We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location”
Review of Acadia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Acadia Hotel
Ranked #8 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2013

The porch of the Acadia Hotel overlooks the village green so you couldn't be closer to everything in town. Having access to off street parking is great, especially when everything is a short walk away. The rooms were quaint and clean and everything a stay in Bar Harbor should be. I go to Bar Harbor every year and have stayed in the larger hotels, but I always find places like the Acadia Hotel add so much character and intamacy to the experience of the island. The staff was warm, welcoming, and more than accommodating. Thanks for a wonderful stay!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (389)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

316 - 322 of 389 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Acadia Hotel for our first trip to Bar Harbor. The location is excellent: close enough to walk to the harbor without paying the harbor prices. The room was smallish, but comfortable and clean. I gave them a four for two reasons: 1. No soap or shampoo in the room at check in, we had to go ask for it. 2. As an older home conversion, the AC and heat offer a bit of a learning curve to finding the right adjustment and temps.

Food at this end of town is quality - check out McKay's and This Way Cafe.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter H, Owner at Acadia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2013

Dear Laura S.

Thank you again for your recent stay us, and your wonderful review. We take pride in our little Hotel and are happy when our guests enjoy it as much as we do.

I want to personally apologize for the lack of soap and shampoo in your room upon check-in, and want to ensure all future guests and returning guests that we do in fact provide these products in the rooms each and every night. The missing products where just an oversight on our behalf, and for that we are sorry.

Thank you again for your review, and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

My husband and I stayed here over the 4th of July holiday, and we couldn't be happier with the Acadia Hotel. We have been coming to Bar Harbor for 6 years and stayed in different, mostly disappointing hotels each year. This year we found the Acadia Hotel and now we won't look to stay anywhere else. The location is exactly what we wanted - walking distance to everything downtown with a place to park our car for when we go to the park. The Acadia Hotel does not take advantage of their great location like many nearby hotels that are in disrepair or overpriced. We didn't spend much time in our room but it was clean and comfortable. They gave us great recommendations for restaurants, and even gave us a free drink coupon for a nearby bar, which we had a blast at. I can't wait to return next year!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michele K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

We were very happy with our choice to stay here. Room on the small size but very comfortable and well appointed. The owners really do a nice job with allocating space. Very clean and staff was courteous and efficient. The best part was the location! When we come to Bar Harbor we like to park the car and use our feet or the Island Explorer to get around. The Acadia Hotel is perfectly situated for this. All at what we thought was a very reasonable rate for high tourist season. We will be back!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank streepoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

My wife and I stayed here last month for 6 days. The location was perfect, and so was the room. The owner wants to please his guests. When my wife was asked by Peter, the owner, if she had any suggestions, she said that we could use a bigger garbage can in our room. The next time we entered the room, there in the corner was a nice sized garbage can. The wrap-around porch is great to sit on early in the morning or after a long day. This hotel is just across the street from the Village Green. Mount Desert Street is very convenient to drive to Acadia National Park. When driving via Mt. Desert Street, you can bypass Main Street and West Street which can get congested certain times of the day. Most restaurants are within walking distance of the hotel. Around the corner is Cafe This Way, one of our favorite places for breakfast.
Video of the hotel and our room: http://youtu.be/GiX-Pt9VnaA

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ShutterbugBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We only stayed one night but it was very nice. Got there late but we had called and someone was waiting for us. We were week before high tourist season so our king room was only $127. Right across street from public square and there was a really good arts festival going on. Very close to all the Happening Places, including some good restaurants. Our room was very comfortable. I'd stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tupelodan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Very nice and quaint. This hotel is walking distance to everything and very clean. The girl working the front desk is great and was very helpful in letting us know what activities were around. She also called the bike rental places for us to make sure they were open. Rooms are super cute and clean and quiet. Love the home-y feel it has to it. Definitely would recommend to anyone looking to visit bar harbor.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
1.2 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.3 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#10 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,775 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#5 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Quimby House Inn
Quimby House Inn
#33 of 41 in Bar Harbor
375 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
728 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bar Harbor Manor
Bar Harbor Manor
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acadia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acadia Hotel

Address: 20 Mount Desert St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1782
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range: £95 - £249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Acadia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Acadia Hotel, built in 1884 as a private home, is located in the Historic Corridor in the heart of downtown Bar Harbor. Newly and tastefully restored and renovated, affordable, and immaculate, The Acadia Hotel is the #1 choice of knowledgeable visitors to Bar Harbor, Maine and Acadia National Park. Surrounded by shops, galleries, and restaurants, the Acadia Hotel is Bar Harbor's only hotel situated on the historic Village Green. OPEN YEAR ROUND! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Acadia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acadia Hotel Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing