We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”
Review of Acadia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Acadia Hotel
Ranked #8 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Very well located by the village green in Bar Harbor, this hotel was a gem. A short walk to the harbour and shops where there was a good variety of places to eat as the hotel does not provide any food options. Our room was lovely typical New England style. It would have been nice to have a kettle in the room, although tea and coffee were available in the reception area. Would definitely recommend this hotel and area to explore.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanetStevenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (387)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

286 - 292 of 387 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2013

A Great hotel with a perfect location. We stayed on the lower floor right in the front....with a street view....at first I was concerned about noise....but after a day of walking and shopping and eating...the noise was not an issue and it actually was quiet in the evening. Hotel is very quaint, and a GREAT breakfast location just a few steps away. Also a cozy little Irish pub one block away with football on screens all over and local Patriots fans packed in....all in Jerseys.....lots of fun....you can walk to Whale Watching boats right in the harbor....fun shopping. The staff was very helpful, rooms clean and pleasant....parking right in the rear of building. I would stay again in a minute.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Penny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Peter and his staff run a great little hotel in Bar Harbor. We arrived a little late in the evening and were greeted by a cheery staff member who was happy to show us to our room, get us situated, and tell us a little bit about the town. We were able to park right in the back lot and were given a parking pass for the duration of our stay. The staff member pointed us in the direction of our restaurant and we were off. Hotel is right in the heart of town and we could walk everywhere we went. The rooms were clean and well appointed. The queen bed was very comfortable, and although we were in the front of the hotel, we were not awakened by any street noise. In the morning we were given directions to the entrance to the park and some tips about some of the best walks and hikes through the park. Had a great breakfast at Cafe This Way before heading into the park... A perfect place to stay to take in the Bar Harbor experience!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teddy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We stayed at the Acadia Hotel October 8th-10th. This was a perfect time to visit Bar Harbor. The leaves were beautiful.
The hotel couldn't have been in a better location to the all the sites. In a short walk you can be anywhere in Bar Harbor.
We stayed in the lower level room, it has slightly lower ceilings which wasn't a problem since my boyfriend and I aren't tall, but this could be a problem for tall people.
The staff was very friendly.
Overall, our stay was very nice.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Location couldn't be better. You can leave your car parked at the hotel and walk to the shops and restaurants. The room was very comfortable and clean. We were fortunate to get a free room upgrade too. Having free wifi and a refrigerator was a nice convenience. The website photos accurately show the hotel and rooms. The price of the rooms is a good value. Bar Harbor is a wonderful place and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Acadia Hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KDORLANDO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Acadia Hotel is a very warm and inviting hotel. The room was very comfortable, clean and pleasant. We loved the small balcony right outside the room. A nice place to sit and relax after a long day. The location is excellent - walking distance to everything in the Bar Harbor downtown area. The cost of the room was an average price for the location and well worth every penny. If we ever travel to this area again, Acadia Hotel will be our choice.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

Very nice hotel that is cozy, charming, and in a great location. In the heart if downtown bar harbor within walking distance from restaurants and shops. Rooms are clean and well maintained. Staff are helpful and friendly and made great local recommendations. Price is a little high but overall worth it!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pwphilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
1.2 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.1 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,386 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#10 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
728 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bar Harbor Manor
Bar Harbor Manor
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
482 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quimby House Inn
Quimby House Inn
#33 of 41 in Bar Harbor
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acadia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acadia Hotel

Address: 20 Mount Desert St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1782
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
#6 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range: £91 - £252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Acadia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Acadia Hotel, built in 1884 as a private home, is located in the Historic Corridor in the heart of downtown Bar Harbor. Newly and tastefully restored and renovated, affordable, and immaculate, The Acadia Hotel is the #1 choice of knowledgeable visitors to Bar Harbor, Maine and Acadia National Park. Surrounded by shops, galleries, and restaurants, the Acadia Hotel is Bar Harbor's only hotel situated on the historic Village Green. OPEN YEAR ROUND! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Acadia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acadia Hotel Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing