We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable, great location”
Review of Acadia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Acadia Hotel
Ranked #7 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2014

June 2014: My husband and I were impressed with how clean everything was and really liked the room overall and having access to the porch. Very enjoyable and comfortable stay. The bed was very comfortable and had natural-fiber bedding. We had our small dog with us and she was comfortable too: the park is right across the street and the first floor access we were given made having the dog with us easy.

Side note on breakfast places nearby: The hotel provides a list of breakfast places nearby: be sure to go by their list. We made a mistake a went to the place right next door thinking it was one of the places on the list. It was a blah breakfast and ridiculously expensive. Other than that it was a nice stay in Bar Harbor.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (388)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

243 - 249 of 388 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel has bed and breakfast charm and is perfectly located to enjoy gorgeous Bar Harbor. The staff are friendly, the rooms are totally immaculate - it looks like it was just finished and you are the first person to occupy the room. Upon arrival we were upgraded to the Cadillac Mountain Suite - a total treat. Everything about this place is tasteful and comfortable. Go!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Lily D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Hotel is charming and in an excellent location. You can walk to everything. Parking is free and a must have in busy downtown Bar Harbor. Staff was very very helpful with my many questions . Rooms very well kept and clean. Overall a not to be missed location and hotel

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gloria586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed for two nights and it was exactly what you would want. The location was perfect, right in town and next door to a fantastic cafe for breakfast and just a couple doors down from the local brewery for a tasting - always a plus! The staff were incredibly friendly and very helpful with recommendations and explanations of the area and the best places to go. It has a "B&B" feel to it, very homey but more affordable and without the breakfast which works out really well because there are so many great spots to eat, you would really miss out if you didn't get to try them. We would (will) definitely go back!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Misty I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Lovely, quiet hotel only 2 blocks from Main Street; around the corner from Café-this-Way and a few doors away from a small Irish Pub. We stayed in quirky Room 11 for 3 nights and enjoyed the private patio it had. In response to my request, the owner conducted a computer search for a Maine artist I had once known. Staff was excellent, the room was filled with light and it all helped to make Bar Harbor a delightful experience.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barbdaveroanoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Location - The Acadia Hotel is located right across the street from the Village Green in downtown Bar Harbor, so it's within super convenient walking distance to everything.

Parking - Off-street, one space per room, a little tight but that's expected given the location

Room - We stayed in Room #2, right inside the main entrance. Not much in terms of square footage, but room does feature a refrigerator. Bathroom is super tight with very little room to maneuver in the shower (no bathtubs). Bed mattress really needs to be changed out at some point as any firmness that it had is now long gone.

Front porch - Very inviting wrap-around front porch with plenty of seating. Great place to people watch. There's also a small private porch on the 2nd floor that is available to all guests.

Front desk staff - Friendly and answered all questions we had. Took care of room problems (thermostat was locked) very quickly and efficiently. Gave us great info on Acadia trails, places to eat, etc.

Coffee & tea - free throughout the day at the front desk.

Water infused with lemon - free throughout the day on the front porch.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank schrivey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Stayed one night at the Acadia Hotel for just a little get away with my daughter. The hotel is actually a renovated home with quaint and quirky rooms. Linens and towels very crisp and clean. Beds comfortable. Bathroom also very clean. We were in room 11 which is a detached room in the back of the house. Lots of stairs inside the room which would not be good for anyone with any limitations.
Located on a side street basically in the heart of downtown but just enough off the beaten path to be quiet. Beautiful front porch with lots of chairs and icy cold lemon water to drink!
A really fun treat.

Room Tip: Again our room would not be good for anyone with limitations but many more to chooses from.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Teacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
1.2 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.1 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,386 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#10 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
728 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quimby House Inn
Quimby House Inn
#32 of 41 in Bar Harbor
375 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bar Harbor Manor
Bar Harbor Manor
#8 of 41 in Bar Harbor
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acadia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acadia Hotel

Address: 20 Mount Desert St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1782
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range: £97 - £257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Acadia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Acadia Hotel, built in 1884 as a private home, is located in the Historic Corridor in the heart of downtown Bar Harbor. Newly and tastefully restored and renovated, affordable, and immaculate, The Acadia Hotel is the #1 choice of knowledgeable visitors to Bar Harbor, Maine and Acadia National Park. Surrounded by shops, galleries, and restaurants, the Acadia Hotel is Bar Harbor's only hotel situated on the historic Village Green. OPEN YEAR ROUND! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Acadia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acadia Hotel Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing