their business and reinvest into it. We stayed two nights the end of May after finding it online. I didn't realize there were so many places like this on the road into Bar Harbor. I can't comment or compare to the others but I got what I was looking for here. The place is well kept but note that its not a luxery hotel so don't look for top notch amenities either. It was small but still had everything I needed out of a room.

Room Tip: I think they do this automatically but try to get a room in the back away from the road so you don...
See more room tips
Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Nate1236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndhurst, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We recently booked 5 rooms at this place for memorial day weekend 2014. Because we knew were going to reach bar harbor in the middle of night we were looking for something cheap yet clean. Because we were there just for 6 hours at the motel. We all didn't find any cons at the place. For the money we paid, we felt we really got more than we needed. Rooms were compact so no more than 2 people in one room, but they were clean. no bed bugs nothing. I am giving it a five star because, we reached there around 3 am and we locked our self out, the front desk was closed. We all got worried, but then there was this emergency contact number there and we called and lady was there with another pair of key. I really felt bad for her that we woke her up in the middle of night, but also felt so glad that they care for their customers so much. I would really recommend it for 1-2 nights for sure. Its a prefect location as the welcome center of Acadia National park is 0.8 miles away. Thank you so much for every help you guys have given us.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jazzysweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
5.7 mi away
Wonder View Inn
Wonder View Inn
#31 of 41 in Bar Harbor
388 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western Acadia Park Inn
6.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#19 of 41 in Bar Harbor
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.4 mi away
Eden Village Motel and Cottages
5.4 mi away
Highbrook Motel
Highbrook Motel
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belle Isle Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belle Isle Motel

Property: Belle Isle Motel
Address: 910 State Highway 3, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-7239
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Bar Harbor
#18 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
#23 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Belle Isle Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belle Isle Motel is centrally located on Mt. Desert Island. We are minutes away from many activities and points of interest. If you like a clean simple room, relaxing surroundings away from the hustle and bustle and want to receive personal service, please join us! We want you to enjoy your visit to Mt. Desert Island and Bar Harbor so we do our best to make your stay with us a pleasant one! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Belle Isle Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belle Isle Hotel Bar Harbor
Belle Isle Motel Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing