We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Black Friar Inn, an Excellent B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Black Friar Inn and Pub
Ranked #22 of 30 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Black Friar Inn, an Excellent B&B”
Reviewed 20 September 2006

This was a part of our exploring the New England area, traveling throughout MA, CT, VT and ME. We felt we just had to stay at a B&B and chose the Black Frair Inn. After much research
it was determined that this one fit our needs. We were pleasantly
treated by Sharon, in fact we found her to be very responsive to our needs. The room #5 was exactly like the picture with an abundance of room and bed was comfortable.

Having read the reviews we find that the majority of the writings were written in a positive slant, add this to the good side!

The Anderson Family

  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank dander54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    36
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
5
120
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
SF Bay Area, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 September 2006

This was a great find. It's a really unique house in a perfectly convenient location on a quiet side street. Parking was not a problem at the Inn, and it was great to just be able to leave the car and walk everywhere in town. I wish we could have stayed one more day to soak it all in. Our quaint "garret" room had easy access to an outside patio which made being on the top floor a real get-away. We could relax outside after a long day of activity and before heading out to one of the many tasty restaurants in town. Thanks for your hospitality, Sharon. Your breakfast fruits were wonderfully memorable, and I wish I could get your granola recipe :)

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank Heidimel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, FL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 September 2006

The Black Friar lived up to its top-notch reputation! The rooms are spacious, very reasonably priced, and the inn is run smoothly. The innkeepers are unfailing in their warmth, attentiveness, and advice on the local ins and outs. Breakfast is scrumptious, and we slept very well in their beds.

We’re active vacationers. We chose to rent bikes and to use the Island Explorer donation-operated bus in lieu of a rental car. It turned out to be a great way to explore the park since we could start hiking at one trailhead, pop out at a different one to catch a different bus, or bike to the sights. The buses are equipped with bike racks, and the carriage roads are ideal for auto-free cycling. For others who like to vacation in this manner, we recommend staying right in Bar Harbor due to the convenient location near bike & kayak rental shops, and near to the Village Green, the hub of the 7 bus routes. The Black Friar was a great choice for this. It is also very near a supermarket, should you forget or need to buy anything. Like many who stay here, we wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Liked — homey comfort
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank JourneysWithToys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massena, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 August 2006

My new husband and I stayed at the Black Friar for 5 nights in August. We chose this bed and breakfast after seeing the website. It was a perfect choice for us. The house is stunning, the rooms are breathtaking, and Sharon Perry is wonderful. We had a gourmet breakfast every morning, before setting out on the day's adventure. She made a homemade treat for the guests every afternoon. When we returned from our daily excertions we found our room inpecably clean. The fellow guests were always kind and intersting. Also, it was quiet. We never heard any noise from the other guests. Bar Harbor has so many things to do. We did a horse drawn carriage ride, a hike in the park, whale watching, and ate fresh maine lobster. We also recommend visiting ImprovAcadia, and All Fired Up.
We had never stayed at a bed and breakfast before, but we definately will again. We had such a romantic, relaxing, and perfect honeymoon. (And we didn't break our bank doing it!)

  • Liked — Beautiful house and rooms. Great location.
  • Disliked — No phones or televisions in the rooms.
  • Tips/Secrets — By staying here you can walk to almost any location, limiting parking agrevation.
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank timsgirl1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2006

My husband and I wanted to stay at a small bed and breakfast rather then at a crowded hotel, so based on the online reviews we chose the Black Friar Inn. The inn is conveniently located just minutes away from the city center, the room was very clean, and Sharon's cooking was out of this world. I mean, seriously - the best breakfasts we've had in a long time. If we ever visit Bar Harbor again, we will definitely have to stay at the Black Friar Inn.
Thank you for everything, Sharon.

Petra & James
Brooklyn, NY

Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelers2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 21 August 2006

We had high expectations for the Black Friar Inn given the glowing reviews we read, but our actual experience there was even more special than we had anticipated. It's a beautiful historic B&B with all sorts of extra touches that set it apart from others. Its location is within steps to the waterfront, shopping and dining. What makes this place really unique is the innkeeper, Sharon, who went above and beyond with her gracious hospitality and friendly helpfulness.

We would highly recommend the Black Friar Inn and will definitely return!

Thanks again Sharon for making us feel right at home.

Alicia & Patrick
Ontario, Canada

  • Stayed July 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pstickland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newington, CT
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 August 2006

We had a great 3 day weekend thanks to Sharon & Perry at the Black Friar Inn. This place is beautiful, emaculate and oh so very comforting. The location is perfect, just a few minutes' walk to the shops, water and restaurants. Also just a bike ride away (or a short drive) to Acadia national park. We were in Bar Harbor for a wedding which left little time to explore, but Sharon gave us some really great tour tips and short cuts to making the most out of our time...and we did! Whenever in Bar Harbor again we will be staying at The Black Friar Inn. The delicious home cooked breakfasts each morning got the day off to a wonderful start as well. Very enjoyable...can't wait to come back.

Helpful?
1 Thank bfeelinfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.1 mi away
The Central House
The Central House
#30 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Elmhurst Inn
The Elmhurst Inn
#21 of 30 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
0.2 mi away
Primrose Inn
Primrose Inn
#7 of 30 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Shore Path Cottage
Shore Path Cottage
#19 of 30 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.2 mi away
Anne's White Columns Inn
Anne's White Columns Inn
#27 of 30 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mira Monte Inn
Mira Monte Inn
#12 of 30 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Friar Inn and Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Friar Inn and Pub

Property: Black Friar Inn and Pub
Address: 10 Summer St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1424
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Black Friar Inn and Pub is a hidden gem; once you find it we guarantee you will be back! Our three story building is mostly constructed from materials salvaged from the mansions that burned in the great fire of 1947. All of the finishing work in the Blackfriar was once part of the time when the steamboats greeted our shores and Bar Harbor was called Eden. Although there doesn't seem to be any new ghost here, you will occasionally feel residual energy coming from all around you. Especially if it's nighttime. And you're here. By yourself. Don't be frightened off, when you walk in our friendly and super accommodating staff is there to greet you, get you settled in and feeling at home. Chef Don does a superb job in our cozy kitchen whether you feel like a burger or a fine bottle of wine with a perfectly cooked steak. Jenny, Michelle, Taylor and Brittany are very capable barmaids with dynamite personalities and lots of specialty drinks to try. Fryer Tom is the heart of the Friar, the owner and innkeeper, he is laid back and has a wonderful hands-on approach to ownership. We are happy family here at the Blackfriar so come by, take a tour, grab a beer and let us make you feel like part of it! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Black Friar Inn And Pub Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing