We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top of the line - Best B&B ever”
Review of Maples Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Maples Inn
Ranked #1 of 30 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sor-Trondelag, Norway
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Top of the line - Best B&B ever”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Now I know where to stay next time I go to "Bah Habah". And there will be a next time for sure!!
Excellent room, excellent location, superb host, stunning breakfast, friendly other guests and generally a wonderful atmosphere.
The Wifi signal was a bit weak in my room, but still workable. Only once during my whole stay did I have to go to the beautiful sitting room. :-)

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Henrik K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    347
    17
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
32
262
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

What can I say. The breakfasts were exquisite. The room was on the small side but spotless and comfortable. And the innkeeper, Mark, is a really lovely man with encyclopedic knowledge of the area. He's been in the business for over a decade and that experience shows in his attention to detail. I have absolutely nothing negative to say about this place. We will be back.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Our recent stay at the Maples Inn was outstanding! We arrived early but were allowed to settle in our room way before check-in. The inn has a homey feeling and our room was quite lovely. Good air conditioning and very comfortable queen size bed! Mark was so welcoming and really takes pride in his B&B. The location was perfect, just blocks from the main streets and harbor. Loved the afternoon coffee/tea and sweets. Our relatives were there 25 years ago and recommended this place. It's still wonderful! We would highly recommend the Maples Inn!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesli S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altamonte Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

The Maples Inn is a very comfortable, homey, conveniently located B&B in Bar Harbor, ME. Mark, the owner/proprietor, is very accommodating and a great cook. The rooms are very quiet. We only used our car as you can practically walk everywhere. Mark helped by pointing out great walking and bike trails, restaurants, cruises and other points of interest. Should we return in the future, we know where we'll stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 18Howard18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waltham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
600 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

My partner and I recently stayed at the Maples Inn in Bar Harbor, Maine. What a special treat it was. Most importantly, Mark, the owner, is the nicest person and knows a great deal about Bar Harbor and what to do, eat and which trails are best to take. He also made an amazing breakfast every morning. Thanks to the size of the inn, we met the two other couples staying while we were there and had a great time meeting and conversing with them. If you go to Bar Harbor....CHECK this Inn out! You WON'T be disappointed.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank daksterinwaltham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, Owner at Maples Inn, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for your warm words. As Innkeeper, my goal is to provide my guests with wonderful memories of their visit to Bar Harbor and their stay at Maples Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 5 July 2014

My partner and I recent enjoyed our first time at the Maples Inn and we wished we could have stayed longer!

Mark, the innkeeper, was the best host from the moment we arrived. He spoils you at breakfast with delightful dishes like eggs florentine and pineapple upside down French toast!

His recommendations are also superb! Whether it was which hike to take or where to find the best ice cream he knew!

Our room was the perfect size with a little sitting area where we enjoyed a few glasses of wine at the end of each day.

The location is perfect, right off of Cottage Street and a few blocks from the village green where the Island Explorers depart for destinations all over the island.

We are so glad to have found this gem and cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverview, Florida
Level Contributor
659 reviews
151 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 407 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Quiet comofrtable wonderful host terrific breakfast with blueberry pancakes room very restful and relaxing The room had a very nice window seat and a smaller but nice bathroom. The location is conveninet for walking around Bar Harbor

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stevied888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.3 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,236 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
585 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Moseley Cottage Inn and Town Motel
0.1 mi away
Stone Throw Cottage
Stone Throw Cottage
#2 of 30 in Bar Harbor
254 reviews
5.5 mi away
Coach Stop Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maples Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maples Inn

Property: Maples Inn
Address: 16 Roberts Ave, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1820
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 1903 Bed & Breakfast that invites you to experience Classic Tranquility... Welcome to Maples Inn Bed and Breakfast, a historic "farm Victorian" located in the Village of Bar Harbor, nestled on a quiet, tree-shaded street. At the Maples, you are just a short stroll from the center of town, world-class restaurants, galleries, shops, tours, and museums. Acadia National Park, the "Jewel of the East," lies just a few miles from our doorstep. Built circa 1903, Maples Inn once hosted wealthy Gilded Age visitors to Mount Desert Island. Today, the Maples is your destination for warm and skillful hospitality, a comfortable and relaxing atmosphere, well-appointed guest rooms and suites, and delicious breakfasts with local Maine fare as their focus. At the Maples Inn, we go the extra mile. It's who we are. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Maples Inn Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing