We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mini April getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Acadia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Acadia Hotel
Ranked #9 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Mini April getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

Stayed at the Acadia Hotel for 2 nights in April. The location was excellent- within walking distance of everything in town, and an easy drive to the park. Our room was in the back off the porch- very quiet. The bathroom was a little small and quirky but the room was very clean and the bed was very comfortable! Front desk staff was polite and friendly and provided great recommendations for places to eat and trails within the park.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank L207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    253
    66
    12
    1
    1
See reviews for
54
210
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waterville, Maine
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

From the first interaction on, everything was comfortable and helpful at this hotel. Location was great, room was quiet and clean. Town was still not fully open for business at the end of April, but the hotel was great and everything I was looking for! I would recommend this hotel for sure.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wppfeifer48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houlton, Maine
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

The hotel is a wonderful quaint place. The rooms are very clean and quiet. The location was awesome, it was very close to downtown and could walk where you wanted to go if you wanted to. They were very friendly and helpful. Booking the room was very easy, as I was able to accomplish this online and they got back to me extremely promptly. I will definitely stay there again at some point in the future.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

We found the Acadia Hotel to be a great little spot in a very good location in Bar Harbor - easily within walking distance of everything. Our room was clean, quiet and very reasonably priced (we visited in the off season). Our hosts were very friendly and even cleared some unexpected snow off our car! We would definitely consider the Acadia Hotel for our next visit to Bar Harbor.

Room Tip: We enjoyed room #6 overlooking the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BolairBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
327 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

Friendly staff made you feel welcomed right from the start. Big clean room and fantastic location which made the walking distance close to opened restaurants. Will definitely recommend hotel and will return again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maddie1064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
254 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

This was a last minute trip to Bar Harbor on Columbus Day Weekend. The Park was closed to autos but open to walkers and cyclists, thanks to our government shut-down. This was my first time in Bar Harbor, although I've stayed other places around the Island. They are located in the perfect spot. I arrived late but was properly directed where to get my key and where the room was. I walked in the back entry and the first thing I noticed was the smell....it was clean and fresh like home. It felt warm and welcoming, even with no one around and it being midnight! I went up the main stairs to my room and the same experience as entering the Inn! The room was perfect and nicely decorated and fresh and clean! It really felt very comfy and warm!
The decor was bright and fun and the bathroom was clean and perfect.

I met the owner the next morning, Peter and he seemed to know just about everything, and always around doing stuff. I realized that's why this place is really really nice, he keeps it that way! the pride he takes in this place really shows. What really takes the cake is at 6 am and you wake up to the smell of fresh brewed coffee!! Really!
He gave me info about where to eat and best way to get to the park.....!
I ended up meeting other people on the staff and They all are truly one of the most pleasant groups I've ever met.
I have no need to even look for another place in Bar Harbor as this place has it all. I just hope we can get rooms here as my review will probably make it more difficult!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shefra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brewer, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed at the Acadia Hotel and had an excellent time. I was there celebrating my birthday and received a surprise gift! This hotel is located right in the middle of anything you would want to do in Bar Harbor! Thank you for the wonderful stay, we can't wait to come back and highly recommend it to all!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Amifow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.1 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,183 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,587 reviews
1.2 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bar Harbor Manor
Bar Harbor Manor
#15 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quimby House Inn
Quimby House Inn
#30 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acadia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acadia Hotel

Property: Acadia Hotel
Address: 20 Mount Desert St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1782
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
#6 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Acadia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Acadia Hotel, built in 1884 as a private home, is located in the Historic Corridor in the heart of downtown Bar Harbor. Newly and tastefully restored and renovated, affordable, and immaculate, The Acadia Hotel is the #1 choice of knowledgeable visitors to Bar Harbor, Maine and Acadia National Park. Surrounded by shops, galleries, and restaurants, the Acadia Hotel is Bar Harbor's only hotel situated on the historic Village Green. OPEN YEAR ROUND! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Acadia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acadia Hotel Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing