We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfort and Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Acadia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Acadia Hotel
Ranked #9 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
1 review
“Comfort and Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2013

You can’t do any better than the Acadia Hotel for location and comfort. It has bed and breakfast charm with privacy and cleanliness that makes for a very comfortable stay. We loved our time there. I was especially impressed with the owners who shared great knowledge of the island and were attentive to all of our needs, I definitely recommend the Acadia Hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    254
    66
    12
    1
    1
See reviews for
54
211
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hampden ME
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2013

The Acadia Hotel is in a perfect location. We were able to walk to shops and restaurants and visit our favorite Irish pub, Leary's Landing. This small, personal hotel is immaculate. The new owners have updated many features, adding a new lobby to welcome guests. Then new Cadillac Mt. suite is spacious with a beautiful view of Cadillac Mountain from the bedroom window and private second floor deck. We look forward to visiting often.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HastingsHampdenMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woolwich, Maine
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2013

This hotel has clean, cozy rooms with a kind and helpful staff - right in the center of town! I didn't hear any noise and slept very comfortably. The town has plenty of delicious food options and the ocean and lakes are just a walk or short drive away. If you're looking to enjoy Maine and all it's natural beauty and want a cozy, clean, affordable place to stay, the Acadia Hotel is perfect.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MillieVC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brunswic
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2013

Stayed two nights and didn't want to leave.
Comfortable, clean, close to everything.
Right outside your front door is the heart of Bar Harbor. Amazing!
You could not ask for a better location while visiting one of the great towns in Maine.
Everyone was so helpful and nice and made us feel so welcome.
Cannot wait to come back.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mason m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2013

I had a great 3 night stay at Acadia Hotel. The location is ideal and steps away from great restaurants, shops, and activities in the picturesque downtown. Our room was sunny, charming, and very clean. The bed was also really comfortable (I’m very picky about this) and I slept well during my entire stay. The owners are incredibly warm and helpful - they went out of their way to make sure we enjoyed our time in Bar Harbor. I highly recommend Acadia Hotel and will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whitney J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2012

It was our second stay at the Acadia, several years apart and one major features stands out both stays, if you are looking for quiet this isn't your hotel. It was unbelievable how noisy it is. Between people out on the porch yakking it up after a few cocktails, people strolling down the street or just plain fighting it was decibel challenging. The manager offered us a refund after the first night if we wanted to scoot down the road but we toughed it out for a second (louder) night.
As others have pointed out everything is of the cheapest quality as well, that being said the parking is free and the location cannot be beat!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jilldeville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2012 via mobile

Had a great stay here, rooms were spacious, clean and tastefully decorated. Staff was friendly and pleasant. It is also very well located within easy reach of the front and the shops.Would definitely return here.

Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank steven009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.1 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,196 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,602 reviews
1.2 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#17 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
0.2 mi away
Balance Rock Inn
Balance Rock Inn
#23 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acadia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acadia Hotel

Property: Acadia Hotel
Address: 20 Mount Desert St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1782
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
#6 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Acadia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Acadia Hotel, built in 1884 as a private home, is located in the Historic Corridor in the heart of downtown Bar Harbor. Newly and tastefully restored and renovated, affordable, and immaculate, The Acadia Hotel is the #1 choice of knowledgeable visitors to Bar Harbor, Maine and Acadia National Park. Surrounded by shops, galleries, and restaurants, the Acadia Hotel is Bar Harbor's only hotel situated on the historic Village Green. OPEN YEAR ROUND! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, HRS, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Acadia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acadia Hotel Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing