We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First visit to Acadia”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ullikana Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #11 of 30 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
boston
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“First visit to Acadia”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We were two spry senior couples making our first visit to Bar Harbor & Acadia. Ullikana is a small (8 room) B&B. Our room was lovely, with excellent bedding, spacious bathroom & and a splendid view of beach and harbor. We took delightful breakfasts outdoors in their garden, where several tables for four or so are set for a four course meal: juice (not fresh squeezed), fresh fruit, a super main course (eggs & cheese in a scrumptious crepe basket/ a splendid omelette/ french toast w/ blueberries inside & out, and last, a homemade muffin (apple or peach). Alternatives on request.
The owners and staff are most hospitable, ioffering a precise and professional discussion of
how & where we might spend our time. Walking distance to shopping, pub & fine dining. Free snacks and wine at 5pm happy hour. Friendly clientele.

Room Tip: Avoid the one (cheap) room whose bath is across the hall. We loved #8, probably the most costly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheldon g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helene H, Owner at Ullikana Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
We are so happy that your first visit was successful . We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    285
    16
    9
    3
    0
See reviews for
34
232
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We recently stayed 5 nights at The Ullikana B&B in Bar Harbor Maine. You couldn't ask for a more friendly hosts (Roy and Helene) and service. The breakfast were always different and unique. Always fresh local ingredients. The staff were very pleasant with helpful suggestions for getting the most out of your time seeing the area.
We stayed in the Library Room which is very accomidating on the first floor with your own porch for sitting and relaxing. You also have the library just outside your entrance door. The home is very historical and very well kept. Great views of Bar Harbor. The location is also very convient to all the activities along the water front. We will return!

Jim & Nancy

Room Tip: The Library Room is small but has the easy use of the Library room adjacent and a walk out covered p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1putt2win
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helene H, Owner at Ullikana Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Thank you so much. Looking forward to seeing you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Chester, PA
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

My husband and I recently stayed at the Ullikana B & B in Bar Harbor. Everything was perfect. The inn is an absolutely beautifully restored mansion overlooking the harbor. The innkeepers, Roy and Helene are charming, helpful and welcoming. The rooms are comfortable and beautifully decorated. The delicious breakfast was served on the gorgeous patio overlooking the water. Our hosts even served wine and cheese in the late afternoon. This was a nice opportunity to meet other guests and compare notes on what to see and where to have dinner.

Room Tip: Look on the inn's website. There are pictures of all the rooms and availability for each is sho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corgifanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helene H, Owner at Ullikana Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

The Ullikana is a wonderful place to stay when visiting Acadia. The location is perfect, in town but in a quiet street by the harbor. The rooms are charming and inviting and the bed is very comfortable. The bathroom is clean and nicely stocked with fine toiletries.
The place feels like a beautiful home, very cozy and relaxing. The breakfast is a real treat! The cold plum soup, homemade by Helene was delicious. Also her delicious crepes filled with fresh apples, Eggs sprinkled with cheese and homemade strawberry muffins. Yum!
Roy and Helene were both delightful and very helpful with tips on were to go for the good hikes and activities in the area. You are in town and can walk anywhere and eat in many of the good restaurants in town for lunch and dinner. It is the perfect place to stay while exploring Bar Harbor and Acadia. We hope to visit again!

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chicfemme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helene H, Owner at Ullikana Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Thank you for the kind words. Would love to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watertown, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2014

My husband and I stayed in Room 5 for our honeymoon. I read on tripadvisor that the room had a shared bathroom and booked it anyway. We were pleasantly surprised to learn that the owners built a bathroom in room 5 over the winter. It was perfect. The room was adorable, we loved the decor, and I spent many mornings on the porch reading my book and watching the harbor. The view from that room is great, and it's the same as the view from the outdoor patio where they serve breakfast. The location couldn't be better, as it's tucked away right off the main shopping area and overlooks the harbor.

The owners, Roy and Helene, are the nicest people. All of the staff genuinely cared about what we were doing in Bar Harbor and they were so helpful in finding things for us to do and offering to make reservations. Roy will set you up with some great hikes. The bonus for us was their black lab Louie, the sweetest, chillest dog you'll ever meet. Breakfast was always delicious and wine and cheese in the evenings was lovely. My husband and I will be back for many anniversaries to come and I highly recommend this place, especially room 5.

Room Tip: I said it up top but room 5 has a nice porch that overlooks the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Krissie5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helene H, Owner at Ullikana Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you so much for the review. We are very happy you enjoyed staying with us. Looking forward to seeing you on many coming anniversaries.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 July 2014

The Ullikana is the perfect location in Bar Harbor. It is a very short walk to Main St and all the shops and restaurants there, but it is tucked away in a quiet little nook overlooking the water. Very little noise or traffic from the town itself. We stayed in Room 7 which had a lovely deck overlooking the water and we got plenty of cool breezes up there. Our room also had its own AC system, so we left the doors and windows open during the day but then turned the AC on at night for comfortable sleeping temps (at 7 months pregnant this was KEY for me)! The house itself is warm and inviting and houses an incredible art collection. We loved the mix of funky art with the quaint feel of the house. Roy and Helene are the nicest people and treat you like family. Helene is an incredible chef and breakfast was extraordinary every day. Her fresh out of the oven muffins were out of this world, and she turned simple scrambled eggs into a gourmet treat. We loved every second of our stay there and would never stay anywhere else in Bar Harbor.

Room Tip: Even the smaller, more budget-friendly rooms are extremely well appointed. You don't necessarily...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 199jessicad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helene H, Owner at Ullikana Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
So happy you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We recently returned from our sixth visit to the Ullikana, and as usual everything was fabulous. Each morning we were treated to one of Helene's terrific breakfasts which we enjoyed leisurely on the patio with a beautiful view ocean view. And the late-afternoon wine and cheese on the patio is a highlight every day. The inn is close to the ocean and to downtown Bar Harbor--a perfect location. If you are new to Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park, Roy will give you expert advice about the things you can do and the great sights you can see. All of the staff are warm and helpful not only with your accommodations but with restaurant tips and reservations. We have stayed in several different rooms over the years, and all are comfortable, quiet, and nicely furnished. We travel the better part of two days to get to Bar Harbor, and it is worth the drive to stay at the Ullikana! We are already booked for next year.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MandP24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helene H, Owner at Ullikana Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you so much. Looking forward to seeing you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.3 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,243 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,642 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#17 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Balance Rock Inn
Balance Rock Inn
#23 of 41 in Bar Harbor
456 reviews
1.3 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.2 mi away
West Street Hotel
West Street Hotel
#16 of 41 in Bar Harbor
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ullikana Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ullikana Bed and Breakfast

Property: Ullikana Bed and Breakfast
Address: 16 The Fld, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1801
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in a secluded area of the village of Bar Harbor, Ullikana Inn keeps a constant eye on comfort. The terrace overlooks the harbor, and the door is but a minute walk to the center of town, with its shops, restaurants and activities. Park at the Inn, and explore the village with ease. Dramatic colors and sophisticated styling contribute to a sense of liveliness and fun. Guests also enjoy a sumptuous homemade breakfast served on the patio overlooking Frenchman Bay or in the large dining room with views of the terrace fountain. Relax in the afternoon with refreshments as you watch the sailboats and ships come and go in the harbor, or settle into a cozy chair by the fireplace to wind down your day. We are Eddie and Judy Hemmingsen - new owners of Ullikana! Ullikana is undergoing extensive renovations and upgrades for the 2017 season. The decor and colors of many rooms will be all new this season. We aren't new to the innkeeping business. We formerly owned The Bluenose Inn in Bar Harbor and currently own the Belfast Bay Inn in beautiful mid coastal Belfast, Maine. We look forward to meeting you and will do everything that we can to make your stay memorable. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ullikana b&b
Ullikana Hotel Bar Harbor
Ullikana Bed And Breakfast Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing