We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ivy manor inn”
Review of Ivy Manor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ivy Manor Inn
Ranked #18 of 30 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
virginia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Ivy manor inn”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

we happened on this inn just by chance and would go back in a heart beat. We started out in the bar and ended up with a wonderful dinner. the owner john, was very friendly and made us want to come back. The food was delicious, using fresh ingredients to make our salmon and shrimp dishes out of this world. We plan to come back and stay at this wonderful tudor inn.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank murphVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    12
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
11
67
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2014

John and Christine along with their team (Amy, Molly and others) do a great job of making their guests feel welcome. They interact freely and appropriately (no creepy over-bearing supervision here) with guests and work to accommodate each request. Breakfasts are gourmet and hearty.
The Inn is located in the heart of downtown Bar Harbor so walking distance from all there is to see and do in town. Getting to Acadia National Park, Cadillac Mountain, and lots of terrific hiking is simple. There is ample parking on-site for guests.
The in-house restaurant (Michelle's) is top notch. Food quality and care taken to prepare it is second to very few.

Room Tip: Explain what your needs are to John or Christine and they'll get you the room you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KCKCKCCCMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

This is the best B&B my wife and I have ever stated it. The location is adjacent to the town square and the breakfast is awesome. The owners go out of their way to make you feel welcome and happily accommodate random requests. My wife and I roasted s'mores around the firepit in front if the inn at night. You will not be disappointed by the level of service you receive. Their customer service is better than the Ritz's!!!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shawn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magnolia, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

The innkeepers, John and Christine are extremely accommodating... anything you need or want, just ask and if it is possible they will find a way! We were a group of four with varying dietary needs. My aunt and uncle eat wheat but only eincorn (ancient form of wheat that's not hybridized) and I am allergic to nitrites/nitrates and can only eat organic, farm fresh eggs. I know, needy, right? Anyway... before booking with them I spoke with John and he said that Christine loves trying new dietary things and would enjoy helping us. We brought along a bag of eincorn and Christine amazed us each morning with specially made breakfasts for our group (on top of the regular breakfast she made for all of her other guests and the inn was full!) That alone was enough to have us all on the Ivy Manor Inn bandwagon. There is a restaurant, Michelle's, within the Inn. I think they are now serving lunch and dinner though we only ever made reservations for dinner. We had dinner there 3 nights and everything we our group ordered was perfection and delicious! They have a brilliant new chef that creates fantastic plates we had the pleasure enjoying. And they have gluten free options for each of the courses on the menu. They have a small but very nice wine list and if you ask, a reserve wine list... we enjoyed both! ;) The inn itself is very clean, well kept, calm (even with two resident children), comfortable and inviting. My husband said repeatedly that it reminded him of inn's in the UK because of the lounge (bar) and seating area. We would wake, enjoy a fabulous (perfectly portioned) breakfast, explore Bar Harbor then come back to freshen up and have a pre-dinner drink in the Lounge where we would find John. John was very entertaining - he's a great story teller and so pleasant... easy to enjoy and hour "lounging" with him!
Ivy Manor Innkeepers, Inn, Lounge & Restaurant = Perfection!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GinaDiane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mayo, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 19 July 2014

My friend and I traveled to Bar Harbor in May 2014 and stayed at the Ivy Manor. The Ivy Manor is in a great location with walking distance to all major areas. The room we had, and the rest of our accommodations, were great; the food was wonderful! If you want to feel like you have been catered to, and have an excellent trip to Bar Harbor, stay at the Ivy Manor. You wont regret it!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shan'na S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flower Mound, Texas
Level Contributor
84 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

July 1 visit. While we can not speak to the Inn, the café associated with the Inn is very enjoyable. Seating was outdoor, just off the Main St sidewalk. Lobster rolls yummy. Adult beverages equally so.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheeshman_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland
1 review
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This is an awesome place to stay in Bar Harbor, right in the center of town. Super cozy, cute, and convenient. It's recently changed owners, and the current proprietors are lovely and very hospitable. We overly enjoyed our stay. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emkings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.1 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,617 reviews
0.2 mi away
Balance Rock Inn
Balance Rock Inn
#23 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#9 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#17 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
1.3 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ivy Manor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivy Manor Inn

Property: Ivy Manor Inn
Address: 194 Main St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1742
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Tudor style inn is located on Main Street in the lovely town of Bar Harbor, ME. Shopping is right outside our front door and the entrance to Acadia National Park is only two miles away. Whether you visit in the spring, summer or fall the flowers will be in bloom. All eight (9) rooms are uniquely designed with imported tiles from London and the classical decor gives each room an elegant warm feeling. Quaint outside balconies, fireplaces and all the amenities you expect adorn our rooms. We provide our guests with a full breakfast every morning in one of two dining rooms, or choose to dine outside on our patio. Pascone'st Ristorante is a casual Italian dining experience and is open daily to the public for dinner along with our cozy lounge. We look forward to serving you at the Ivy Manor Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Ivy Manor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ivy Manor Hotel Bar Harbor
Ivy Manor Inn Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing