We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for the location”
Review of Acadia Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Acadia Inn
Ranked #15 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Framingham
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good value for the location”
Reviewed 30 August 2011

Pros: great location, decent value, pool for kids, friendly staff, good size rooms.
Cons: room was musty smelling, towels were horrible- need to be replaced.

Overall a good stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    270
    252
    89
    16
    4
See reviews for
236
243
18
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2011

We stayed at the acadia inn and thought it had its ups and downs. The room was decent sized and had 2 queen size beds. The bed was comfortable and the sheets were clean. The paintings were nice but nothing fancy. The shower worked well and the water was a good temperature. The pools were a bonus because they were heated. One of the few problems was that. soap and shampoo for the shower are in dispensers on the wall so bring your own. The other problem was that the underside of the bed was a bit dirty.overall a good hotel with nothing fancy.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jppowns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rochester ny
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

We spent five nights at the Acadia and appreciated the value we received. The breakfast hours allowed us to grab something very early to head to the park and then a snack on our late morning return. Those in my party who used the pool went there nearly every day. The free shuttle service is a great convenience and the proximity to both the village and the park are a plus. Housekeeping staff did a great job keeping our room clean and accommodating any special requests.
Only complaint is we didn't always have hot water. The staff worked on the issue and then gave us a small credit on our bill at checkout.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mykidsm0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staten Island, New York
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

The Acadia Inn was a perfect motel for us to stay in. The room was clean, the staff friendly and the complimentary breakfast very good. The fact that breakfast was served until 10:30 a.m. was a definite plus since we didn't have to set our alarm to get up to take advantage of the breakfast. The complimentary bus shuttle to and from town picked us up right in front of the motel and ran often. That was wonderful since parking in town is very difficult. We parked our car when we arrived at the Acadia Inn and didn't have to move it again until we left Bar Harbor.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taxiluv2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harvard, MA
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

My family again humored me and headed up to one of my favorite places with me to get away for some much needed R&R. We also tend to look for hotels with a free internet connection, so this place looked like it fits the bill. The room was spacious and comfortable, and convenient to downtown Bar Harbor (one can walk to the sand bar on Bridge St in 10 minutes). The continental type breakfast included with the rate was nice for the 3 day stay, however I suggest going out for breakfast now and then if the stay is longer than that, just to mix it up. On the internet connection, it is wireless, and perhaps an unsecured connection, so one would do well to be careful. The pink bathroom didn't bother me. It was clean enough - I myself tend to swiffer and sanitize to the every corner of my own bathrooms. Don't expect the towels to be too soft. There is a swingset and slide in the playground area next to the outdoor pool. If you have high energy children, keep a ball and frisbee on hand to play in the large backyard.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelBugMissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michigan
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

We stayed at the Acadia Inn and we will only stay there from now on!! Rooms were good-sized, clean & safe. Free breakfast every morning with a great slection. Very helpful staff at the desk to give suggestions on where to eat dinner. Great places all 4 nights!! The pool was warm & comfy even for being outside. Location was close to town, about a mile to downtown & to Acadia visitor center. Just an awesome place all the way around! Definitely worth the money!!

Room Tip: No AAA discount in the summer, but still the best bet for the money for what all you get in return!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sportmom1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
acadia98, General Manager at Acadia Inn, responded to this review, 10 August 2011
Thank you so much for your great review! It was so great to hear that you enjoyed you stay with us so much. We pride ourselves in returning guests and hope to see you and your family in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia, USA
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

Booked a two-night package in the Acadia Inn and found it to be a good deal and place to stay in the middle of the tourist season - it included a very nice dinner and a harbor cruise (with choices for each). The rooms and bath are decent sized and clean, the bed comfortable, and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The free breakfast was better than average. Our room did not have a coffeemaker, but they keep some fresh in the lobby area at all times of the day.

Only negative thing was that a previous guest had removed the soap/shampoo dispenser from the shower wall and the maid didn't even notice it, nor did we right away...was not a big problem since we had brought our own.

We'd recommend it for anyone looking for a place a bit upscale but not too fancy or pricey.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WeatherWizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
1.2 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,326 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#18 of 41 in Bar Harbor
288 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#19 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,135 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,691 reviews
1.1 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#10 of 41 in Bar Harbor
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acadia Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acadia Inn

Property: Acadia Inn
Address: 98 Eden St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1106
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#20 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Acadia Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Acadia Inn - Friendly, Comfortable, Affordable - The Acadia Inn offers 95 deluxe air conditioned rooms with king/queen beds. Well-maintained grounds and recreational area. Amenities include: free continental breakfast, free wi-fi, HBO, guest laundry, heated pool and Jacuzzi, refrigerators, free local calls, irons, hair dryers. Located just one mile to waterfront, and 1 mile to Acadia National Park. Free shuttle to downtown and park. Special Value Packages available that include meals, and choice of harbor cruise or park tour. AAA 3 Diamond ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Acadia Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acadia Hotel Bar Harbor
Acadia Inn Bar Harbor, Maine
Acadia Bed Breakfast
Acadia Bar Harbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing