We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Black Friar Inn and Pub
Ranked #23 of 30 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 August 2006

I booked three days at the Black Friar based on reviews here and other sources. I was not disappointed. Sharon and Perry were gracious and knowledgeable hosts. The location was excellent, close to downtown yet on a quiet sidestreet. The room was nicely appointed and clean. Breakfast was always delicious. Come on, what more do you want!

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VernL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (183)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

162 - 168 of 183 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2006

My wife and I have just returned from a very pleasant 6 night stay at the Black Friar Inn. I will make this very easy for anyone planning a stay in Bar Harbour - stay at the Black Friar Inn! "Why", you ask:

1. The Innkeeper (Sharon) is a superb hostess
2. The rooms were spotlessly clean and perfectly appointed
3. The location could not be any better (5min walk to Main St.)
4. The breakfast was utterly amazing
5. Sharon's knowledge of Mount Desert Island is second to none
6. More than ample off-street parking
7. Coffee and cookies in the afternoon, every afternoon
8. .....need I say anymore!

From 2 very happy Brooklyn based travellers.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Swedengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2006

This was my fifth visit to the Black Friar Inn in as many years. A visit to Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park is always an adventure and Perry and Sharon always help me make the most of it with their knowledge of the area and advise on trails, side trips, attractions, and resturants. The in is charming, the breakfasts are always delicious - in five years, I don't think I've had exactly the same meal twice. This summer, with Sharon running the inn alone, she was busier than ever, but always found time for a few words about the adventures of the day.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Virginia-Vet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2006

My visit at Black Friar Inn last week (July 24-28) was wonderful.
I was there with my sister who is a return visitor several times over. The inn was positively charming, the food was delicious, the company was enjoyable, and our room was very comfortable and clean. In spite of the fact that she was very! busy, Sharon was a most gracious and helpful host. There were guests of all ages visiting during the week, from several different states as well as Germany - all were made welcome and treated with friendly consideration and respect. I'd like to think that guests in my own home would come away feeling as welcome and well-treated!

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2006

My fiance and I just returned from a wonderful 3 day stay at the Black Friar Inn. This was our first B&B experience, and after the thoughtful, warm, and personal attention we recieved there, we may never stay in a hotel again!

The rooms were very comfortable and well-appointed. We had the opportunity to stay in 2 different rooms during our stay, and felt very spoiled with the luxurious bedding and thoughfully chosen decor in each room. The architecture in the Inn is simply stunning. Gorgeous hardwood floors, a replica of a classic English pub, and even a doorway that was once a part of the island's hospital!

The breakfasts each morning were incredibly delicious, it was like getting a gourment Sunday morning breakfast every day! During our stay, we enjoyed cream cheese blueberry bread pudding with a fresh blueberry-strawberry sauce, a lighter-than-air quiche with cheese and fresh vegetables, and on the final morning (my favorite one!) delectable thick slices of sweet french toast griddled to perfection covered with spiced brandied apples and served with real maple syrup. The homemade cookies in the afternoon were a wonderful treat, too. Sharon's cooking alone is worth the visit!

I must admit, we were a bit apprehensive when we read some of the earlier negative comments here regarding younger couples (we're 24, and not used to recieving such great service!), but we booked anyway. I'm so glad we did! Sharon treated us like family, and was genuinely interested in making sure we made the most of our short time on the island. She was always happy to see us when we returned from our activties for the day and always had an interesting tidbit of info to share. She was a wealth of information on Acadia National Park, sights to see around town, and great restaurant recommendations. She even called to set up a reservation for us! The Inn also has a wonderful collection of restaurant menus and even guest comments to help you choose! There are also several different books and guides you can borrow on trails and attractions in the area. (The high speed wireless internet was a huge plus for us, too!)

We had a wonderful stay here and can't wait to go back! Don't feel discouraged by some of the negative reviews posted here. Our experience at the Black Friar Inn was absolutely amazing and we highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank krangrape64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2006

My wife and I recently stayed at the Black Fiar and had a great experience once again. Our first visit to the Black Friar was in May 2002 and before then, I had stayed at many Bar Harbor B&Bs - some good while some not-so-good. The Black Friar is by far our favorite Bar Harbor B&B. It's in a great location within town so you can park your car at the inn and easily walk to dinner, the shops, a quick hike to Bar Island, or just to grab a brew at Geddy's or Lompoc. The house is very well kept (with great architecture) and the rooms are clean and comfortable.

On our first visit to the Black Friar, Sharon and Perry updated us on the local restaurants as well as some little-known places to see within Acadia National Park that you can't find in any guidebook of the area. These places are now some of our favorits spots in Acadia and we visited them again this time as well.

On this latest visit, Sharon updated us on the restauraunt scene as well as tide tables to figure out the best times to hike out to Bar Island. Sharon also did a great job with breakfast and introduced some unique combinations such as fresh pineapple with basil - excellent and refreshing ! We also have recommended this B&B to many friends. To sum up, we definitely recommend the Black Friar as your home-away-from home for any Bar Harbor Vacation.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom&Jayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2006

My husband & I had a great time at this bed & breakfast. We enjoy occasionally splurging on an inn of this type and being able to "pick the brains" of the inn keepers and visiting with the other visiters.

The property was everything the pictures show - beautiful rooms, a comfortable sitting area to visit with others. Breakfast was very yummy, with special orders accomodated and seconds offered. it included coffee, tea, and juice; fruit, and a main course (waffles, etc. with bacon).

Sharon was very helpful with recommendations and was very familiar with the area and local activities. In response to a couple of the negative comments I read, I found Sharon helpful and friendly, and not difficult to stay with, dispite our being part of the 25 - 35 year old crowd. The few rules that there are (smelly, dirty things kept outside, etc. ) are resonable and what you would expect from someone having a business in their home.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank MLGMItchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.2 mi away
Aysgarth Station Bed and Breakfast
0.5 mi away
Shore Path Cottage
Shore Path Cottage
#18 of 30 in Bar Harbor
172 reviews
0.2 mi away
Thornhedge Inn
Thornhedge Inn
#20 of 30 in Bar Harbor
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Yellow House Bed & Breakfast
Yellow House Bed & Breakfast
#19 of 30 in Bar Harbor
117 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stone Throw Cottage
Stone Throw Cottage
#5 of 30 in Bar Harbor
301 reviews
0.7 mi away
Chiltern Inn
Chiltern Inn
#29 of 30 in Bar Harbor
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Friar Inn and Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Friar Inn and Pub

Address: 10 Summer St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1424
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range: £67 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Black Friar Inn and Pub is a hidden gem; once you find it we guarantee you will be back! Our three story building is mostly constructed from materials salvaged from the mansions that burned in the great fire of 1947. All of the finishing work in the Blackfriar was once part of the time when the steamboats greeted our shores and Bar Harbor was called Eden. Although there doesn't seem to be any new ghost here, you will occasionally feel residual energy coming from all around you. Especially if it's nighttime. And you're here. By yourself. Don't be frightened off, when you walk in our friendly and super accommodating staff is there to greet you, get you settled in and feeling at home. Chef Don does a superb job in our cozy kitchen whether you feel like a burger or a fine bottle of wine with a perfectly cooked steak. Jenny, Michelle, Taylor and Brittany are very capable barmaids with dynamite personalities and lots of specialty drinks to try. Fryer Tom is the heart of the Friar, the owner and innkeeper, he is laid back and has a wonderful hands-on approach to ownership. We are happy family here at the Blackfriar so come by, take a tour, grab a beer and let us make you feel like part of it! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Black Friar Inn And Pub Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing