We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Inn with stunning view”
Review of Inn at Bay Ledge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Inn at Bay Ledge
Ranked #10 of 30 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Wonderful Inn with stunning view”
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed with Jack and Jean at the end of our almost three week trip to New England. What a finale! J and J (and all their wonderful staff - not forgetting Pearl their gorgeous dog) make this a fantastic place to stay. Jack is a great host and Jean's breakfasts are wonderful. The views from the verandah are stunning. We had room 8 which has a deck overlooking the bay which was beautiful. The inn is close to Acadia National Park, and not too far from Bar Harbor where there are many great places to eat. Do not hesitate to book your stay here.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sharon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    313
    28
    7
    4
    3
See reviews for
24
277
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brewster, New York
1 review
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Amazing B and B! The views were amazing. The grounds and inside of the inn were very clean. I'm always concerned about how the bathroom is going to be, but it was cleaned to look brand new. The owners Jack and Jean were very nice and down to earth. Jack has great knowledge of the area and Jean is an AWESOME cook! Best waffles I ever had! The staff is very polite. It is the perfect place to stay being five-ten minutes away from the heart of town. It's peaceful and tranquil. If you're planning a trip to Bar Harbor I would highly recommend staying at the Inn at Bay Ledge.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Daryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

Beautiful B&B near Acadia National Park. Perfect views, outside chairs scattered to catch the views. Friendly couple owning it, sweet dog. Delicious breakfasts before you go off on your day. There are many places to stay in Bar Harbor-most not this expensive.....yet the Inn came highly recommended and for a couple who don't particularly like the bed and breakfast feel-we had a wonderful stay with delicious views and food to boot. So close too for our hikes in Acadia and visiting the scene in Bar Harbor.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Outside4us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We have stayed at the Inn now on 3 occasions spanning 7 years and with each visit we have had a consistently excellent experience. This is due to Jack, Jean, and their staffs commitment to quality and providing guests a friendly, relaxing environment. Make no mistake this is not an Inn for people looking for every possible amenity and having whims catered to 24/7. That said the Inn is very unique with respect to its pastoral setting on the bay, beautiful gardens, private beach, and an environment that seems to pull stress right out of your body. Jack and Jean are consummate hosts, very knowledgeable about the area, and significantly enhance the where to go what to see aspect of a vacation. Breakfasts, created by Jean, are superb and served in human portions, don't expect to belly-up to the trough. For us (George and Eva), no trip to Acadia would be complete without a stay at the Inn.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseville, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

My husband and I stayed in Oct for our anniversary in the Summer cottage. Boy what a beautiful place. Sitting on the bluff looking out was amazing. We saw seals and porpoises form the bluff. The fall colors and cool breeze were an added bonus. Breakfast was different every morning. Our host Jack and Jean were wonderful.

Room Tip: The summer cottage is beautiful and quite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shutterbug40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

This Inn gives you the best of everything. It has its own sanctuary for viewing seals and porpoises, a private beach area for collecting sea glass and watching the lobsterman. You have the resources of Jack and Jeani that have over 25 years of experience in the area so you don't miss any places to eat or see. The location is close to Acadia and Bar Harbor yet far enough away from the crowds. As a side note the rooms are great as are the breakfasts. We stayed 5 nights that went by way to quick. We will try to get back here.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I can't tell you how wonderful our stay was with Jack and Jeani! The inn was beautiful, and provided a perfect home base for our time in the region. And my 10-year old was mesmerized by the location and setting (the beach!!!), but was just as enthralled with Jack's stories (he kindly took time to visit with both of us!).

When (not if) I return it'll be with all my boys...and we can't wait!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lila H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Acadia Park Inn
3.4 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
4.0 mi away
Wonder View Inn
Wonder View Inn
#28 of 41 in Bar Harbor
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,323 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
649 reviews
4.5 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Bay Ledge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Bay Ledge

Property: Inn at Bay Ledge
Address: 150 Sand Point Rd, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-7564
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Inn At Bay Ledge Hotel Bar Harbor
Inn At Bay Ledge Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing