We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Waste of Money”
Review of Inn at Bay Ledge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Inn at Bay Ledge
Ranked #10 of 30 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Danbury, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Waste of Money”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I normally do not write reviews, but considering the price, I felt taken advantage of and wish there had been more honest reviews for this place.

I was excited to stay at this B&B because of the great reviews and the pictures on their website. I was extremely disappointed as soon as I checked in.

The grounds are not maintained as expected. The enclosed front porch seemed to be used for storage, and there is a hole with an old dresser in it in the front yard! The pool needed to be cleaned as was not heated.

We stayed in the Deer Cottage, which has NO ocean view, and the “private” porch is attached to the neighbors. The room was small, with no fridge and no TV. There is a window unit for AC, which is noisy and kept us up all night. The bathroom is tiny. The shower is so small you can barely turn around in it.

The average guest age was mid 60’s and there seemed to be no privacy in the main house. It was awkward to try to enjoy the pool or the porch because it seemed like guests and owners are watching you.

The breakfast was tiny. First, they let you choose from boxed cereal (Fruit loops/apple jacks), dyed hard-boiled eggs, and coffee/tea. Then the cook brings you the “entrée,” which consists of a muffin, a pop-over/mini quiche, and about ¼ cup of fruit. The muffins were delicious, but the rest was mediocre. Be prepared to go out for breakfast as soon as you finish eating at the B&B.

The cliff down to the beach was magnificent, probably the only redeeming aspect and Ellen was a sweetheart.

If I could do it again, I would stay in downtown Bar Harbor at a cheaper place that’s probably the same quality.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Car G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    307
    28
    7
    4
    3
See reviews for
23
272
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boston
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

Highly recommend this quaint B&B. Jack, Jeannie, Pearl, Lucia and Sheila are wonderful hosts, never mind that the breakfast is to die for. It is a great getaway and the location is perfect for those that do not want to be in the middle of all the action.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank meodense
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bayledge, Owner at Inn at Bay Ledge, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Thank you and all of our guests who have taken the time to recognise the Inn at Bay Ledge. Everyone takes great pride in the inn and the comfort of our guests! And it does take a team, and we have a wonderful team. Thank you so much for the praise! Jack, Jeani, Sheila, Ellen, Lucia, Barbara, Robert and Pearl!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockford, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

My husband and I were fortunate to rent the summer cottage at this fabulous inn. The cottage is darling with a lovely view and incredible comfort. It feels like home and we hate to pack up and leave tomorrow. Jack and Jeanie along with their staff have been very friendly, helpful and kind. You feel like family but are treated like royalty! We have experienced four breakfast which have all been presented very artistically and each dish has delighted our taste buds. The afternoon tea treats have also been outstanding and really hit the spot after a long day being a tourist. Everything about our stay has been delightful.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeniseRMyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burke, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We have had the pleasure of staying at the Inn at Bay Ledge for many years, and have always had a wonderful time! Jack, Jeanie , and their outstanding staff make it the perfect place to relax and experience the unique beauty of Acadia. Jeanie is well known for her amazing goiurmet breakfasts, and Jack always has a tip for new restaurants to try or attractions to visit, and will happily help you plan your day! The Inn at Bay Ledge is beautiful, the setting is perfect, the rooms are well-appointed and very clean, and it's a short drive to the spectacular views and hiking trails of Acadia. It is most definitely a little bit of paradise!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare and Jack M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed with Jack and Jean at the end of our almost three week trip to New England. What a finale! J and J (and all their wonderful staff - not forgetting Pearl their gorgeous dog) make this a fantastic place to stay. Jack is a great host and Jean's breakfasts are wonderful. The views from the verandah are stunning. We had room 8 which has a deck overlooking the bay which was beautiful. The inn is close to Acadia National Park, and not too far from Bar Harbor where there are many great places to eat. Do not hesitate to book your stay here.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sharon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brewster, New York
1 review
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Amazing B and B! The views were amazing. The grounds and inside of the inn were very clean. I'm always concerned about how the bathroom is going to be, but it was cleaned to look brand new. The owners Jack and Jean were very nice and down to earth. Jack has great knowledge of the area and Jean is an AWESOME cook! Best waffles I ever had! The staff is very polite. It is the perfect place to stay being five-ten minutes away from the heart of town. It's peaceful and tranquil. If you're planning a trip to Bar Harbor I would highly recommend staying at the Inn at Bay Ledge.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Daryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

Beautiful B&B near Acadia National Park. Perfect views, outside chairs scattered to catch the views. Friendly couple owning it, sweet dog. Delicious breakfasts before you go off on your day. There are many places to stay in Bar Harbor-most not this expensive.....yet the Inn came highly recommended and for a couple who don't particularly like the bed and breakfast feel-we had a wonderful stay with delicious views and food to boot. So close too for our hikes in Acadia and visiting the scene in Bar Harbor.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Outside4us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.8 mi away
Best Western Acadia Park Inn
3.5 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
4.8 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,661 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
621 reviews
1.7 mi away
Coach Stop Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Bay Ledge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Bay Ledge

Property: Inn at Bay Ledge
Address: 150 Sand Point Rd, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-7564
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Inn At Bay Ledge Hotel Bar Harbor
Inn At Bay Ledge Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing