We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely and Charming-Beautiful Location”
Review of Inn at Bay Ledge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Inn at Bay Ledge
Ranked #10 of 30 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely and Charming-Beautiful Location”
Reviewed 12 November 2013

This is one of the most charming inns with a spectacular view. If you're heading to Bar Harbor--this should be your first choice as the inn is really special. The attention to detail shows in everything innkeepers Jeani and Jack and their staff do. Our breakfasts were delicious and so nicely presented, cozy fireplaces were lit for a chilly evening and plenty of comfortable places to read and relax both indoors and out. These innkeepers have taken care of the details to make a perfect getaway. Comfortable guest room with lush bedding and beautiful views of the water. Precious Pearl the dog may be the sweetest and most cuddly animal ever to grace an inn! You can't help but want to take her home! Be sure to take the steps down to the water and visit the caves and walk the beach during low tide. Thanks to Jack for sending me to just the right place to take home lobsters for dinner that evening.

Room Tip: Stayed on the first floor in a large room with big windows overlooking the porch and the water beyon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cyndi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    307
    28
    7
    4
    3
See reviews for
23
272
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Gill, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We chose to go back to bay ledge for our 25th wedding anniversary after having spent our honeymoon there. The new owners,Jack and Jeani, were so welcoming and made us feel very comfortable during our stay. The breakfast were great! We also loved the festive atmosphere as they were decorated for the the fall season and halloween. The staff were also very friendly and welcoming,especially Shelia and Lucia. We stayed in one of the cabins and loved it. Everything is deserving of 5 stars! We would definitely stay here again when in Bar Harbor.

Room Tip: cabin rooms are very private
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debbie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We have stayed a the Inn at Bay Ledge twice now -- last year and this year -- and we absolutely love it. We stayed in room number 8 -- which opens to a private patio and a gorgeous view of the water. We closed the Inn down for the season in late October -- but our hosts Jack and Jean and staff could not have been more hospitable and welcoming. The breakfasts were all stellar, the inn is cozy and warm with a fire after a day of hiking and biking. And.. the rooms well -- just a great setting to get a good nights sleep, an afternoon nap, or to cozy up with a book. This will always be our "Go To" place when visiting Acadia.

Room Tip: We love Room number 8 for the great views and private balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanaTravels2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

This B&B was the final stop of my fall color trip of New England, and it perfectly ended a lovely trip. Everything on this property is purposefully and beautifully done. If you think, I wish I had a "_____" right there, guess what, it's right there! From the chairs at the end of the walk to the location of the glasses in the bedroom, everything is exactly where it should be. This makes the place feel like "your place" rather than belonging to someone else. The natural beauty is evident everywhere, and it is complimented by the fantastic linens, antiques, and furniture. If you are looking for an incredibly restful place to stay that makes you feel like a million bucks, this is a great choice.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LPTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cypress, Texas, USA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2013

A National Registry Inn that did NOT disappoint. The Innkeeper's Jack and Jeanne are two of the most hospitble people i've met. We stayed 3 nights in the Moose Cottage and it was quaint, clean, serene with lush linens and great breakfast fare. Jeanne does the cooking while Jack entertains the guests. Pearl the Labradoodle greets all the guests with a friendly tail tag. The beach is privately accessible to guests and Cleopatra's Eye is a spectacular thing to see in the early morning/evening. I wish I could rate this lovely place higher!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis, MO
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

The spectacular view from our room (#8) greeted us every morning when we woke up. Alternatively you can relax on the room’s large private deck complete with push button/automated sun canopy and comfy chairs. Both provided wonderful opportunities for rest and reflection. The location was perfect, just a few minutes from the gate of Acadia but outside of town and away from the parking issues, noise and crowds that is downtown Bar Harbor. Yet getting to town was just a short drive. The room was large, the king sized bed was comfortable with its feather down mattress topper. The innkeepers were even kind enough to provide fragrance-free bedding/towels which, believe me, can make or break a vacation when you’re asthmatic. The staff was incredibly helpful in finding good restaurants. They were also helpful in suggesting alternatives to Acadia given that we were visiting during the government shutdown and the Park was closed for some of the week we were there. On a non-Acadia day we recommend hiking out to Indian Point; a beautiful stroll through the forest where you can really absorb the silence and take in the beauty of the local ecosystem. Also, drive into Acadia in the middle of the night. We saw an amazing array of wildlife that hides during the day including porcupine. As for the B&B, the only shortcoming (if you can even call it that) are the breakfasts which we found to be lovely to look at and quite tasty yet very small in overall quantity; not nearly large enough for my husband nor did they contain enough ‘stick to your ribs’ choices. We found that almost every day we had to seek out ‘second breakfast’ at one of the local eateries which was not entirely a bad thing. The B&B’s grounds are nearly as lovely as the interior. Just a quick stroll across the back lawn and you’re at a comfortable granite outcropping with a bench and a wide view of the water. Take the stairs down to the private beach at low tide to search for sea glass and smell the salt air. Overall I would have no problem recommending this B&B to anyone.

Room Tip: Room #8 provides the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mad_low
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middleton MA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 October 2013

This was our first time at Inn at Bay Ledge. I booked a cottage for Columbus weekend for my husband as a birthday gift. The minute I arrived, I knew that I had made a great choice. The staff was very friendly and informative, pointing out points of interest on a map that was given to us when we arrived. The cottages and rooms were beautiful and very clean and comfortable. (Extremely important as I have issues with cleanliness). Everything was top notch from the rooms and staff to the wonderful breakfast served each morning. The owners were such gracious hosts. My husband and I really enjoyed speaking with Jack and after scouring their beautiful beach for sea glass each morning, I enjoyed sharing what I found with Jeanie and Lucia who have now turned me into a sea glass collector!! Loved everything about my stay!!! We can't wait to go back once it reopens in May 2014.

Room Tip: I stayed in the cottages and was very comfortable. I looked around the rooms at the main house and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toni R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.8 mi away
Best Western Acadia Park Inn
3.5 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
4.8 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,659 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
620 reviews
1.7 mi away
Coach Stop Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Bay Ledge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Bay Ledge

Property: Inn at Bay Ledge
Address: 150 Sand Point Rd, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-7564
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Inn At Bay Ledge Hotel Bar Harbor
Inn At Bay Ledge Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing