We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Lovely Place Across from COA”
Review of Acadia Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Acadia Inn
Ranked #16 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Roanoke, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A Lovely Place Across from COA”
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Spent just one night at the Acadia Inn while visiting the College of the Atlantic, right across the street. It was clean, inexpensive (off-season, anyways), and had a very nice breakfast available for free. The folks were friendly and helpful.

Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank DEBHAPPY2B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    267
    247
    88
    16
    4
See reviews for
231
240
18
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Levant, Maine
1 review
Reviewed 13 May 2012

The acadia inn was very accomodating and a pleasure to stay at. The room was clean and well presented. My wife and i enjoyed the short distance to the attractions. It was very nice to wakeup and have a real "breakfast!" Not just coffee and donuts like at other establishments.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henniker, New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Spent 2 nights at the Acadia Inn for a brief getaway weekend. Very clean and spacious room. Room rate of $79/nt (off season) included breakfast. Breakfast fare was typical of "self service" at other hotel chains: bagels, toast, cereals, yogurts, fruit, coffee, juice, muffins. They also had pre-made french toast that you could heat in the microwave.

The hotel is on a normally busy road, but was set back enough that you don't get the traffic noise (it was off-season, so in season it might be a bit noisier).

The outdoor pool and hot tub were closed during our visit, but we were offered the use of the pool at their sister property (Oceanside Atlantic) which was across the street.

The staff was helpful with restaurant recommendations.

All in all, a very nice stay at a great value. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Portland, Maine
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Had a wonderful time with my husband and my two kids. Very nice rooms and the kids stayed free. They also offer board games and outdoor activites.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kaylin2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raymond maine
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 April 2012

We spent a week at the Acadia inn in Bar Harbor while deciding to hike and bike Acadia national park.We were given a very reasonable rate for the week, the ppl, mainly Jodi, were sooo pleasant that we thoroughly enjoyed our down time after a day of leisure in the park. Free continental breakfast was included and definitely very well stocked each day. They even put out crock pots of soup and snacks for us to enjoy later in the day! I can't say enough good about this place. You wont be disappointed!!

Room Tip: i would definitely advise that you not get room 101 near the outer doors as we had a issue with earl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tamm k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2011

We stayed here Oct. 5-6th 2011,my wife and I enjoyed are room and time in Bar Harbor.The bed was comfy and the room was clean and the staff very friendly.The cookies and hot apple cider they put out in the afternoons is a nice touch and very good.The breakfast bar and coffee were very good as well.Although I agree with other reviews updates are needed but nothing is terrible or hideous looking.We also got to see a deer on the grounds one night after dinner.This is great hotel in bar harbor for a reasonable rate and I would go back.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kwill4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westport, MA
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

The hotel was just fine, it is in a good location. The lobby and carpeting are a little worn out and could use an update. They room was a bit old, but clean and fine. The hotel offers a continental breakfast, like a Hampton Inn, with everything you would expect. My husband doesn't eat carbs for breakfast so this didn't really work for us. The front desk clerks were very nice and helpful and arranged a king size bed for us at my request. They advertise free wi-fi, but it was so slow that it wasn't really useful.

Room Tip: Make sure that you request a non-smoking room if you want one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PamLWestport_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
acadia98, General Manager at Acadia Inn, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Thank you for sharing your comments on Tripadvisor. Given the busy winter we have had putting in upgrades at the hotel, I thought I should take the time to let you know that we have recently completed a renovation of all 95 bathrooms. I think you would agree that what was outdating our rooms at the Acadia Inn was our bathrooms. They look fantastic and I hope you might stop by to take a look on a future visit to Bar Harbor. Our breakfast is a continental and therefore offers a lot in the Carb area, however we also offer hard boiled eggs, granola, assorted healthy cereals, fruit and yogurt to balance this out. We have considering offer some hot breakfast items, but without a kitchen on property it makes the task very difficult. Your comment is correct about the wi-fi being a bit slow, we replaced 4 wireless access points last fall and have seen a drastic increase in the speed and connection of our wireless service.

I hope you will consider the Acadia Inn for a future visit to Bar Harbor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
1.2 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,275 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.9 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#18 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,665 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#19 of 41 in Bar Harbor
281 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bar Harbor Manor
Bar Harbor Manor
#11 of 41 in Bar Harbor
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acadia Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acadia Inn

Property: Acadia Inn
Address: 98 Eden St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1106
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#20 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Acadia Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Acadia Inn - Friendly, Comfortable, Affordable - The Acadia Inn offers 95 deluxe air conditioned rooms with king/queen beds. Well-maintained grounds and recreational area. Amenities include: free continental breakfast, free wi-fi, HBO, guest laundry, heated pool and Jacuzzi, refrigerators, free local calls, irons, hair dryers. Located just one mile to waterfront, and 1 mile to Acadia National Park. Free shuttle to downtown and park. Special Value Packages available that include meals, and choice of harbor cruise or park tour. AAA 3 Diamond ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Acadia Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acadia Hotel Bar Harbor
Acadia Inn Bar Harbor, Maine
Acadia Bed Breakfast
Acadia Bar Harbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing