We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay in Bar Harbor” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Acadia Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Acadia Inn
Ranked #16 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Upstate New York
Level Contributor
72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Bar Harbor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2013

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying at the Acadia Inn when visiting Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park. The Inn had curbside appeal owing to the landscaping. There was a lilac in full bloom just outside our window. We had a room in the back which was very quiet. It was also close to an exit door which was convenient when coming and going. The lobby was warm and welcoming, The staff did everything they could to please and be sure your stay was pleasant. The was plenty of parking available at the Inn. Downtown Bar Harbor was a little too far to walk, but parking was not a problem there either. This was before the start of the busy season however. I would recommend The Acadia Inn for anyone wanting a great room, comfy bed and nice surrounding for a very good price. We would certainly stay again.

Room Tip: Our room on the ground floor in the back was perfect. Quiet, near an exit door and close to the brea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank bnbmcgee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    236
    85
    15
    4
See reviews for
213
228
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ballston Lake, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

We were here in early May, purchased a 3 night spring package and were very happy with the price. Acadia National Park was closed to tours (which was part of our package) but the staff at Acadia Inn replaced those tickets with tickets on a nature cruise tour. The front desk staff was extremely helpful with making reservations for dinner, directions to wherever we wanted to go and suggestions as to what to do on a rainy day! The continental breakfast was very good, they had many choices. We were surprised to come back in the afternoon and find cheese, crackers, soup and fruit for a snack. Everyone we came into contact with was very friendly and helpful. Our room had a king bed, was very clean and nicely appointed. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank rraylinsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hooksett, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

Enjoyed the comfy beds & large, well-appointed bathroom, as well as your off-season rates. The Escape Package was delightful as we especially loved the narrated boat excursion & your delightful crew (esp. Bill, chuck-full of local stories) which added much to our trip around Frenchman's Bay. (a bonus, really, in addition to the delightful views)
Dinner @ The Bar Harbor Inn was the "cherry on the sundae" prior to our heading home. One suggestion -- breakfast was served @ 7:00 AM, whereas the bed-side memo indicated start time of 6:30. No problem, really, since we were on vacation, but had planned on an early start.
Grounds surrounding the property are inviting & well-maintained - Kudos to the staff for eye appeal.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Denise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
acadia98, General Manager at Acadia Inn, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Denise I am so glad you enjoyed your Anniversary Getaway with us! The package is an excellent value and option for our guests to really sit back and enjoy their vacation. We have had so many wonderful comments about the Acadian Nature Cruise since partnering with them and the Reading Room at the Bar Harbor Inn, Well it's a treat to us as well when we have the pleasure of dining there. I apologize about the breakfast hours, the sign was missed by myself and my staff. During the off-season April and early May we do start our breakfast slightly later than normal. It was scheduled to start at 7am and we should have changed the sign, in season we do have breakfast out and ready by 630am. Thank you for your delightful review and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lebanon, Pa
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

We spent the day visiting Acadia National Park and Bar Harbor in Maine...As tired puppies we were sitting at the bar at Cherrystones in Bar Harbor at the end of the day discussing where to go for the night and asked our waitress for a recommendation...One of her suggestions was the Acadia Inn...We went there and were not disappointed...Very friendly staff, clean room, free wireless and a breakfast to rival Holiday Inn Express and Hampton Inns...All of this at an extremely competitive price (off season by the way)...When we go back to the area we will stay here again.

Room Tip: Some of the furniture was 'dated' but the room was very clean and we're picky...The wind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lebanon_PaErnbone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, UT
Level Contributor
525 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 456 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

We were here in mid-April, which is off-season, so we were glad to find such a nice place open. It was a good location, not far from town, and very quiet. The room was a good size and nicely furnished. The heater was quiet and efficient. There was a large flat screen TV, and the bed was good. The bathroom was large, with granite countertops and a separate heater. They had a nice breakfast which went until 10:30 - but you'd best go early, because it doesn't seem that it is re-stocked. We went just before 10:00 and the yogurt (which was in a large bowl) was gone and the cut fruit ( also in a large bowl) was almost empty. They had French toast strips along with the other "breads" and one of those moving toasters which heated the strips just right - they were very tasty and a nice change. The off-season rate for a senior king room was $80.10 plus tax. We thought it was a nice place to stay - next time we would get to breakfast earlier.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Saxeygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kennebunkport, Maine
Level Contributor
236 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

We just spent 4 days in Bar Harbor and had a nice stay at the acadia inn. Being off-season, we found it to be reasonably priced- the room was good sized with two queen beds and was nicely decorated and very clean. the staff at the front desk were friendly and helpful. in the late afternoon, there were cheese and crackers and soup put out and one evening some cookies. we were on the 3rd floor and there was an elevator. It was quiet except for one night when there were some rude guests slamming doors. the beds were comfortable. We found the breakfast adequate but not overly exciting. there was a trail from the back of the inn leading to carriage paths in acadia. One morning two deer were in the back yard. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kpter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarascon, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2013

Excellent stay.Staff helpfully,coffee,tea 24H,cookies at tea time,cheese and crackers in the evening and lot of good advices.We had a very good stay.They give you maps,ewplain where to walk.......................

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank JOSETTE G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
1.2 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,183 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
1.1 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
1.1 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#8 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
3.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acadia Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acadia Inn

Property: Acadia Inn
Address: 98 Eden St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1106
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#20 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Acadia Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Acadia Inn - Friendly, Comfortable, Affordable - The Acadia Inn offers 95 deluxe air conditioned rooms with king/queen beds. Well-maintained grounds and recreational area. Amenities include: free continental breakfast, free wi-fi, HBO, guest laundry, heated pool and Jacuzzi, refrigerators, free local calls, irons, hair dryers. Located just one mile to waterfront, and 1 mile to Acadia National Park. Free shuttle to downtown and park. Special Value Packages available that include meals, and choice of harbor cruise or park tour. AAA 3 Diamond ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Acadia Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acadia Hotel Bar Harbor
Acadia Inn Bar Harbor, Maine
Acadia Bed Breakfast
Acadia Bar Harbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing