We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“COULDN'T ASK FOR MORE!”
Review of Acadia Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Acadia Inn
Ranked #14 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
96 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“COULDN'T ASK FOR MORE!”
Reviewed 21 August 2011

The Acadia Inn was a perfect motel for us to stay in. The room was clean, the staff friendly and the complimentary breakfast very good. The fact that breakfast was served until 10:30 a.m. was a definite plus since we didn't have to set our alarm to get up to take advantage of the breakfast. The complimentary bus shuttle to and from town picked us up right in front of the motel and ran often. That was wonderful since parking in town is very difficult. We parked our car when we arrived at the Acadia Inn and didn't have to move it again until we left Bar Harbor.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taxiluv2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    253
    237
    85
    15
    4
See reviews for
217
232
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harvard, MA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

My family again humored me and headed up to one of my favorite places with me to get away for some much needed R&R. We also tend to look for hotels with a free internet connection, so this place looked like it fits the bill. The room was spacious and comfortable, and convenient to downtown Bar Harbor (one can walk to the sand bar on Bridge St in 10 minutes). The continental type breakfast included with the rate was nice for the 3 day stay, however I suggest going out for breakfast now and then if the stay is longer than that, just to mix it up. On the internet connection, it is wireless, and perhaps an unsecured connection, so one would do well to be careful. The pink bathroom didn't bother me. It was clean enough - I myself tend to swiffer and sanitize to the every corner of my own bathrooms. Don't expect the towels to be too soft. There is a swingset and slide in the playground area next to the outdoor pool. If you have high energy children, keep a ball and frisbee on hand to play in the large backyard.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelBugMissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michigan
Level Contributor
120 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

We stayed at the Acadia Inn and we will only stay there from now on!! Rooms were good-sized, clean & safe. Free breakfast every morning with a great slection. Very helpful staff at the desk to give suggestions on where to eat dinner. Great places all 4 nights!! The pool was warm & comfy even for being outside. Location was close to town, about a mile to downtown & to Acadia visitor center. Just an awesome place all the way around! Definitely worth the money!!

Room Tip: No AAA discount in the summer, but still the best bet for the money for what all you get in return!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sportmom1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
acadia98, General Manager at Acadia Inn, responded to this review, 10 August 2011
Thank you so much for your great review! It was so great to hear that you enjoyed you stay with us so much. We pride ourselves in returning guests and hope to see you and your family in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia, USA
Level Contributor
59 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

Booked a two-night package in the Acadia Inn and found it to be a good deal and place to stay in the middle of the tourist season - it included a very nice dinner and a harbor cruise (with choices for each). The rooms and bath are decent sized and clean, the bed comfortable, and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The free breakfast was better than average. Our room did not have a coffeemaker, but they keep some fresh in the lobby area at all times of the day.

Only negative thing was that a previous guest had removed the soap/shampoo dispenser from the shower wall and the maid didn't even notice it, nor did we right away...was not a big problem since we had brought our own.

We'd recommend it for anyone looking for a place a bit upscale but not too fancy or pricey.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WeatherWizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Portland, Maine
1 review
Reviewed 30 July 2011

We only stayed for one night but the Acadia Inn was very nice. Really friendly staff and a big comfy bed. The coffee in the morning was really good:) I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deena86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia, USA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Hotel staff was accommodating finding us a cot on short notice. Room was clean and beds were comfortable. The continental breakfast was a very good start to the day. Excellent value overall on a hotel without a lot of frills but delivers where it counts.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelclan5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abingdon, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2011

Staff was very friendly, rooms were clean and spacious, and proximity to park was great. Loved the breakfast and free wifi. Wish they had a protein at breakfast, but overall hotel was a great value.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jekocur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
1.2 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
1.1 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
0.9 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#17 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
3.4 mi away
Best Western Acadia Park Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acadia Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acadia Inn

Property: Acadia Inn
Address: 98 Eden St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1106
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#20 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Acadia Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Acadia Inn - Friendly, Comfortable, Affordable - The Acadia Inn offers 95 deluxe air conditioned rooms with king/queen beds. Well-maintained grounds and recreational area. Amenities include: free continental breakfast, free wi-fi, HBO, guest laundry, heated pool and Jacuzzi, refrigerators, free local calls, irons, hair dryers. Located just one mile to waterfront, and 1 mile to Acadia National Park. Free shuttle to downtown and park. Special Value Packages available that include meals, and choice of harbor cruise or park tour. AAA 3 Diamond ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Acadia Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acadia Hotel Bar Harbor
Acadia Inn Bar Harbor, Maine
Acadia Bed Breakfast
Acadia Bar Harbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing