We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay in Bar Harbor”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Acadia Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Acadia Inn
Ranked #16 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay in Bar Harbor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

Excellent hotel in Bar Harbor! We stayed here in mid-July 2013. It is very clean, has queen beds, a nice breakfast, reasonable rates, cookies & cheese in the afternoon, and a nice pool, hot tub, swings and a field in the back. Twice each week in the summer, weather permitting, they have a movie night and S'mores outside. The hotel is about 1 mile from the shops and restaurants of downtown Bar Harbor and very close to Acadia National Park entrances. The staff is very friendly! Coffee is available all the time. There is plenty of parking in front and back. The Islander free shuttle stops at the hotel entrance for those who do not want to drive. We definitely recommend this hotel for those visiting Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pbodura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    250
    236
    85
    15
    4
See reviews for
216
229
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

Very nice room. Clean and comfortable. Short drive to Acadia national Forest. Short drive to center of town. Very nice continental breakfast with 24 hour coffee and hot water. I would fill up my thermos for the day. Movie night for the kids. Smores night for those of us who are kids at heart! Wonderful restaurants in the area. Great biking paths in Acadia. We were able to keep our bikes in our hotel rooms. There is an outdoor pool, but no umbrellas. They do offer pool towels. Free shuttle buses come to hotel door to take people various places, but we used our car. Hotel is not on the ocean, but not a problem for us as Bar Harbor and Acadia National Forest is so beautiful.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank CollegeKidMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

We stayed for 3 nights because of a conference at College of the Atlantic, right across the street.. The terrific, free bus stops right at the door and goes downtown and to area attractions. There is also lots of free parking in an open lot. Comfortable rooms with refrigerators, okay buffet breakfast, very quiet rooms -- you could not hear any hall noise. Windows open or the central air conditioning is effective and cools quickly. Staff was very helpful with directions, restaurant suggestions, etc.

Room Tip: If you want to sleep with the windows open, choose floors 2 or 3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CGBfromDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middleton, Nova Scotia, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

It was very clean and the staff were very friendly. It was a great location and the breakfast was nice to have in the morning before we left. I would recommend Acadia Inn to anyone going to Bar Harbor.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

If you need 2 queen beds and need to watch your spending, the Acadia is the place to go. There are numerous B&B's in Bar Harbor and the Acadia is 1.0 miles from downtown, but the B&B's target couples with single beds and are $300 a night. There are sidewalks to use from the Acadia and the walk is nice. They have a nice semi-heated outdoor pool and a nice Hot Tub and semores 2 nights a week at their fire-pit.
Staff friendly, rooms very nice and overall just right. A shuttle bus comes by every 30 minutes to take you to downtown if you choose. We took shuttle to downtown and walked back. Walking really allows you opportunity to see the nice houses and beautiful large trees.
ALSO, must be said in caps, the continental breakfast is great! Not only plenty of variety and good food, it saved our family easily $40...my kids are older and can eat. So you save $40 easily not having to go out for breakfast every morning.
I've traveled quite a bit with my family of 4 and this place for the money ($200) is THE place to stay in Bar Harbor compared with the larger hotels ($300).

Room Tip: No tips really...our room was good and the pool was so-so warm, the hot tub was hot and the breakfas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steingoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanover, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

We stayed for 2 nights at The Acadia Inn. It was very clean and the beds were really comfortable. The breakfast and pool were great as well. We would definitely stay here again if we visit Bar Harbor.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank travelpug17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clinton Township
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

Perfect location-close to Acadia Park entrance and we walked into town. Breakfast had plenty to choose from and clean area. Smores at night. Room was clean- however blanket was dirty on one bed-they came with new blanket in 5 min. apologized and could not of been nicer. Staff very helpful for suggestions in the area. Perfect for our family.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank AdventuresMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
1.2 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,195 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
1.1 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
0.9 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#17 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
3.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acadia Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acadia Inn

Property: Acadia Inn
Address: 98 Eden St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1106
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#20 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Acadia Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Acadia Inn - Friendly, Comfortable, Affordable - The Acadia Inn offers 95 deluxe air conditioned rooms with king/queen beds. Well-maintained grounds and recreational area. Amenities include: free continental breakfast, free wi-fi, HBO, guest laundry, heated pool and Jacuzzi, refrigerators, free local calls, irons, hair dryers. Located just one mile to waterfront, and 1 mile to Acadia National Park. Free shuttle to downtown and park. Special Value Packages available that include meals, and choice of harbor cruise or park tour. AAA 3 Diamond ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Acadia Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acadia Hotel Bar Harbor
Acadia Inn Bar Harbor, Maine
Acadia Bed Breakfast
Acadia Bar Harbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing