We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Won't stay here again”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ullikana Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #12 of 30 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Overall, this might have been a fine stay if we'd had a different room and if it hadn't been overpriced (we stayed for two nights during high season in one of their mid-priced rooms). There are plenty of other good bed and breakfasts in the immediate area and I will be trying a different one next time I visit. My primary issues: noise, smell/service, and lack of attention to details.

NOISE: We stayed in Room 1, which turned out to be very noisy. It is an old building with thin walls and creaky stairs and room 1 is right next to the stairs and maids' closet. That means every guest had to walk by Room 1 to get to theirs. Despite other guests being very quiet, we could hear them until they went to bed (after midnight) and as soon as they started to wake up. The maids started using the closet around 7am and the windows overlooked two different gravel parking lots, which increased the noise even more.

SMELL/SERVICE: When we arrived we noticed the bathroom smelled horrible. They clearly knew there was an issue since they left the bathroom windows (but no others) open to air it out before we arrived and when they cleaned the room. We investigated the problem and found the toilet tank was filled with mold that had clearly been building up for months if not years. We showed them the problem but there was nothing they could do during our stay.

Lack of attention to detail: Breakfast was good, although somewhat slow (took nearly an hour both mornings) and I would have liked more food. The food itself was very tasty though. The wine and cheese happy hour was a nice idea, although I wasn't a fan of the boxed wine that they served. Overall, I feel I would have gotten a better value for my money elsewhere. The best part of this B&B was definitely the location, but there are plenty of other B&Bs within a block radius that don't have the noise and smell issues.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Aman01a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helene H, Owner at Ullikana Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

We appreciate and thank you for your comments.
We will definitely look into the issue of noise from the maid station.
Regarding the second issue, we usually leave the windows open to bring in fresh air, not to cover any smell. Unfortunately, in your situation, we were not made aware of the unpleasant smell until you mentioned it late the day before your departure. We have since then addressed the problem and once again thank you for bringing it to our attention and we are very sorry for the inconvenience.
As far as breakfast is concerned, most of our guests are very happy with the portions but, of course, we are more than happy to accommodate anyone who wants more food or even a different breakfast.
We enjoyed having you both as our guests. We are truly sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay.
Thank you for helping us Improve the quality of our establishment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (337)
There are newer reviews for Ullikana Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 337 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2014

Roy & Helene's place in Bar Harbor defines what a B & B should be. It's a one-of-a-kind place - one of the few cottages (former summer home of the wealthy) that is an oasis from the busy Main Street of BH which it is only a few steps away from. The owners exude the kind of helpfulness and hospitality that makes several guests we talked to return year after year. Helene's cooking is French - light and filling - cooking at its best. Paintings and sculptures of accomplished artists - friends and former guests - compliments the place as does the craft of local carpenters. We - and our friends who stayed in another room - recommend this place unreservedly - and you will need reservations.

Room Tip: View rooms & prices online.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snovato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helene H, Owner at Ullikana Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

A much appreciated review! Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

By far our best B&B experience - ever! We recently celebrated my husband's 60th birthday as well as our 15th wedding anniversary with a short trip to Bar Harbor. We reviewed multiple B&Bs before choosing Ullikana. What a perfect choice! The Inn is beautifully appointed, the breakfasts were absolutely outstanding - not only delicious, but perfectly presented as well. The location is great - steps from downtown, but very quiet and private. We only took our car out once to drive to Acadia, otherwise everything is within walking distance. Roy and Helene (and Louis!) were excellent hosts; offering advice and input on restaurants, sights, etc. without ever being intrusive. Breakfast overlooking the water, refreshments in the afternoon, as well as a lovely group of fellow guests made our stay even better than expected. Our bed was SO comfortable, our room was perfect. Ullikana was everything we hoped and more. Even though it was our first time (definitely not our last), we felt like old friends. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Rooms with out door decks have lovely views and are worth the extra cost
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JSSS302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helene H, Owner at Ullikana Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014

Thank you so much. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed at the Ullikana Inn at the height if high season. We booked late and looked at lots of B&B's online before leaving Canada. The outside pictures are beautiful but the inside ones online do not do it justice. The rooms and decor are really nice, quaint and upscale vintage. The only (slight) downside was our bathroom was outside of our room but it was still private and just steps away from our door. (And we knew that before we booked)
The house is essential right downtown but off on a quiet side street so it doesn't feel like it. It actually feels very peaceful and removed. There is lots of free parking.
The back deck of the house faces the harbor and they serve wine and cheese in the afternoon so you can sit and enjoy the beautiful view. There is also breakfast included which for us was huge! And delicious! We had muffins, fresh fruit and an omelette. These extras make the value for dollar at Ullikana really high!
The owner is very nice, and obviously loves his job. He showed us all sorts of activities we should do in Acadia and how to get there.
Would recommend Ullikana without hesitation if you are ever in Bar Harbor!!!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heather768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helene H, Owner at Ullikana Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

We appreciate your warm words and recommendation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We were two spry senior couples making our first visit to Bar Harbor & Acadia. Ullikana is a small (8 room) B&B. Our room was lovely, with excellent bedding, spacious bathroom & and a splendid view of beach and harbor. We took delightful breakfasts outdoors in their garden, where several tables for four or so are set for a four course meal: juice (not fresh squeezed), fresh fruit, a super main course (eggs & cheese in a scrumptious crepe basket/ a splendid omelette/ french toast w/ blueberries inside & out, and last, a homemade muffin (apple or peach). Alternatives on request.
The owners and staff are most hospitable, ioffering a precise and professional discussion of
how & where we might spend our time. Walking distance to shopping, pub & fine dining. Free snacks and wine at 5pm happy hour. Friendly clientele.

Room Tip: Avoid the one (cheap) room whose bath is across the hall. We loved #8, probably the most costly.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sheldon g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helene H, Owner at Ullikana Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

We are so happy that your first visit was successful . We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We recently stayed 5 nights at The Ullikana B&B in Bar Harbor Maine. You couldn't ask for a more friendly hosts (Roy and Helene) and service. The breakfast were always different and unique. Always fresh local ingredients. The staff were very pleasant with helpful suggestions for getting the most out of your time seeing the area.
We stayed in the Library Room which is very accomidating on the first floor with your own porch for sitting and relaxing. You also have the library just outside your entrance door. The home is very historical and very well kept. Great views of Bar Harbor. The location is also very convient to all the activities along the water front. We will return!

Jim & Nancy

Room Tip: The Library Room is small but has the easy use of the Library room adjacent and a walk out covered p...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1putt2win
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helene H, Owner at Ullikana Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Thank you so much. Looking forward to seeing you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

My husband and I recently stayed at the Ullikana B & B in Bar Harbor. Everything was perfect. The inn is an absolutely beautifully restored mansion overlooking the harbor. The innkeepers, Roy and Helene are charming, helpful and welcoming. The rooms are comfortable and beautifully decorated. The delicious breakfast was served on the gorgeous patio overlooking the water. Our hosts even served wine and cheese in the late afternoon. This was a nice opportunity to meet other guests and compare notes on what to see and where to have dinner.

Room Tip: Look on the inn's website. There are pictures of all the rooms and availability for each is sho...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Corgifanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helene H, Owner at Ullikana Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.2 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#8 of 41 in Bar Harbor
376 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#9 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,732 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#21 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,165 reviews
0.9 mi away
Wonder View Inn
Wonder View Inn
#26 of 41 in Bar Harbor
429 reviews
0.1 mi away
Balance Rock Inn
Balance Rock Inn
#25 of 41 in Bar Harbor
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ullikana Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ullikana Bed and Breakfast

Address: 16 The Fld, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1801
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range: £52 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in a secluded area of the village of Bar Harbor, Ullikana Inn keeps a constant eye on comfort. The terrace overlooks the harbor, and the door is but a minute walk to the center of town, with its shops, restaurants and activities. Park at the Inn, and explore the village with ease. Dramatic colors and sophisticated styling contribute to a sense of liveliness and fun. Guests also enjoy a sumptuous homemade breakfast served on the patio overlooking Frenchman Bay or in the large dining room with views of the terrace fountain. Relax in the afternoon with refreshments as you watch the sailboats and ships come and go in the harbor, or settle into a cozy chair by the fireplace to wind down your day. We are Eddie and Judy Hemmingsen - new owners of Ullikana! Ullikana is undergoing extensive renovations and upgrades for the 2017 season. The decor and colors of many rooms will be all new this season. We aren't new to the innkeeping business. We formerly owned The Bluenose Inn in Bar Harbor and currently own the Belfast Bay Inn in beautiful mid coastal Belfast, Maine. We look forward to meeting you and will do everything that we can to make your stay memorable. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ullikana b&b
Ullikana Hotel Bar Harbor
Ullikana Bed And Breakfast Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing