We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic and beautiful honeymoon spot”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ullikana Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #12 of 30 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2014

My husband and I stayed in Room 5 for our honeymoon. I read on tripadvisor that the room had a shared bathroom and booked it anyway. We were pleasantly surprised to learn that the owners built a bathroom in room 5 over the winter. It was perfect. The room was adorable, we loved the decor, and I spent many mornings on the porch reading my book and watching the harbor. The view from that room is great, and it's the same as the view from the outdoor patio where they serve breakfast. The location couldn't be better, as it's tucked away right off the main shopping area and overlooks the harbor.

The owners, Roy and Helene, are the nicest people. All of the staff genuinely cared about what we were doing in Bar Harbor and they were so helpful in finding things for us to do and offering to make reservations. Roy will set you up with some great hikes. The bonus for us was their black lab Louie, the sweetest, chillest dog you'll ever meet. Breakfast was always delicious and wine and cheese in the evenings was lovely. My husband and I will be back for many anniversaries to come and I highly recommend this place, especially room 5.

Room Tip: I said it up top but room 5 has a nice porch that overlooks the harbor.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Krissie5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helene H, Owner at Ullikana Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Thank you so much for the review. We are very happy you enjoyed staying with us. Looking forward to seeing you on many coming anniversaries.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (337)
There are newer reviews for Ullikana Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 337 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2014

The Ullikana is the perfect location in Bar Harbor. It is a very short walk to Main St and all the shops and restaurants there, but it is tucked away in a quiet little nook overlooking the water. Very little noise or traffic from the town itself. We stayed in Room 7 which had a lovely deck overlooking the water and we got plenty of cool breezes up there. Our room also had its own AC system, so we left the doors and windows open during the day but then turned the AC on at night for comfortable sleeping temps (at 7 months pregnant this was KEY for me)! The house itself is warm and inviting and houses an incredible art collection. We loved the mix of funky art with the quaint feel of the house. Roy and Helene are the nicest people and treat you like family. Helene is an incredible chef and breakfast was extraordinary every day. Her fresh out of the oven muffins were out of this world, and she turned simple scrambled eggs into a gourmet treat. We loved every second of our stay there and would never stay anywhere else in Bar Harbor.

Room Tip: Even the smaller, more budget-friendly rooms are extremely well appointed. You don't necessarily...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank 199jessicad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helene H, Owner at Ullikana Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

So happy you enjoyed your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We recently returned from our sixth visit to the Ullikana, and as usual everything was fabulous. Each morning we were treated to one of Helene's terrific breakfasts which we enjoyed leisurely on the patio with a beautiful view ocean view. And the late-afternoon wine and cheese on the patio is a highlight every day. The inn is close to the ocean and to downtown Bar Harbor--a perfect location. If you are new to Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park, Roy will give you expert advice about the things you can do and the great sights you can see. All of the staff are warm and helpful not only with your accommodations but with restaurant tips and reservations. We have stayed in several different rooms over the years, and all are comfortable, quiet, and nicely furnished. We travel the better part of two days to get to Bar Harbor, and it is worth the drive to stay at the Ullikana! We are already booked for next year.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MandP24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helene H, Owner at Ullikana Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Thank you so much. Looking forward to seeing you next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We were greeted by Kathy. She gave us a tour and shared with us some history. A good start to our stay. Each morning begins with Hélène’s delicious, three-course breakfast. Fresh, warm muffins to start. Every effort was made to accommodate my preference for “savory” rather than sweet. As others have mentioned, Roy is very happy to help plan a walk or hike in the park. Cyd is extremely helpful – whether it is to assist with reservations or to make suggestions. Our room (#5) had a new private bath which was lovely. While checking out, we booked our reservation for next year. Like others, we added a night to our stay. We’re looking forward to our next stay at the Ullikana – and many more!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Reader17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helene H, Owner at Ullikana Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Thank you so much for the review. Looking forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

This was our second trip to Maine, but our first to Bar Harbor and I cannot say enough about the Ullikana! It is in a perfect location for both Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park, easy parking, beautiful views, warm and inviting rooms and most of all the most fantastic breakfast! My husband and I loved staying here and will definitely return! Helene's delicious breakfast could only be matched by Roy's spot-on helpful advice for what to do, see and eat while we were visiting the area! Highly recommend staying at this lovely B&B!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Tigerbelle777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helene H, Owner at Ullikana Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

We are very happy you enjoyed your stay. Looking forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

What a beautiful inn. We had a lovely room with a balcony and a view of Frenchman Bay. The hosts and staff were extremely welcoming. The breakfasts were gourmet quality, and the wine get-togethers in the evening friendly and delightful. The inn is located on a quiet street within walking distance of many restaurants and shops, and it is a short drive to the truly outstanding Acadia National Park. We had a wonderful stay at Ullikana and will definitely be back.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Biodyn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helene H, Owner at Ullikana Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

So nice to hear you want to come back

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

This was our second time staying at The Ullikana. Everything about this Inn is absolutely perfect....... the warm and inviting feel, outstanding location and views, incredible gourmet breakfasts, and most importantly the genuine, thoughtful and caring innkeepers, Roy and Helene. We could not ask for a more wonderful place to stey in Bar Harbor. Would highly, highly recommend the Ullikana to anyone looking for a place to stay in Bar Harbor. Thank you Roy and Helene!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miller81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helene H, Owner at Ullikana Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Thank you so much for the kind words

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.2 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#8 of 41 in Bar Harbor
376 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#9 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,733 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#20 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,369 reviews
0.9 mi away
Wonder View Inn
Wonder View Inn
#26 of 41 in Bar Harbor
430 reviews
0.1 mi away
Balance Rock Inn
Balance Rock Inn
#25 of 41 in Bar Harbor
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ullikana Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ullikana Bed and Breakfast

Address: 16 The Fld, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1801
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range: £52 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in a secluded area of the village of Bar Harbor, Ullikana Inn keeps a constant eye on comfort. The terrace overlooks the harbor, and the door is but a minute walk to the center of town, with its shops, restaurants and activities. Park at the Inn, and explore the village with ease. Dramatic colors and sophisticated styling contribute to a sense of liveliness and fun. Guests also enjoy a sumptuous homemade breakfast served on the patio overlooking Frenchman Bay or in the large dining room with views of the terrace fountain. Relax in the afternoon with refreshments as you watch the sailboats and ships come and go in the harbor, or settle into a cozy chair by the fireplace to wind down your day. We are Eddie and Judy Hemmingsen - new owners of Ullikana! Ullikana is undergoing extensive renovations and upgrades for the 2017 season. The decor and colors of many rooms will be all new this season. We aren't new to the innkeeping business. We formerly owned The Bluenose Inn in Bar Harbor and currently own the Belfast Bay Inn in beautiful mid coastal Belfast, Maine. We look forward to meeting you and will do everything that we can to make your stay memorable. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ullikana b&b
Ullikana Hotel Bar Harbor
Ullikana Bed And Breakfast Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing