We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and economical (by Bar Harbor stds)”
Review of Acadia Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Acadia Inn
Ranked #14 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2009

Pros: room was clean, we could control temp., the hotel-to-town shuttle was free and easy to use, the microfridge, mini gift shop and board games were nice touches; the kids enjoyed the pool and the breakfast, which was better than a continental breakfast.
Cons: stairwell smelled dirty, desk staff disengaged, room walls a bit thin, no scenic view from hotel, the walk to Bar Harbor is on a busy road.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Momofbuckeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (650)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

588 - 594 of 650 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2009

The good: The hotel and the rooms are spotless. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Parking is plentiful and the location is good - about a mile walk to the center of town and 2 minutes by car to the Nova Scotia ferry.

The bad: Noisy. You hear the people above you and their water use. Rooms facing front are subject to traffic noise. Breakfasts are mediocre at best with little variety. (artificial creamer - bleahh!). There are too many cheap touches - paper thin towels and bulk low-grade shampoo in dispensers. And the worst - and this is VERY TACKY - they put a "voluntary" charity donation on your bill without asking. It is supposedly for ecology and run by that great public minded group - the Bar Harbor Chamber of Conference. They will remove the donation upon request but it should never have been there. And if the Acadia Inn really cares about ecology, how about a place to recycle paper?

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VivaVerdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2009

This feels like a family business. Hotel check in was pleasant and prompt, with helpful staff. You are located about 1 mile north of Bar Harbor and within a 5 minute drive to the ferry to Nova Scotia. This is a good choice for those who plan to take the ferry, as you can arrive the night before, enjoy Bar Harbor's plentiful selection of restaurants, and make a short trip to the ferry the next day. The hotel is unpretentious and offers quiet, clean, simple rooms with only the basics, with good value for the money.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2009

We stayed here for two nights while in Bar Harbour.It is a bit quaint with an old fashioned feel. It is a bit out of town with a 15 to 20 minute walk to cottage street (the start of the main shopping area with bars and resturants.) The hotel was clean and the staff were polite and attentive. The complimentary continental breakfast consisted of the usual cereals muffins fruit and breads. There is a swimming pool and hot tub both of which are outside. There is on site free parking. Bar Harbour is a lovely place well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cam405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2009

This was our second time stay @ Acadia Inn and it will be our last! The place is clean but that's about it. Not very friendly. They charged our card like 5 or 6 times even after we checked out. We won't be going back.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank june9791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
acainn, marketing manager at Acadia Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2009

I am sorry that "overpriced" stated that we were not very friendly and that we charged their charge card 5 or 6 times. We had a few problems with the charge card as you will recall, and we communicated with you all of the problems that we had.

We do have a very clean facility and many people enjoy coming here. I hope that our future guests will not be swayed by this review and will read on to our many positive ones!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2009

We chose this hotel, as we don't care for B&B's, and liked the location. We stayed four nights over Memorial Day weekend, and it was a pleasant stay. The rooms are large, with a very nice bathroom. There is a good breakfast included, which had french toast and other assorted items. Although not filthy by any means, the rooms could be cleaner, as we found candy wrappers next to the bed. We also came back from hiking one day to find housekeeping didn't have our door closed all the way, and therefore, unlocked. I would certainly recommend, and thought it was a good value, at least at the May rates.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TerrenceDean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2009

Take the Acadia Escape Package. It includes a dinner for two at the Reading Room - Bar Harbor Inn. Excellent food, our bill would have been $115 otherwise. The Acadia tour that is included was very good as well. The hotel is clean, updated and the staff are very helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RBewley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#18 of 41 in Bar Harbor
312 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,376 reviews
1.1 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#8 of 41 in Bar Harbor
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#10 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,754 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bar Harbor Manor
Bar Harbor Manor
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
474 reviews
0.9 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#19 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acadia Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acadia Inn

Address: 98 Eden St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1106
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#20 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range: £87 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Acadia Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Acadia Inn - Friendly, Comfortable, Affordable - The Acadia Inn offers 95 deluxe air conditioned rooms with king/queen beds. Well-maintained grounds and recreational area. Amenities include: free continental breakfast, free wi-fi, HBO, guest laundry, heated pool and Jacuzzi, refrigerators, free local calls, irons, hair dryers. Located just one mile to waterfront, and 1 mile to Acadia National Park. Free shuttle to downtown and park. Special Value Packages available that include meals, and choice of harbor cruise or park tour. AAA 3 Diamond ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Acadia Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acadia Hotel Bar Harbor
Acadia Inn Bar Harbor, Maine
Acadia Bed Breakfast
Acadia Bar Harbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing