We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location!”
Review of Acadia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Acadia Hotel
Ranked #11 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Bowie, Maryland
1 review
“Location, location, location!”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We stayed at the Acadia for one night while in Bar Harbor. The hotel is located right in the middle of town and we walked everywhere! The place is spotless, charming and has a wraparound porch with fire pits in the front and back after dark. The owner, Peter, was accommodating and helpful with all our requests and gave us a complimentary drink ticket to the Irish Pub next door when we checked in which was a great place itself! Would stay here again in a second. Thank you!

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kelly O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    265
    68
    13
    1
    1
See reviews for
58
220
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tiverton, Rhode Island
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

This is a lovely little hotel right in downtown Bar Harbor. You can walk to everything from here, which is perfect if you want to have a cocktail or two with dinner. It is clean and beautifully maintained. The staff was very friendly and knowledgeable about the area. My husband and I stayed here on a motorcycle trip around New England. We spent part of one day riding Acadia National Park and had a wonderful time in Bar Harbor. We will certainly be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

My wife booked the Cadillac Suite at the Acadia Hotel for our mini-moon over the Labor Day weekend. The suite was beautiful and rustic with a collection of interesting furniture and art work typical of rural New England. Which is great because it avoids the mismatched feeling of walking out of a modern or standard hotel room into the small town streets and rocky Maine waterfront. The bathroom was huge with a jacuzzi tub, glass shower stall and plenty of floor space. Plenty of room for two people to get ready at the same time.

Amenities were minimal since this is basically a Bed & Breakfast w/o the breakfast. Coffee is set out in the morning and that is about it. But that seemed fitting since the location was amazing - once block removed from the main strip of stores and restaurants, but far enough off to still be quiet and peaceful. We rarely got back in our car after parking and walked most everywhere, except when we went for a hike in Acadia National Park and the nearby Trenton Bridge Lobster Pound (highly recommended).

Like I said, amenities were minimal so there wasn't much service to actually review. The cleaning service was spotless and check-in/check-out was seemless. If the owner, Peter, wasn't at the desk, a very nice and helpful assistant was there to help. And the "bell boy" wouldn't accept a tip for taking our bag to the room since that was also the owner. Despite being 13 rooms big with no vacancies for the weekend, we rarely saw another guest, which I'd owe to there being several entrances in and out for different sides or floors of the hotel.

Cost-wise, I felt the suite was a bargain at $299 a night ($199 for our last night there since the calendar had flipped to September), a steal compared to comparable suites where we live in DC. Plus, you get a coupon for free drink at Leary's, the next-door Irish Pub, which this Irish couple loved. It's a local joint that is the definition of a hole-in-the-wall bar and seats about 16. Interestingly, due to Maine's eastern-most location in the northern U.S., it's advertised as the closest American Irish bar to Ireland. Kind of a fun fact.

When we visit again, we will certainly book at Acadia Hotel again!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our entire experience with our stay at the Acadia Hotel in Bar Harbor, Maine. We stay there every year! It is centrally located right next to the town green within walking distance to stores and restaurants and there are also wonderful shuttles to anywhere we wanted to go in Acadia National Park. The rooms are very clean and spacious. The customer service provided by the owner, Peter, and by Cornelia was fantastic and extremely accommodating and we wouldn't stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 23Laurie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

My husband and i spent 5 very comfortable nights at the Acadia hotel. Overall the hotel was charming, clean, well-appointed, and perfectly located. The staff was lovely and free coffee is available in the lobby beginning at 6 am, to help you get an early start on the day's adventure. We slept very well each night in the wonderfully comfortable king size bed. We also enjoyed the beautiful wrap around porch, an ideal spot for drinking that early morning coffee. We especially loved leaving our car parked at the hotel and walking just a short distance to the many fine restaurants where we could enjoy a bottle of wine with our meal. we loved that the hotel is located just across the street from the village green, where you can enjoy the bar harbor band or an outdoor movie, it's also a great place to people-watch while savoring some home-made ice cream. The hotel is only a 10 minute drive from Acadia National Park.

My Husband and I both really enjoyed our stay at the hospitable Acadia Hotel. I would stay again and recommend this hotel to my Granny and to you too.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We were lucky to get two adjacent rooms on the first floor (2 King size rooms #4 and #5) having booked very last minute. The hotel has a fantastic location right in the middle of Bar Harbor and it provides sufficient parking in front of the hotel and in the back. The reception is staffed until 11 p.m. which was great as we got stuck in traffic and only arrived around 10 p.m.. The decor is more like a bed & breakfast than a hotel but the rooms were quiet, clean and both had a small fridge and a window A/C. The only slight disapppointment was the bathroom of room 4: the sink had a huge crack and the shower was hard to get into and out (and I am not tall; 5.5) and you could barely move in it. My friends, however, had no issues with the bathroom in room 5. Staff was very friendly and they have a great breakfast place just around the corner ("Cafe This Way") where we went the first morning. In the evening, everything in Bar Harbor is within 5 walking minutes from the hotel. Acadia National Park is just a 5 min drive from the hotel.
Great location, great staff and we would definitely stay at Acadia Hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FoodTraveler7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

The Hotel's directly in the city center and yet it's quiet (visiting time - end of April). The receptionist suggested we go to the Irish Pub nearby, and it proved to be an excellent choice. It was Pub Quiz night, and we got complimentary drinks because we were staying at the Acadia Hotel. The room as well as the bathroom were clean and cosy. No problems with Internet access. I'd recommend it to anyone who wishes to visit the Acadia National Park.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aa154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.1 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,272 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,658 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#18 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bar Harbor Manor
Bar Harbor Manor
#9 of 41 in Bar Harbor
441 reviews
1.2 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
1.1 mi away
Acadia Inn
Acadia Inn
#16 of 41 in Bar Harbor
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acadia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acadia Hotel

Property: Acadia Hotel
Address: 20 Mount Desert St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1782
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
#6 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Acadia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Acadia Hotel, built in 1884 as a private home, is located in the Historic Corridor in the heart of downtown Bar Harbor. Newly and tastefully restored and renovated, affordable, and immaculate, The Acadia Hotel is the #1 choice of knowledgeable visitors to Bar Harbor, Maine and Acadia National Park. Surrounded by shops, galleries, and restaurants, the Acadia Hotel is Bar Harbor's only hotel situated on the historic Village Green. OPEN YEAR ROUND! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Acadia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acadia Hotel Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing