We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“*** Such a delightful & homey feeling, B&B ***”
Review of Maples Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Maples Inn
Ranked #1 of 30 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 January 2013

Give yourself a wonderful treat by staying at the MaplesInn . Mark, the owner makes you feel like family. His charm , friendliness and happy attitude makes you relax for your vacation . He is always eager to assist in planning out your days in Bar Harbor with helpful tips. The house is adorable ! The rooms are all different and lovely , with very comfy beds. Please don,t miss any of his breakfasts. YUMMY ! Of course the blueberry french toast is a winner .Also he has a special touch with rasberries . Its easy to walk to the center of town to explore. There,s plenty of things to choose from to fill you day . I n the evening , It was nice to unwind while sitting on the porch in the rocking chairs , sipping a chilled glass of wine or two. We can,t wait to return again.

Room Tip: The Silver Maple suite is quiet at the end of the hall. The white birch suite is in the fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theresa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (465)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

367 - 373 of 465 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2012

We stayed at the Maples Inn for 5 nights and enjoyed every minute of our stay. The inn is nicely decorated and very quiet. The breakfasts were all incredible and just what we needed before venturing off to the park. Mark was an amazing host and we hope to return soon.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katielee4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

We stayed at the Maples Inn 2 nights...one night at the beginning of our trip and one at the end and had two different rooms. Both rooms were lovely and comfortable. Mark makes a point to speak to all the guests and be helpful. The Inn is situated on a quiet street and within easy walking distance into town. Clearly a lot of effort goes into making the breakfasts special. My only suggestion would be to allow the guests an opportunity to list any dietary restrictions. My husband has an allergy and I am a vegetarian and that made the first morning's breakfast unedible for us (it was a turkey frittata and it looked fantastic). There was enough other food that we had plenty to eat, but since we did not know until the moment we were served what we were having, we did not have an opportunity to opt out of that part of the meal. So much time and energy was spent making that breakfast for us and we felt awful wasting it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kris10cs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Our two night stay could not have been better. The Inn was everything that you would expect and close to the main downtown businesses. Mark is also the perfect host. He directed us to the best places to eat and the hikes that you would not want to miss. I plan to come back soon.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OhioMarine1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Mark, the owner, is a delightful man that obviously cares about the well-being and happiness of his guests. He takes time showing you the property, always has tea, coffee, and water available for you - and his breakfasts, especially the egg soufle, are first-rate. The Inn is in a historic Victorian house. It is decorated in Victorian antiques etc. The rooms, while not large, are certainly in keeping with the architecture of the house and are immaculately kept. The location is on a quiet side street. This and the incredibly comfortable bed led to some seriously comfortable sleeping. Very highly recommended.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank schurchman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Maples Inn for three nights at the tail end of the season. It was perfect! Upon arrival, Mark had coffee and tea waiting, showed us where he kept the water, where to park, and had numerous recommendations for dinner ready for us. The morning breakfast was lovely- his cuisine certainly lives up to his reviews (though my husband was disappointed we missed the blueberry french toast). Oh, and the location was perfect! You are within walking distance of the town so within five minutes you can be away from the occasional cruise ship hubub. We loved being able to walk to dinner.

I think the nicest part of our stay was how thoughtful Mark was. Every night in our little suite he put a new fire log so that we could enjoy our evenings in the glow of firelight. Mid-afternoon he baked fresh cookies that were quite tasty. He truly gets to know his guests, their interests and has an intimate knowledge of the area which he can offer excellent recommendations. We most definitely would like to stay there on our next trip to Bar Harbor.

Room Tip: The birch suite has the fireplace. The bathroom is small (stall shower) but the quaint quarters mak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank lsquared79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

We had a wonderful four-night stay at the Maples Inn. The queen-size beds are extremely comfortable, the rooms nicely appointed, and the entire inn is attractively decorated. Innkeeper Mark makes delicious breakfasts for his guests, and is eager and well-prepared to give advice on places to eat and things to do, not only in Bar Harbor but throughout Mount Desert Island. The inn's parlor has an extensive library of guidebooks on the natural and cultural history of the area, and Mark has a collection of menus from just about every restaurant on MDI. The inn is well-located, on a quiet side street but within easy walking distance of Bar Harbor's restaurants and shops. The inn's front porch is a wonderful place to gather in the afternoon for a cup of tea or libation, sharing the day's adventures with other guests. When we visit again, we will definitely book there.

Room Tip: The Red Oak has a small bathroom but a lovely outdoor terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.3 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,386 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#10 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,772 reviews
0.1 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#8 of 41 in Bar Harbor
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Stone Throw Cottage
Stone Throw Cottage
#5 of 30 in Bar Harbor
300 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mira Monte Inn
Mira Monte Inn
#12 of 30 in Bar Harbor
650 reviews
0.2 mi away
Primrose Inn
Primrose Inn
#8 of 30 in Bar Harbor
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maples Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maples Inn

Address: 16 Roberts Ave, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1820
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range: £91 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 1903 Bed & Breakfast that invites you to experience Classic Tranquility... Welcome to Maples Inn Bed and Breakfast, a historic "farm Victorian" located in the Village of Bar Harbor, nestled on a quiet, tree-shaded street. At the Maples, you are just a short stroll from the center of town, world-class restaurants, galleries, shops, tours, and museums. Acadia National Park, the "Jewel of the East," lies just a few miles from our doorstep. Built circa 1903, Maples Inn once hosted wealthy Gilded Age visitors to Mount Desert Island. Today, the Maples is your destination for warm and skillful hospitality, a comfortable and relaxing atmosphere, well-appointed guest rooms and suites, and delicious breakfasts with local Maine fare as their focus. At the Maples Inn, we go the extra mile. It's who we are. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Maples Inn Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing