We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt like home”
Review of Manor House Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Manor House Inn
Ranked #14 of 30 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lawrenceville, Georgia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Felt like home”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

From the time of our arrival, we were made to feel that we were at home. The common areas were spacious and comfortable, including the front and side porches. We were able to go downstairs and find freshly made snacks all day and the inn was situated in an area that allowed easy walking to anywhere in downtown.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    42
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
36
129
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dresser, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Our group stayed two nights at the Manor House. Not only was it in a beautiful setting - the décor of this inn and the service and food was outstanding. Just a few blocks from the entrance to Acadia National Park, this B&B is well worth the visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lincoln D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susanmagoozen
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We will definitely come back to this lovely place which made our first trip to Bar Harbor so special.
The proprietor was very friendly and helpful with good suggestions and getting us reservations. The location of this place is perfect. You can walk easily to all the restaurants in town but you are just one or two blocks beyond the really busy area. It is very quiet here. We enjoyed having our breakfast and afternoon tea (provided by the hotel) on their spacious and cool front porch. We stayed in the historic main house and loved it. We plan to come here again next year.

Room Tip: We stayed in a very spacious room (#5)in the front with a private bath. Large enough to have a nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susanmagoozen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
80 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Manor House Inn is perfectly located close to town and is on a softly lit street lamp block. In terms of location I thought it was perfect for what my fiancé and I had planned for a birthday weekend. We wanted to be close to Acadia National park so we could wake up and drive the 17mins to Cadillac Mountain for sunrise, we wanted to be able to rent bikes and ride for the afternoon on the carriage trails and enjoy a popover at Jordan House Pond (intermediate ride, some challenging uphills ~10miles one way) and of course enjoy lobster and blueberry pie.

The beds were comfortable and we had a fireplace in both of the rooms we stayed in. The breakfast was also delightful and they had afternoon pastries and tea ready each day. I really enjoyed my experience here, although fairly larger than your traditional B&B and less intimate. But all in all I would recommend a stay here.

In terms of the staff, I only remember Anthony as he was the one to help us to our rooms and introduced himself each night. The rest of the staff I was not able to meet although I did see various folks congregated in the kitchen.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellingbug95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

This July was our third time at the Manor House Inn. We stayed in the Chauffeurs Cottage. and it was perfect...again. The breakfasts and afternoon treats were excellent. Every morning we sat on the beautiful porch and enjoyed our breakfasts. The Manor House Inn is in a perfect location. Just a short stroll from all the activities and restaurants in Bar Harbor and a hop, skip and a jump from Acadia National Park, yet still very peaceful in the evenings.
We will be back, you can count on it!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Studio6A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We had ventured into Maine to camp for a couple of days in Acadia National Park and after spending a hour on the mountain only to find the road closed without warning and long waits in line to get back off because of road paving which was also NOT posted, we were super frustrated and upset with th epark for it's lack of informing visitors of the changes we headed into Bar Harbour in desparation for a place to stay for a couple days. We tried a few places on the main hotel strip..over priced, ugly hotels...so we ventured further into the waterfront area, tried 1 Inn where the man that runs it was completely rude and took phone calls the entire time I was inquiring about staying there, and completely ignored me (I won't mention the Inn as I don't want them to get any sort of name drop as they don't deserve it ;) ) My husband saw a vacancy sign at the Manor House Inn. A gorgeous victorian house with gardens and a veranda that just beckoned to be sat on. I rang the bell as noted on the door, and this lovely smiling woman came to the door. I asked if they possibly had room at their Inn for a couple of days, and she was happy stating that they did and they would be happy to have us. From the moment we walked into the Inn we felt immediately welcome and at home. What a beautiful and comfortable place. The staff are all so helpful and accomodating. I can't possibly say how much we enjoyed our stay here. The grounds are beautiful and you are free to use the house as you may, as well as the common areas. The room was so gorgeous and quaint like stepping back in time, and such a comfortable bed to sleep! The gazebo out back and gardens are calming and we enjoyed our wine there, as well as coffee in the morning on the expansive comfortable veranda. The Inn is a very short walk to all the activities downtown on the harbor front and we didn't even need to use our car. As the parking on the harbour front is limited we were so happy with our location. I can't imagine why anyone would stay anywhere else while visiting Bar Harbour. With all this beauty the breakfast and afternoon tea cannot be over looked, so delicious and all homemade. You will not be hungry here! Love Love Love this Inn...it was definately a highlight of our East Coast Adventure! A+++

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PBean154992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Got in after a long drive from Ogunquit. We were tired and weary and welcomed by the staff here. The place is beautiful and inviting.....staying in a cottage at the back and can't wait for the breakfast in the morning! The cottages are so cute and amazing. King size bed, fireplace for the chilly Maine evenings and a nice sitting area. The grounds have a gazebo and porches are inviting. Can't wait for tomorrow's adventures!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,233 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#17 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,072 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
West Street Hotel
West Street Hotel
#16 of 41 in Bar Harbor
669 reviews
0.4 mi away
Balance Rock Inn
Balance Rock Inn
#23 of 41 in Bar Harbor
456 reviews
1.0 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manor House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor House Inn

Property: Manor House Inn
Address: 106 West St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1856
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manor House Inn is a lovely home located in the West Street historic district of Bar HArbor, Maine. It is just a short walk to the waterfront and waterfront activities, shops, and restaurants. Acadia National Park is just 2 miles from our front door. Our spacious 1 -1/2 acre of grounds contain the five buildings comprising 18 beautiful guest rooms, ample parking and plenty of greenspace to enjoy. A full breakfast is created for you each morning and afternoon treats are served daily from the original 1887 Butler's Pantry. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Manor House Hotel Bar Harbor
Manor House Inn Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing