We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It doesn't get any better than this!”
Review of Inn at Bay Ledge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Inn at Bay Ledge
Ranked #10 of 30 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2009

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights for our anniversary and couldn't be happier. The hosts were wonderful, and Jeani's breakfasts were out of this world. (I was missing my dogs at home, so was pleasantly surprised to see that they had two of them here!) The house and property were impeccable, with nice decor, plenty of chairs inside and out for relaxing, and a nice selection of books (and menus!) at your disposal. We stayed on the first floor in the main house, just across from the sauna, wih a nice view of the ocean. There is a leisure room upstairs with a TV, but who wants to watch TV when you have views like this?

A short walk down the lawn brings you to a small sitting area at the edge of the cliffs, where we'd sit and have our coffee in the morning or wine in the evening while listening to the ocean waves and watching kayakers pass by. A steep set of stairs takes you to the ocean level, where you can see the caves and search for seaglass.

The location was great - very peaceful and private, but only 10 minutes to town. Whenever we return to Bar Harbor we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charpfox1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (369)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

341 - 347 of 369 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2009

The Inn at Bay Ledge encompasses everything that a B&B should be. Jack and Jeani are great hosts and made our stay very memorable. We stayed in the cottages across the street which we found to be a great value.

Thank dhagg23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2009

My wife and I visited from Boston for only 1 night, but were so impressed - we vowed to always stay here in the future. The owners were very nice and the scenery was breathtaking. Very private but still a short trip to town. 5min.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wilfly01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2009

We have just returned from our trip to Bar Harbor and our stay at the Inn at Bay Ledge -- and we are quite unhappy to be back home!!! We fell in love with the Inn immediately upon our arrival. The view from the porch is stunning. The room was private and lovely. The breakfasts were delectable. And our hosts, Jack and Jean, were fantastic -- along with Woody (the standard poodle). We can't wait to return as we have literally found heaven on earth!
Jessica & Dave Pedersen

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jessicap79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2009

Yes to everything everyone else said; here's some different stuff:
1. The location 10 minutes outside of Bar Harbor is better than staying in Bar Harbor.
2. The wood steps down the cliff-face to the water are neat.
3. Hundreds of thousands of smooth stones on their beach.
4. Starfish at extreme low tide.
5. The tide "clock" is very useful.
6. A different kind of rock/cliff than anything found in Acadia National Park.
7. No fish/minnows to look at in any of these Maine waters (kinda boring water).
8. The deck is very long and comfortable with a pretty water view.
9. The breakfast room is bright, light and sun filled.
10. Plenty of books to be borrowed.
11. Lots of Maine guidebooks around.
12. The whole place is spotless.
13. Jack does most of the socializing, Jean the cooking.
14. Jack is easy to talk with.
15. Jean makes some really good (Martha Stewart type) baked goods.
16. We liked the fancy (albeit light and healthy) breakfasts but still garnered a real hankering for some good old fried eggs and bacon.
17. Hot tea is available all the time.
18. There is a TV but there are none in the rooms.
19. Sarah Jessica Parker, Ray Romano and Robert Downey Jr. have stayed here.
20. Quiet.
21. I had cell service, my wife did not.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deathroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2009

My husband and I stayed for four days at the Inn during our Maine vacation. The location is so beautiful and well kept. Only a few minutes from down town Bar Harbor and still close to the inland shops to save some money. Our room in the cabin across the street was nicely furnished and very clean. Jack and Jean are wonderful people and gracious hosts. They are happy to advise and assist, or give you space if you would prefer. Breakfast was wonderful and not too heavy. The hired help was just as polite and helpful as the hosts. About the only thing we could have wished for was a TV in the room for relaxing and weather checks. Internet access is available on site with a beautiful view to boot. No cell phone service, but drive a few miles down the road toward town and you can make all the calls you need. There is a phone at the Inn for local calls. The caves and shore are gorgeous! Everyone is polite and rather than treating you like a 'tourist' you are treated as a welcomed guest.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yidori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2008

Our stay at Bayledge was everything we hoped it would be... The room was comfortable (and beautiful). I just wanted to stay on the deck ALL DAY. Breakfast in the morning was exceptional - (ask about the flamingo eggs) and after breakfast we explored the private beach and Indian Caves. When we were shopping in Bar Harbor we followed the Innkeepers recommendations for home made coconut ice cream from one of the shops on main street and an amazing pizza at Rosalie's. We will definitely go back to Bayledge.

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank newenglandroamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
3.4 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
4.8 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#5 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,387 reviews
4.6 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#8 of 41 in Bar Harbor
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#10 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,775 reviews
1.7 mi away
Coach Stop Inn Bed and Breakfast
4.3 mi away
Saltair Inn Waterfront B&B
Saltair Inn Waterfront B&B
#3 of 30 in Bar Harbor
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Bay Ledge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Bay Ledge

Address: 150 Sand Point Rd, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-7564
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range: £72 - £271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Inn At Bay Ledge Hotel Bar Harbor
Inn At Bay Ledge Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing