We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Acadia Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Acadia Inn
Ranked #16 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2009

We stayed here for two nights while in Bar Harbour.It is a bit quaint with an old fashioned feel. It is a bit out of town with a 15 to 20 minute walk to cottage street (the start of the main shopping area with bars and resturants.) The hotel was clean and the staff were polite and attentive. The complimentary continental breakfast consisted of the usual cereals muffins fruit and breads. There is a swimming pool and hot tub both of which are outside. There is on site free parking. Bar Harbour is a lovely place well worth a visit.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cam405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    250
    236
    85
    15
    4
See reviews for
216
229
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2009

This was our second time stay @ Acadia Inn and it will be our last! The place is clean but that's about it. Not very friendly. They charged our card like 5 or 6 times even after we checked out. We won't be going back.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank june9791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
acainn, marketing manager at Acadia Inn, responded to this review, 24 July 2009
I am sorry that "overpriced" stated that we were not very friendly and that we charged their charge card 5 or 6 times. We had a few problems with the charge card as you will recall, and we communicated with you all of the problems that we had.

We do have a very clean facility and many people enjoy coming here. I hope that our future guests will not be swayed by this review and will read on to our many positive ones!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
171 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2009

We chose this hotel, as we don't care for B&B's, and liked the location. We stayed four nights over Memorial Day weekend, and it was a pleasant stay. The rooms are large, with a very nice bathroom. There is a good breakfast included, which had french toast and other assorted items. Although not filthy by any means, the rooms could be cleaner, as we found candy wrappers next to the bed. We also came back from hiking one day to find housekeeping didn't have our door closed all the way, and therefore, unlocked. I would certainly recommend, and thought it was a good value, at least at the May rates.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TerrenceDean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2009

Take the Acadia Escape Package. It includes a dinner for two at the Reading Room - Bar Harbor Inn. Excellent food, our bill would have been $115 otherwise. The Acadia tour that is included was very good as well. The hotel is clean, updated and the staff are very helpful.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RBewley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mt.Orab,Ohio
Level Contributor
84 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2008

We visited a week before they closed in the "Off season" on a wonderful package. It was one of the best hotels I've stayed in. The rooms were wonderful and clean. Even though just a few guest were staying at the hotel, breakfast was excellent and the hotel was very clean. The hotel staff was super friendly and helpful. At first was concerned about location but is perfectly situated between Acaida National Park and downtown Bar Harbor.

Just a note, treat yourself to dinner at Bar Harbor Inn, which was included in our package. Food may be pricey, but it is a once in a lifetime experiance.

  • Liked — Clean hotel, great breakfast, good location
  • Disliked — Everything was perfect.
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank spillersm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2008

Spacious rooms with breakfast included and in an excellent location. It is right on Hwy 3 so roadway noise is present but not to the point of being problematic. Breakfast buffet is adequate ... coffee is pretty bad but I found that to be the case in all of Bar Harbor (incl. coffee shops) which is not so much a problem of beans and roasting but a universal tendancy towards weak brewing. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank VoiceOverMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2008

My wife and I stayed here for three nights. Priced right for someone not looking to stay in luxury. Just up the road from Bar Harbor Center. Near the entrance to Acadia National Park.

We had a great room on second floor. Very clean and comfortable. Excellent continental breakfast in the morning. Staff was courteous and helpful. Recommended a number of restaurants which were great.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and price
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SoxFan50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
1.2 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,195 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
1.1 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
0.9 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#17 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
3.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acadia Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acadia Inn

Property: Acadia Inn
Address: 98 Eden St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1106
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#20 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Acadia Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Acadia Inn - Friendly, Comfortable, Affordable - The Acadia Inn offers 95 deluxe air conditioned rooms with king/queen beds. Well-maintained grounds and recreational area. Amenities include: free continental breakfast, free wi-fi, HBO, guest laundry, heated pool and Jacuzzi, refrigerators, free local calls, irons, hair dryers. Located just one mile to waterfront, and 1 mile to Acadia National Park. Free shuttle to downtown and park. Special Value Packages available that include meals, and choice of harbor cruise or park tour. AAA 3 Diamond ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Acadia Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acadia Hotel Bar Harbor
Acadia Inn Bar Harbor, Maine
Acadia Bed Breakfast
Acadia Bar Harbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing