We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect place in town - LOVED it” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ivy Manor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ivy Manor Inn
Ranked #20 of 31 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect place in town - LOVED it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

I can't say enough good things about this beautiful place right on Main St. - yet quiet and comfortable. Great, comfy bed, nice outdoor decks/sitting areas, the whole place is lovely. The owners are extremely friendly and helpful. The freshly made breakfast each morning was delicious. Perfect location to walk to shops etc.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank melodyjoyboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    12
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
11
67
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

Returning from a road trip to Canada we decided to spend a night in Bar Harbor Maine. We happened on the Ivy Manor B&B on Main Street which has to be the best we have ever stayed in. The owners go out of their way to make you feel at home. The breakfasts were incredible. We stayed an extra night it was so good

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Captnmikey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

How lucky we were to find this charming inn! It is easy walking distance to the surrounding downtown shops. Outside has an open and pretty garden area for cocktails and snacks with an inside bar and Michelle's Fine Dining restaurant. Owners John and Christine Poole are friendly and accommodating, and Christine makes a delicious breakfast every morning. The bed was quite comfortable and there was plentiful hot water for the claw foot tub. Highly recommended!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank damadelacasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte NC
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

We chose to stay at Ivy Manor because of the reviews on Tripadvisor. There are somethings that are very good about this B&B and some things were a disappointment. The location is perfect and is located right on Main St and walking distance to restaurants and shops. The owners, John and Christine are very friendly. We stayed two nights in a quiet king size room with a fireplace that had a porch with two chairs and a table. The bathroom was nice except there was no place to put things. We ended up putting our things outside the bathroom on a table. It might be helpful to have a shelf in the bathroom and that problem would be solved. We were told that breakfast was served only between 8-9am although the sign in the bedroom had longer times. Our first morning breakfast consisted of coffee and juice, a square of baked French toast and one sausage link. The next morning we had a caprese omlet, one slice of toast and one sliced strawberry. This seems very different from previous reviews. Compared to many B&B's we have stayed at, this was just okay. One thing that was a concern was that the wall lights were not on our entire stay on the stairs or hallway, day or night! There was only one table light on upstairs and was not enough to light the stairs or the hallway. We searched for the light switch but could only find a solid cover plate. This could be a problem trying to navigate down a flight of dark stairs especially at night.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mg523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

It's difficult to imagine a better setting or amenities and the hosts, John and Christine, are simply outstanding in providing unbelievable breakfasts, an unmatched tour of their home and just every kind of tip you could want in maximizing your visit to Bar Harbor.
Our room upstairs was beautiful and spacious and was perfect for relaxing in the evening. The veranda and the back patio are ideal for savoring a glass of wine after a long day of shopping and sightseeing. Definitely coming back!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey A L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Great place to stay!! Nice rooms,some very large, comfortable bed, great location, great staff and friendly. Plenty of parking. Close to Acadia National Park. Most rooms have access to deck. Very nice.

Room Tip: Check the website to choose the room you want
See more room tips
Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

I was in charge of organizing a tour to Bar Harbor for our car club and inquired at several places for a location to hold a Thursday evening welcome reception. We eventually chose the Ivy Manor Inn and it certainly was the right choice! Although the Inn's restaurant hadn't officially opened for the season when we were there, John and Christine went out of their way to organize a wonderful buffet for our group of 40. The food was excellent ... and it just kept coming!! There was absolutely no excuse for anyone to go away hungry! Most of our group had made prior lodging reservations at another location but one couple in our group stayed at the Inn and gave it a wonderful review. The Inn is perfectly located in downtown Bar Harbor, within very easy walking distance of all the shops and attractions. I would HIGHLY recommend the Ivy Manor Inn / Michelle's Restaurant for both lodging and dining if you ever visit Bar Harbor!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BolairBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.1 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,183 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,587 reviews
0.1 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#8 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Balance Rock Inn
Balance Rock Inn
#23 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
1.3 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.9 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ivy Manor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivy Manor Inn

Property: Ivy Manor Inn
Address: 194 Main St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1742
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Tudor style inn is located on Main Street in the lovely town of Bar Harbor, ME. Shopping is right outside our front door and the entrance to Acadia National Park is only two miles away. Whether you visit in the spring, summer or fall the flowers will be in bloom. All eight (9) rooms are uniquely designed with imported tiles from London and the classical decor gives each room an elegant warm feeling. Quaint outside balconies, fireplaces and all the amenities you expect adorn our rooms. We provide our guests with a full breakfast every morning in one of two dining rooms, or choose to dine outside on our patio. Pascone'st Ristorante is a casual Italian dining experience and is open daily to the public for dinner along with our cozy lounge. We look forward to serving you at the Ivy Manor Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Ivy Manor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ivy Manor Hotel Bar Harbor
Ivy Manor Inn Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing