We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing "suite" about Cadillac Mountain Suite”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Acadia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Acadia Hotel
Ranked #10 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nothing "suite" about Cadillac Mountain Suite”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

I booked the Acadia because of great reviews for the hotel and went top-of-the line with the Cadillac Mountain Suite to end our week-long trip to Maine in style. There isn't much here that warrants the designation as a "suite". It's certainly big - two large rooms both with sleeping lofts - but it really is for large families. The bedroom has a nice king-size bed - and right next to it (blocking the view to the balcony) is an old treadmill !??! While the main hotel is 1800's décor, this is 1950's mountain cabin with wood paneling, wood ceilings and a musty smell. The bathroom had a nice Jacuzzi tub (broken hot water faucet) and the amenities were less than you get at a Hampton Inn - 2 people, 2 nights, one tiny shampoo and a soap sliver (quarter-size soap). Overall, it just doesn't live up to the term "suite" (and it's not cheap, either). So book it if you need a lot of room - otherwise find something else for décor and amenities.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank donandcee46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    254
    66
    12
    1
    1
See reviews for
54
211
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

We stayed at the Acadia Hotel this past weekend and we loved it. The hotel staff was very welcoming and the room was very comfortable and clean. The location of this hotel is perfect. I would highly recommend staying here. We will surely be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abigael6399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

We stayed at the Acadia Hotel this past weekend and absolutely loved it. The hotel's quaint New England feeling was very welcoming upon our arrival in Bar Harbor and our beds were very comfortable....which is a nice luxury after a long day on the carriage trails! The hotel is also very conveniently located in the town as we enjoyed the shops and restaurants and it is only a short walk down to the waterfront. There is even a great Irish Bar down the street (Leary's Landing) which was a very pleasant surprise for grabbing some drinks at one of the 'local' spots. The weekend was too short but we will definitely be back soon!

Room Tip: Book early...the hotel seems to fill up fast
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aaron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowie, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

We stayed at the Acadia for one night while in Bar Harbor. The hotel is located right in the middle of town and we walked everywhere! The place is spotless, charming and has a wraparound porch with fire pits in the front and back after dark. The owner, Peter, was accommodating and helpful with all our requests and gave us a complimentary drink ticket to the Irish Pub next door when we checked in which was a great place itself! Would stay here again in a second. Thank you!

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kelly O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiverton, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

This is a lovely little hotel right in downtown Bar Harbor. You can walk to everything from here, which is perfect if you want to have a cocktail or two with dinner. It is clean and beautifully maintained. The staff was very friendly and knowledgeable about the area. My husband and I stayed here on a motorcycle trip around New England. We spent part of one day riding Acadia National Park and had a wonderful time in Bar Harbor. We will certainly be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

My wife booked the Cadillac Suite at the Acadia Hotel for our mini-moon over the Labor Day weekend. The suite was beautiful and rustic with a collection of interesting furniture and art work typical of rural New England. Which is great because it avoids the mismatched feeling of walking out of a modern or standard hotel room into the small town streets and rocky Maine waterfront. The bathroom was huge with a jacuzzi tub, glass shower stall and plenty of floor space. Plenty of room for two people to get ready at the same time.

Amenities were minimal since this is basically a Bed & Breakfast w/o the breakfast. Coffee is set out in the morning and that is about it. But that seemed fitting since the location was amazing - once block removed from the main strip of stores and restaurants, but far enough off to still be quiet and peaceful. We rarely got back in our car after parking and walked most everywhere, except when we went for a hike in Acadia National Park and the nearby Trenton Bridge Lobster Pound (highly recommended).

Like I said, amenities were minimal so there wasn't much service to actually review. The cleaning service was spotless and check-in/check-out was seemless. If the owner, Peter, wasn't at the desk, a very nice and helpful assistant was there to help. And the "bell boy" wouldn't accept a tip for taking our bag to the room since that was also the owner. Despite being 13 rooms big with no vacancies for the weekend, we rarely saw another guest, which I'd owe to there being several entrances in and out for different sides or floors of the hotel.

Cost-wise, I felt the suite was a bargain at $299 a night ($199 for our last night there since the calendar had flipped to September), a steal compared to comparable suites where we live in DC. Plus, you get a coupon for free drink at Leary's, the next-door Irish Pub, which this Irish couple loved. It's a local joint that is the definition of a hole-in-the-wall bar and seats about 16. Interestingly, due to Maine's eastern-most location in the northern U.S., it's advertised as the closest American Irish bar to Ireland. Kind of a fun fact.

When we visit again, we will certainly book at Acadia Hotel again!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our entire experience with our stay at the Acadia Hotel in Bar Harbor, Maine. We stay there every year! It is centrally located right next to the town green within walking distance to stores and restaurants and there are also wonderful shuttles to anywhere we wanted to go in Acadia National Park. The rooms are very clean and spacious. The customer service provided by the owner, Peter, and by Cornelia was fantastic and extremely accommodating and we wouldn't stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 23Laurie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.1 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,196 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,604 reviews
1.2 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#17 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
0.2 mi away
Balance Rock Inn
Balance Rock Inn
#23 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acadia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acadia Hotel

Property: Acadia Hotel
Address: 20 Mount Desert St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1782
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
#6 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Acadia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Acadia Hotel, built in 1884 as a private home, is located in the Historic Corridor in the heart of downtown Bar Harbor. Newly and tastefully restored and renovated, affordable, and immaculate, The Acadia Hotel is the #1 choice of knowledgeable visitors to Bar Harbor, Maine and Acadia National Park. Surrounded by shops, galleries, and restaurants, the Acadia Hotel is Bar Harbor's only hotel situated on the historic Village Green. OPEN YEAR ROUND! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Agoda, HRS and Priceline so you can book your Acadia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acadia Hotel Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing