We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and relaxing but close to it all”
Review of Acadia Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Acadia Inn
Ranked #15 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2013

This smallish inn is about a mile from town. The rooms are pretty large and comfortable. Breakfast is served from 6:30-10:00, with coffee and tea through the say. A nice sized heated pool is on premises. Walking trail to Acadia is in the back yard. Campfires n s'mores 2 nights a week; family movies 2 nights a week. The town sponsored free shuttle bus picks you up at the front door and brings you right into Bar Harbor where you can connect with other shuttles going to the park and other areas. IMHO this was priceless. Loved that we could easily get anywhere with driving our car. This was a great place.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the back.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xoCladdaghxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (644)
There are newer reviews for Acadia Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

431 - 437 of 644 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2013

Before we went on this trip we read the reviews of this place and as a whole they were pretty positive. The only real negative we noted was that it was too far out of town to walk to the shops and restaurants. We did not consider this to be a negative as we were told the town bus service was very reliable. For the price we paid, we expected a nice stay in a quiet place.

When we arrived, we noted the faded and dated look to the decor, and the lobby was small, but check-in was prompt, and although we were not offered any assistance with luggage, we were told where the luggage carts were. When we arrived in our room it was even more dated than the lobby and it smelled of spoiled salami. The bathroom was worn, but appeared clean. That night we learned that the bed was one solid lump and we were not able to sleep. My sheets were not changed the entire week and I know that because the top one had a hole in it that stayed the entire week. The bus service was prompt as promised and it ran right under our room every fifteen minutes from 6:15 AM until 10:00 PM.

When I went to the front desk to ask to be moved to a cleaner, quieter room with a better bed, I was first told that they would look into moving us and then I was told there was nothing else.

The free breakfast is free, but very inadequate space where it is served.

The back yard definitely needs mowing, trimming and landscaping attention.

The air-conditioner was very loud and only worked sporadically

I have not stayed in other hotels in the area, but I have to believe that for the price you could do better.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel or if you have to stay at this one, choose one away from the front drive.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 60TravelLady74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
acadia98, General Manager at Acadia Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2013

Thank you for submitting your review on TripAdvisor. We use comments on TripAdvisor to help us increase and maintain guest expectations. I am sorry that you had a less than satisfactory experience in your room accommodations. We frequently hear how clean and comfortable our rooms and public areas are. I am sorry that we did not address the issues with your room location, we frequently move things around to accommodate guests with special requests and am upset that we were not able to carry this through for you. During the past two years we have upgraded all our bedding, re-painted all the guest rooms and renovated our bathrooms entirely. Our breakfast is typically a continental without any hot items and we do advertise it as just that, since we are not a full-service resort we do not have a bellman to assist guest with luggage. The free shuttle service is a great asset that we have on property and does run from 7am to 10pm to accommodate guests going into and out of the downtown area. I can assure you that your comments have been forwarded to all management levels of the hotel and only wish that you had spoken with the Front Desk and/or management upon departure about your concerns, so that we could evaluate them to better serve future travelers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We've stayed at the Acadia Inn in the past and because we had our granddaughters with us this time we again chose the Acadia Inn. The rooms are very comfortable as well as clean and quiet. Having a pool was wonderful as we were in Bar Harbor when the temps were in the high 80's at least! Having a very nice breakfast every morning was also a major convenience.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank JulKeegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Excellent hotel in Bar Harbor! We stayed here in mid-July 2013. It is very clean, has queen beds, a nice breakfast, reasonable rates, cookies & cheese in the afternoon, and a nice pool, hot tub, swings and a field in the back. Twice each week in the summer, weather permitting, they have a movie night and S'mores outside. The hotel is about 1 mile from the shops and restaurants of downtown Bar Harbor and very close to Acadia National Park entrances. The staff is very friendly! Coffee is available all the time. There is plenty of parking in front and back. The Islander free shuttle stops at the hotel entrance for those who do not want to drive. We definitely recommend this hotel for those visiting Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pbodura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Very nice room. Clean and comfortable. Short drive to Acadia national Forest. Short drive to center of town. Very nice continental breakfast with 24 hour coffee and hot water. I would fill up my thermos for the day. Movie night for the kids. Smores night for those of us who are kids at heart! Wonderful restaurants in the area. Great biking paths in Acadia. We were able to keep our bikes in our hotel rooms. There is an outdoor pool, but no umbrellas. They do offer pool towels. Free shuttle buses come to hotel door to take people various places, but we used our car. Hotel is not on the ocean, but not a problem for us as Bar Harbor and Acadia National Forest is so beautiful.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank CollegeKidMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We stayed for 3 nights because of a conference at College of the Atlantic, right across the street.. The terrific, free bus stops right at the door and goes downtown and to area attractions. There is also lots of free parking in an open lot. Comfortable rooms with refrigerators, okay buffet breakfast, very quiet rooms -- you could not hear any hall noise. Windows open or the central air conditioning is effective and cools quickly. Staff was very helpful with directions, restaurant suggestions, etc.

Room Tip: If you want to sleep with the windows open, choose floors 2 or 3.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CGBfromDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

It was very clean and the staff were very friendly. It was a great location and the breakfast was nice to have in the morning before we left. I would recommend Acadia Inn to anyone going to Bar Harbor.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#18 of 41 in Bar Harbor
301 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,369 reviews
1.1 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#10 of 41 in Bar Harbor
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.8 mi away
Bar Harbor Manor
Bar Harbor Manor
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
467 reviews
0.9 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#20 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acadia Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acadia Inn

Address: 98 Eden St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1106
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#20 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range: £87 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Acadia Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Acadia Inn - Friendly, Comfortable, Affordable - The Acadia Inn offers 95 deluxe air conditioned rooms with king/queen beds. Well-maintained grounds and recreational area. Amenities include: free continental breakfast, free wi-fi, HBO, guest laundry, heated pool and Jacuzzi, refrigerators, free local calls, irons, hair dryers. Located just one mile to waterfront, and 1 mile to Acadia National Park. Free shuttle to downtown and park. Special Value Packages available that include meals, and choice of harbor cruise or park tour. AAA 3 Diamond ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Acadia Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acadia Hotel Bar Harbor
Acadia Inn Bar Harbor, Maine
Acadia Bed Breakfast
Acadia Bar Harbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing