We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Acadia Hotel Bar Harbor”
Review of Acadia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Acadia Hotel
Ranked #8 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 March 2014

The Acadia Hotel is a hidden treasure in Bar Harbor. It's quaint and more like a B&B than a hotel as all the rooms are different and beautiful. It's close to downtown and there are restaurants close by like the wonderful Irish Pub "Leary's Landing". The owners are often around are are helpful for get ideas on what to see in the area. There is a nice front porch that overlooks the park and everything is in easy walking distance including the water front.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 760Bill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (387)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

261 - 267 of 387 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2014

I stayed at the Acadia Hotel while attending a meeting in town. The staff was very friendly, and the hotel has a comfortable, clean feeling. It is clear that Peter and Christina have worked hard to modernize and enhance the many positive aspects of this hotel. I even came back one night to a small fire-pit lit on the front porch! What a great way to be welcomed from the cold winter air. I highly recommend the Acadia Hotel!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
Thank julias820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

The nice little room I had at Acadia Hotel was just perfect for me for my 3 night stay in Bar Harbor. Being winter, the town was not only cold, but kind of ghost town-ish and full of "see you in April" signs in the store windows. Even so, my room and the nice people at Acadia and other places I visited (Morning Glory Bakery - the best! Acacia House - yum!) warmed me up, and even on the coldest and snowiest day my room was toasty and welcoming. The hotel is centrally located right by a small green and movie theater (good pizza there!), making it easy to walk everywhere I needed to go. It's a very short walk to the beach path from there down the main road for visitors in warmer weather, so I believe I could recommend it for any season, and would prefer such a place any day to the chain hotels nearer to the shore. During my stay, the staff wasn't always in, but that's understandable given the season. I'm sure that in the tourist season the desk is staffed all the time. This wasn't a problem for me. If you want a good "hotel" price but a bed/breakfast type feel (but not too fancy and without breakfast!), this is your place.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DotMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Last month my husband and I traveled to Bar harbor to visit with family. We stayed in our favorite little hotel. The Acadia Hotel is right in the center of town, just across the street from the charming village green. It is within a short stroll of excellent restaurants fine pubs and a charming small town style cinema pub.

The staff is friendly and knowledgable about the area. The rooms are immaculately clean and beautifully designed. If you are planning a visit to Bar Harbor, this is the place to stay. However, make your reservations early because they fill up fast.

Room Tip: Stay in Room 8, it has just recently been re-designed and is just lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank innkeeperpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

Delightful retreat off the porch, very private....lusciously comfortable bed for my wife and I.... Close to everything....quick walk to the shore walk .....will come again! Everything worked well, the room was emasculate and warm even in the midst of winter....

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Stephen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Stayed here with my wife In mid-February. 2014. Management and staff were extremely courteous and helpful. Room with king bed was comfortable and nicely appointed. Bath was modern and large. The hotel was very quiet. The location just off the Bar Harbor town green is superb. Multiple restaurants and shops are within a few minutes walk. A totally positive and enjoyable stay in all respects. We plan to return again here in each of the following seasons.

Room Tip: Consider the Cadillac suite (at a higher rate).Note! There is no Fitness Center or Restaurant in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosemary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Booked Acadia hotel with a groupon and loved it!! The location was perfect, the room clean, staff was friendly and extremely helpful. It snowed 2 feet over night and the driveway was shoveled and cars cleaned off, such a pleasant surprise. The staff had great suggestions on where to eat which during the winter is difficult because not much is open but every restaurant they recommended was great! Absolutely would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the area. We plan on coming back in the fall!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 628TrishP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
1.2 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.1 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,386 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#10 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
728 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bar Harbor Manor
Bar Harbor Manor
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
482 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quimby House Inn
Quimby House Inn
#33 of 41 in Bar Harbor
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acadia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acadia Hotel

Address: 20 Mount Desert St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1782
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
#6 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range: £94 - £252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Acadia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Acadia Hotel, built in 1884 as a private home, is located in the Historic Corridor in the heart of downtown Bar Harbor. Newly and tastefully restored and renovated, affordable, and immaculate, The Acadia Hotel is the #1 choice of knowledgeable visitors to Bar Harbor, Maine and Acadia National Park. Surrounded by shops, galleries, and restaurants, the Acadia Hotel is Bar Harbor's only hotel situated on the historic Village Green. OPEN YEAR ROUND! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Acadia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acadia Hotel Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing