We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Thomas Kinkade Experience”
Review of Ivy Manor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ivy Manor Inn
Ranked #18 of 30 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bar Harbor, Maine
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A Thomas Kinkade Experience”
Reviewed 10 June 2013

After my return to Maine from California, I decided to have breakfast one morning at this small B&B. Standing in front of this place is like stepping into a Thomas Kinkade painting. By the way, the breakfast is open for everyone, not just guest, some people walk by thinking that, but that's not true. They also serve dinner and have a cocktail bar on certain nights for the public. Anyway, I had the pancakes, which were really good and had fresh blueberries and the coffee good. You get a french press, so you can always refill your cup whenever needed. It's almost like being in a small Paris cafe. I loved sitting outdoors where the leaves blocked the sun and allowed me to enjoy the cool air. The cocktail bar has a great selection of drinks and it's very cozy and intimate. This is not your redneck bar experience!!! Ivy doesn't have many bar fights, so this is a good place to avoid those. The owners are very nice and welcoming. They just brought the place and I love what they've done to the place. The breakfast and drinks and reasonable priced. I look forward to many more visits.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brendan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    12
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
12
68
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

My husband and I came here for one night of our honeymoon and we loved it. The inn looks like an old English cottage, complete with ivy. Our room was very comfortable and had a nice fireplace that took the chill off fast. The owner greeted us with champagne and there were 2 cookies waiting in our room. Breakfast was excellent the next morning and the inn is perfectly situated in downtown Bar Harbor. The only downside I can think of is that the shower didn't work very well. It is a claw foot tub fitted with a shower adapter and it just wasn't shuttling enough water to make the shower very enjoyable. Other than that- perfection!

Room Tip: The Moulin Rouge Room is on the back side of the building and seemed very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phenix City
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 June 2013

John and Christine have done a fabulous job transforming the Ivy into a memorable B&B experience. The inn is cozy land quaint like an English cottage. John's stories and pure likableness along with Christine's smile and gourmet breakfasts became the highlight to start each day. My husband would not venture out into Bar Harbor for an early morning activity because he didn't want to miss her breakfast! Their Thurs.-Sat.evening chef was also a great addition, if your looking for someplace with a nice, quiet, and delicious dining experience. Taylor Michael and their morning crew were also excellent at service and friendliness. our experience was lovely!

Room Tip: Don't be afraid to open the windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank race j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilbert, South Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

We stayed at the Ivy Manor Inn in May. It is on Main Street and is convenient to everything. Some of the Inns that stated they were "walking distance to town" were really pretty far out. Even though Ivy Manor is on Main Street, we found it to be extremely quiet. The rooms we had were on the back of the Inn and had a deck where we sat a lot. The rooms are all different and beautifully decorated. There was parking for guests in the back. The price was reasonable.
The owners, John and Christine, made us feel like family. They did everything possible to make sure we were comfortable and happy. They answered all our questions about the town and surrounding areas.
The included breakfast was incredibly good (and different) every morning. We ate in the dining room one night and the chef, Louis, fixed delicious meals for us, and even brought special seasonings from home because one of us had asked him about fixing salmon a certain way. Everything was wonderful.
When we return to Bar Harbor, we wouldn't think about staying anywhere else!

Room Tip: Most rooms are on the back and are really quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gwensullivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

The inn hosted our wedding and reception and did an amazing job. Everything was perfect, the food was excellent, and the staff friendly and accommodating. I would recommend this inn to anyone visiting the area!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013

Just had my destination wedding at the Ivy Manor and it was incredible! The owners, John and Christine, helped with so much that we could never have had our special day without them. I now consider them friends and hope to come back for many anniversary trips. Beautiful inn, exceptional food, and wonderful people! You could not ask for a better place to be married!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cambria605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
Reviewed 29 April 2013

The Ivy Manor Inn was an excellent place to stay. As soon as we walked in the door one of the owners, John, greeted us and not only showed us around the place, but also carried our bags in from the car and made us feel very welcome. He was very thorough when telling us about the inn and our room, and they left cookies out that were to die for, some of the best my wife an I have ever eaten. After getting settled in John was kind enough to give us a description of the area restaurants and directed us to one of his favorite establishments. We were a little disappointed that the restaurant at the Ivy Manor was not operating yet, as they have brought in a new chef this season with the promise of top notch gourmet food. John's recommendation for dinner was spot on, and we experienced a great meal. The following night the Ivy Manor hosted a wedding, and even though John and his wife Christine were incredibly busy tending the needs of the wedding, they were still extremely attentive to us, even going so far as to move some of the guest from part of the home so it was quiet for us to get some rest.

The rooms were very well kept, and romantic. There was a fireplace in our room, and with the cooler weather, it not only set the mood, but warmed the room up rather nicely. The bathroom was exquisite with an old cast iron tub and plenty of room. We also had a nice spot on the deck in the back to relax.

If the breakfast in the mornings is any sign of the food that will be coming out of the kitchen once the restaurant opens, the Ivy Manor will soon be the hottest spot for dining in Bar Harbor. We were served a delicious quiche that was moist and delicious. Additionally, since we had to leave early on Sunday John and Christine made sure that we had delicious scones and fresh fruit for the ride to the airport.

Overall, the Ivy Manor Inn is a great place to stay for a romantic couple, or a family, or anyone looking for a great place to stay, with fantastic hosts, and great food, THIS IS THE PLACE!!!!!

Room Tip: We stood in Room 5, and it was absolutely perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.1 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,229 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,638 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#18 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Balance Rock Inn
Balance Rock Inn
#23 of 41 in Bar Harbor
456 reviews
0.1 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#10 of 41 in Bar Harbor
344 reviews
0.1 mi away
Moseley Cottage Inn and Town Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ivy Manor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivy Manor Inn

Property: Ivy Manor Inn
Address: 194 Main St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1742
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Tudor style inn is located on Main Street in the lovely town of Bar Harbor, ME. Shopping is right outside our front door and the entrance to Acadia National Park is only two miles away. Whether you visit in the spring, summer or fall the flowers will be in bloom. All eight (9) rooms are uniquely designed with imported tiles from London and the classical decor gives each room an elegant warm feeling. Quaint outside balconies, fireplaces and all the amenities you expect adorn our rooms. We provide our guests with a full breakfast every morning in one of two dining rooms, or choose to dine outside on our patio. Pascone'st Ristorante is a casual Italian dining experience and is open daily to the public for dinner along with our cozy lounge. We look forward to serving you at the Ivy Manor Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Ivy Manor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ivy Manor Hotel Bar Harbor
Ivy Manor Inn Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing