We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant place to stay across the board”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Acadia Park Inn
Ranked #8 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A pleasant place to stay across the board”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Yes, you pay a premium for hotels near Acadia. We paid about $200/night here. But for that price, we got a simple, clean room with fridge, a very nice breakfast buffet with hot and cold options, all edible. And friendly staff that made it a very pleasant stay. All two miles from the entrance to the National Park. A wonderful jumping off point for four days of exploring the wonders of Acadia. Only possible caveat -- if you want something in town, go elsewhere. This place is just a few miles outside of Bar Harbor proper. High points of Acadia? The rocky coast along the Great Head Trail. A sunset kayaking trip with seals, eagles, and more on the far side of the Island. Scrambling up the rocky trail to Cadillac Mountain, and climbing the ladders of The Beehive Trail. And a night of stars on Sand Beach. All the ranger programs are wonderful, and most are free.

Room Tip: You might want to ask for a room that's not on the road. Most aren't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gbakernyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
acadiajane, General Manager at Best Western Acadia Park Inn, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. I am so happy that you found our location to be handy for your jaunts in the park. Acadia is gorgeous! We are about 2 ½ miles from the entrance and visitor’s center. Downtown is about 4 ½ miles from us. We do love having the Free Island Explorer Shuttle available to guests though, with pick-up in front of our property. Those who wish to leave their vehicle here have plenty of free parking. Our breakfast buffet is hard to beat! Thank you and please pay us a return visit! Regards, Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    771
    363
    85
    16
    10
See reviews for
465
549
38
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wallingford, Ct
1 review
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Very clean, nicely updated, breakfast area and food was very good, but 4-5 mi outside of Bar Harbor. Convenient to Acadia Nat'l Park entrance. Excellent service and easy to find. Wi-fi was very good. If interested in being closer to Bar Harbor, I would stay closer to tow or in-town.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Stephen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
acadiajane, General Manager at Best Western Acadia Park Inn, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Stephen T
Thank you for posting this review of the BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn. We appreciate your staying with us while you were visiting the Bar Harbor area. We are about 2 ½ miles from the Hull’s Cove entrance to Acadia National Park and Visitor’s Center. Downtown Bar Harbor is about 4 ½ miles from us. I am happy that you found our property to be clean and updated. Our new breakfast house and menu is a big hit this season. Thank you and please come again! Regards, Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clinton, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We were traveling with a large group, and chose this hotel because it was considered "biker friendly" and was advertised as such. The staff was pleasant, the rooms looked as though they had been recently renovated and were clean. There was live entertainment on the front lawn for an hour that was enjoyed by a dozen or so. Our only issue is that there was no place on the premises for our group to congregate, so we had to sit in the parking lot. This caused problems for a few of the other guests, (who were staying in rooms adjacent to our group), because they complained of the noise level. We had to be told by the staff to quiet down, (I assure you we were NOT being loud and unruly, NOR were any of our travelers inebriated.) We were told that if we didn't "quiet down" that they would "call the police". And this was before 8:30pm! Either they could have put all of us together in the back of the building, or let us go into the breakfast room in order to congregate. We'd been on bikes all day, and it was nice to be able to sit together and talk. We had several families/groups come over to us that night and the next morning at breakfast to say that THEY did not think we were being too loud, and were surprised that we were "scolded" at such an early part of the evening. What I will say, is that if they don't want groups to book stays there, then DONT advertise for same!! Very disappointed in the attitude of a few of the staff.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
acadiajane, General Manager at Best Western Acadia Park Inn, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Kimberly
I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I wish we had known in advance that your party wished to have a meeting area in which to socialize. Generally we have found the groups to go into town or ride the park. We do have a large area with picnic tables and even a Bar-B-Q set up. You certainly could have gathered there to unwind, stretch and visit with each other. I am sorry that this was not suggested to you. However, the best rooms to have put you in were actually right where you were because the picnic area and the rooms adjacent run parallel to 14 other rooms in a different building and would have generated more noise complaints. We did move a guest who was in the midst of you and they were satisfied. We do not have a liquor license and we cannot allow open beverages outside on the premises nor do we utilize the breakfast room for parties of this type. We will continue to be “Biker Friendly” and follow those guidelines set out for us by Best Western. I do appreciate that many of your group were Best Western Rewards members and we appreciate your loyalty to our brand. Regards, Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

I highly recommend this facility. The staff is very guest-oriented. The complimentary breakfast is really very good. The main breakfast items vary on a daily basis. The hotel is in a very quiet and attractive location. It is away from the hustle of Bar Harbor itself; but still a relatively short ride to town.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank dominicmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
acadiajane, General Manager at Best Western Acadia Park Inn, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
There is not much better a review than to be referred to as "home away from home." Thank you for the great recommendation of the BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn! I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and found our location to be quiet and welcoming. Please stay with us again! Regards, Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We enjoyed our night at this hotel. The staff were so friendly, the room was clean, comfortable and quiet, and the hotel even had an entertainer for an hour on the night we were there; The location of the hotel is very convenient to restaurants and Acadia national park. It was expensive but on par for hotels in this area.

Room Tip: I always ask for a quiet room away from ice and vending machines.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdrienneVS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
acadiajane, General Manager at Best Western Acadia Park Inn, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Adrienne
Thank you very much for this awesome review. I was so pleased that you joined us for the Lee Southard Hour Thursday night. He is quite the one man show! I am happy that you found your room to be clean and comfortable and our location to be good. We are 4 /2 miles from downtown and 2 miles to the Acadia National Park Entrance and Visitor's Center. Please come back again! Regards, Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

I'm 12 years old and I thought this was a nice family friendly place. It's basically a motel with a lobby, free cookies, complimentary breakfast, a heated pool, free wifi and events sometimes. I loved it because it was really close to the mini golf course and kind if close to bar harbor, and who doesn't like FREE cookies, wifi, coffee, and a heated pool? I didn't really care, but my parents seemed to love how close it is to Acadia park. Of course, no hotel is perfect. My least favorite parts were the wretched toilet that flushes like a toilet on the plane (don't know if it was just my room), the walls that seem to have something wrong with them, maybe they're thin or poorly insolated, cause I could hear just about everything my neighbors said and they could hear me, and the very most horrid part was the arachnids. It's CRAWLING with daddy-long-legs! They're outside, but I still hated it. They're on the walls and the ceilings of the little area outside your room and they run I when you open the door, crawl in the ground, one almost dropped on my head! No matter how harmless they are, I hate them. The place is seriously infested and they actually do have a guy who comes to kill them, but he only comes twice a year and there's still a bunch left afterwards. However, all these problems are things I can live with, so I give it an overall 4 star.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lydia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
acadiajane, General Manager at Best Western Acadia Park Inn, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear 12 year old Guest,Thank you very much for this delightful review of our property. Yes, there is the time of year when the Harvestmen pay us a visit. As you said, they are strictly outside and could not care less about people. Personally I am not a fan of spiders but these fellows don’t fall into that category for me. The only thing that worries me is the old wives tale that if you kill one it will bring rain! That may be just something told here in Maine, I am not sure. Anyway, the good news is that they don’t stay long. Also, we do have pest control come every month (just last week, incidentally) and spray for any kind of critter that might come out of the Maine woods except deer, bear, moose, well…you know what I mean. I am not sure about the toilet flushing like on a plane but that does not sound good at all. I will have Kevin take a look at that for sure. I am happy that you enjoyed the cookies and I do hope you were here for popcorn, too! It smells like a movie theater in the lobby around 6 p.m. It sounds like you played some mini-golf, did some swimming in our heated pool, and enjoyed the free fresh baked cookies and enjoyed the breakfast ! I agree, what is not to like about that, huh? (smile) I thank you very much for the 4 star rating and we do hope you come back to see us again!!!! Best wishes to you and the family, Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We stayed two nights at this Best Western Acadia Inn and would highly recommend it!
When we first checked in, the staff at the front desk were very friendly and helpful. Our first room that we were given, however, was very dated and had a distinct bad odour. We called up the front desk and told them about the smell of our room and right away we were given another room, no questions asked and hassle free. This second room ( which was our room for our two night stay) was great! Updated, clean, spacious, and had everything we needed! And to top it off, we were right in front of the public pool!
The continental breakfast was great with lots of options to choose from and was different both days. The location is great because it is close to downtown Bar Harbour, yet not in the middle of the crazy busy streets!
Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauralynn87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
acadiajane, General Manager at Best Western Acadia Park Inn, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Lauralynn
Thank you very much for the recommendation. I apologize for the bad odor that you encountered in the first room. We deduced that it may have been from an ice cooler that leaked water into the carpet due to the spot that we found to be very damp. After a good drying out it had been eliminated. I appreciate your bringing it to our attention so we could deal with that. I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay, the pool and breakfast. That is what it is all about. We think our location is super and I am happy that you agree. Please do come back and see us again! You may also request that second room! Best wishes, Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
3.3 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
4.6 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,291 reviews
4.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#19 of 41 in Bar Harbor
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
627 reviews
3.8 mi away
Wonder View Inn
Wonder View Inn
#29 of 41 in Bar Harbor
391 reviews
3.4 mi away
Acadia Inn
Acadia Inn
#16 of 41 in Bar Harbor
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Acadia Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Acadia Park Inn

Property: Best Western Acadia Park Inn
Address: 452 State Highway 3, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-7213
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Acadia Park Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our property is located back enough from Rt#3 to avoid traffic noise. We have a playground for small children, Bocce for all ages, a S'Mores fire pit with attendant on site evenings. We have park style Bar-B Que s and picnic tables. Lots of green areas for relaxing. We have a badminton area and lawn toys. We offer inside movies on rainy days or nights for the kids with some classics for the older folks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Acadia Park Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Acadia Park Hotel Bar Harbor
Best Western Bar Harbor
Bar Harbor Best Western
Best Western Acadia Park Inn Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing