We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent family stay”
Review of Acadia Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Acadia Inn
Ranked #15 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“excellent family stay”
Reviewed 2 July 2012

The Acadia Inn is roomy comfortable and reasonably priced. This was our second stay and was as comfortable as ever.The room was clean, bathrooms were updated, and the ammenities first rate. I want to thank the staff for makibg our stay wonderful.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pakarate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    253
    238
    85
    15
    4
See reviews for
218
232
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012 via mobile

Kind staff, decent continental breakfast, only complaint was that the jacuzzi was not hot and that our room smelled musty.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mi5travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forest, Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012

This hotel is a good value. It was clean and comfortable. It is located just outside the town square but 5 minutes into town square. It has a island shuttle pick up right at the entrance. The heated pool and hot tub are very nice. It also had a room safe which was an added perk. Breakfast was a good variety and the staff were friendly and accommodating. It is not the most plush inn but beds were very comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4greenough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sumerduck, VA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

When I return to Bar Harbor I WILL return to Acadia Inn. The most important thing for me when selecting a hotel is the cleanliness. Our room was spotless. The room is just minutes to the entrance of Acadia National Park in one direction and the town of Bar Harbor in the other direction. The free continental breakfast was even a bit more than I expected. It had the usual fare plus french toast and waffles. There were about 5 different beverages to choose from. The two ladies working the breakfast area kept the buffett stocked. The pool was large and clean. We didn't look for a fitness area so I'm not sure if they had one.
The staff were very professional and knowledgable about the area. Thanks to Jim for giving us alternative directions to Boothbay which took us off the interstate and allowed us to enjoy the coast.
The ONLY reason I did not give the property 5 stars is that when I think 5 star, I think luxury. This is not a luxury hotel but a clean hotel with impecable staff. Way to go Acadia Inn!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mwcstudent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2012

From Jodie the desk manager to the wait staff to the janitor, this hotel could not do enough for its guest. Excellent and a pleasure to visit them.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank plister215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

Pros:

1. Great location near both Acadia and Bar Harbor. No view of ocean, however.

2. Room rates were pretty low.

3. Pool was nice for kids and heated.

4. Bathrooms looked newly remodeled

5. Staff was friendly and very professional.

Cons:

1. Rooms were unimpressive and dated. We couldn't see out of our ground level room due to shrubs.

2. Our bed and pillows were pretty hard.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PennGardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Acadia Inn, responded to this review, 8 July 2012
Thank you for your kind review. I am glad you found our staff to be accommodating, friendly and professional. Our location is fantastic being in the middle of Acadia and downtown Bar Harbor with easy access to both. This location offers a nice quiet pool area with a children's playground and recreational area on the back of the hotel which actually abuts the National Park. Our bathrooms were just recently renovated this past winter (2011) and our beds and bedding were upgraded in 2010 along with the addition of upgraded 32" flat screen televisions in all rooms. I apologize that you felt the shrubs blocking your window were a con on your list. These shrubs actually help to protect the privacy of our first floor guests. In reading your review the housekeeping manager and myself are looking into adding privacy sheers to the first floor windows and trimming down the shrubs to only cover half the window. So I thank you for you informative review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saratoga Springs, Utah
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

We stayed at the Acadia Inn for our 2 day trip to Acadia. This place was a great base of operation for our adventures.

Clean, quite and comfortable.
There was hardly a sole around so it was nice a quite. I'd imagine later in the summer it gets busy,.

Would defiantly consider it again when we visit Acadia next time.

Room Tip: Get a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AruoraKode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
1.2 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,206 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
1.1 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
0.9 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#17 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
3.4 mi away
Best Western Acadia Park Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acadia Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acadia Inn

Property: Acadia Inn
Address: 98 Eden St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1106
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#20 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Acadia Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Acadia Inn - Friendly, Comfortable, Affordable - The Acadia Inn offers 95 deluxe air conditioned rooms with king/queen beds. Well-maintained grounds and recreational area. Amenities include: free continental breakfast, free wi-fi, HBO, guest laundry, heated pool and Jacuzzi, refrigerators, free local calls, irons, hair dryers. Located just one mile to waterfront, and 1 mile to Acadia National Park. Free shuttle to downtown and park. Special Value Packages available that include meals, and choice of harbor cruise or park tour. AAA 3 Diamond ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Acadia Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acadia Hotel Bar Harbor
Acadia Inn Bar Harbor, Maine
Acadia Bed Breakfast
Acadia Bar Harbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing