We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Acadia Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Acadia Inn
Ranked #16 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
South Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

Had a wonderful time with my husband and my two kids. Very nice rooms and the kids stayed free. They also offer board games and outdoor activites.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kaylin2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    250
    236
    85
    15
    4
See reviews for
216
229
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
raymond maine
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

We spent a week at the Acadia inn in Bar Harbor while deciding to hike and bike Acadia national park.We were given a very reasonable rate for the week, the ppl, mainly Jodi, were sooo pleasant that we thoroughly enjoyed our down time after a day of leisure in the park. Free continental breakfast was included and definitely very well stocked each day. They even put out crock pots of soup and snacks for us to enjoy later in the day! I can't say enough good about this place. You wont be disappointed!!

Room Tip: i would definitely advise that you not get room 101 near the outer doors as we had a issue with earl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tamm k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2011

We stayed here Oct. 5-6th 2011,my wife and I enjoyed are room and time in Bar Harbor.The bed was comfy and the room was clean and the staff very friendly.The cookies and hot apple cider they put out in the afternoons is a nice touch and very good.The breakfast bar and coffee were very good as well.Although I agree with other reviews updates are needed but nothing is terrible or hideous looking.We also got to see a deer on the grounds one night after dinner.This is great hotel in bar harbor for a reasonable rate and I would go back.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kwill4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westport, MA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2011

The hotel was just fine, it is in a good location. The lobby and carpeting are a little worn out and could use an update. They room was a bit old, but clean and fine. The hotel offers a continental breakfast, like a Hampton Inn, with everything you would expect. My husband doesn't eat carbs for breakfast so this didn't really work for us. The front desk clerks were very nice and helpful and arranged a king size bed for us at my request. They advertise free wi-fi, but it was so slow that it wasn't really useful.

Room Tip: Make sure that you request a non-smoking room if you want one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PamLWestport_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
acadia98, General Manager at Acadia Inn, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Thank you for sharing your comments on Tripadvisor. Given the busy winter we have had putting in upgrades at the hotel, I thought I should take the time to let you know that we have recently completed a renovation of all 95 bathrooms. I think you would agree that what was outdating our rooms at the Acadia Inn was our bathrooms. They look fantastic and I hope you might stop by to take a look on a future visit to Bar Harbor. Our breakfast is a continental and therefore offers a lot in the Carb area, however we also offer hard boiled eggs, granola, assorted healthy cereals, fruit and yogurt to balance this out. We have considering offer some hot breakfast items, but without a kitchen on property it makes the task very difficult. Your comment is correct about the wi-fi being a bit slow, we replaced 4 wireless access points last fall and have seen a drastic increase in the speed and connection of our wireless service.

I hope you will consider the Acadia Inn for a future visit to Bar Harbor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boone
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2011

Noisy could hear every step in room above ours, toilet flushing, shower running, what motel doesn't sound proof floors? Towels still need to be replaced worn and corse. Conteniental breakfast doesn't make up as you have to fight the bus tour crowds. If you insist on staying get a third floor room and bring your own towels. Not worth $150. Room rate.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dickBoone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palatine, Illinoi
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2011

On the plus side, this is a busy hotel that is well positioned for vacationers staying around Bar Harbor and fairly close to the main visitor entrance of the Acadia National Park. It is on the free Bar Harbor shuttle route as well. Our family appreciated the breakfast buffet being well stocked throughout the morning being slightly later risers than some!

Some negatives included some wear and tear items that really showed including: stains on hallway carpets, cracked and broken tiles and mildew stains in the bathroom of our room, woodwork in need of repair and painting around the entrances to the hotel. I was a bit put off by the lack of security around the back entrance to the hotel where our room was. Anybody could have easily accessed the hotel hallways without much notice. The pool area was not as clean as I would like to see and needed a little more attention than it got, but was nice to have as an amenity.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doctor_jeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
acadia98, General Manager at Acadia Inn, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
First I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. Not only is Tripadvisor a great tool for travelers, but we use Tripadvisor to help aid in our upgrades and service to guests.

I am happy to be able to share with you that this winter we have address many of the concerns that you mention in your review. For the 2012 season all 95 bathrooms at the Acadia Inn have undergone a huge renovation! Our new bathrooms are looking absolutely gorgeous. We have also installed a completely new pool fence around our pool area for the upcoming season.

Thank you again for sharing your comments and I hope that with our recent attention to upgrading the hotel that you might give us a try on your next trip to Bar Harbor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyler, Texas
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

Rooms were clean and quiet
Staff was friendly
Breakfast was good
Laundry room was easy to get to
Would difinately stay at again
My only complaint: I couldn't get wifi in my room. I guess because we were at the end of a hall. But everything else being perfect made up for it. Thanks Acadia Inn for a great stay.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crazypinklizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
1.2 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,196 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
1.1 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
0.9 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#17 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
3.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acadia Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acadia Inn

Property: Acadia Inn
Address: 98 Eden St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1106
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#20 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Acadia Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Acadia Inn - Friendly, Comfortable, Affordable - The Acadia Inn offers 95 deluxe air conditioned rooms with king/queen beds. Well-maintained grounds and recreational area. Amenities include: free continental breakfast, free wi-fi, HBO, guest laundry, heated pool and Jacuzzi, refrigerators, free local calls, irons, hair dryers. Located just one mile to waterfront, and 1 mile to Acadia National Park. Free shuttle to downtown and park. Special Value Packages available that include meals, and choice of harbor cruise or park tour. AAA 3 Diamond ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Acadia Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acadia Hotel Bar Harbor
Acadia Inn Bar Harbor, Maine
Acadia Bed Breakfast
Acadia Bar Harbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing