We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Excellent, Clean, and Affordable Inn”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Acadia Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Acadia Inn
Ranked #16 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
“An Excellent, Clean, and Affordable Inn”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2010

My wife and I stayed at Acadia Inn in Bar Harbor for one week in August 2010 with our two children: a school age child and an infant. We arrived at the hotel late after another booking fell through, not having heard of Acadia Inn before. This turned out to be a wonderful find for us. Not only was the staff immensely helpful, including manager Bethany and her front desk staff to Janet and the rest of the housekeeping staff , but the hotel is clean, ideally situated (we took walks with our baby across the street at College of the Atlantic as well as in Bar Harbor waterfront which is just two minutes away by car), and comes with a heated pool in the back and a playground for those times in between sightseeing trips. It is minutes to a grocery store and pharmacy downtown. . The breakfast at the hotel was great- organic granola, juice, eggs, french toast, a selection of bagels and muffins, oatmeal, yogurt, and fresh fruit (bananas and apples). We would definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cat523059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    250
    236
    85
    15
    4
See reviews for
216
229
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aurora
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2010

The Acadian Inn is a good, clean, friendly hotel. The rooms are are large and well cared for. We had a flat screen TV in our room as well. The breakfast buffet is the usual cereals, bagels, and fruit. Plenty of choices. I would consider this a classic, non-chain resort hotel. It is not a Courtyard or Hilton Garden, but it is a good place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CanyonManAurora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanover, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2010

We stayed at Acadia Inn for 4 nights on a trip to Bar Harbor/Acadia National Park. Room was clean & service was great. Hotel was completely booked most of the time & everything ran smoothly, we have no complaints at all. Rooms were clean and beds were comfortable. Continental breakfast was good. We asked one evening for a restaurant recommendation and it was a wonderful place. Hotel is located right between Bar Harbor & Acadia National Park, very convenient.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snugbun62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2010

In a market where room prices run high (in my opinon), The Acadia Inn delivered everything we expected. Our comments: A clean large room with comfortable bed; quiet (but could hear people moving about in the room above us); clean large bathroom; refrigerator (but no freezer section); wide screen TV (but not HD); good air conditioning unit, plenty of parking, decent outdoor pool and spa (spa out of order during our visit), close to National Park entrance, free shuttle bus to town, fine (free) continental breakfast. Not a destination resort, but a reliable, clean hotel that we could recommend to family and freinds.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sun_ski_fanBoston_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2010

We were please with ou stay at the Acadia Inn. The rooms were clean and spacious, staff very very helpful. This hotel offered a comfortable stay without any frills, but yet you aren't paying for those frills either. Location is a little pursue of downtown but we never encountered a parking problem. Would stay here in the future!

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovlifetrvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ely, mn
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2010

The whole hotel needs updating and looks a little tired. I booked for 3 nights based on the trip advisor reviews, and was sadly disappointed. The room was spacious, but the decor was outdated. Our bedspreads were faded and tattered and the carpet was stained. The laundry area was hot and expensive and cost $10 for two loads of clothes.
The front desk staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast was ok, but had the same things every day. It was such a disappointment when compared to the Hilton Garden Inn we stayed in the night before and for less money.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank birchlakemama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2009

My stay at Acadia Inn was wonderful. The room was clean,roomey and comfortable. The bathroom was very bright. I really liked the fact that I was on the third floor and able to open the windows. The staff were friendly,helpful and very professional. I went to watch the sunrise on Cadillac Mountain in the morning and really enjoyed the continental breakfast that awaited me when I got back to the hotel. The Getaway Package was great. I can not wait until next Oct. so I can do it all again. Thank you Acadia Inn for a WONDERFUL vacation experience. The dinner at Bar Harbor Inn was very,very good and the wait staff was so much fun.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElizCanada54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
1.2 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,195 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
1.1 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
0.9 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#17 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
3.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acadia Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acadia Inn

Property: Acadia Inn
Address: 98 Eden St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1106
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#20 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Acadia Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Acadia Inn - Friendly, Comfortable, Affordable - The Acadia Inn offers 95 deluxe air conditioned rooms with king/queen beds. Well-maintained grounds and recreational area. Amenities include: free continental breakfast, free wi-fi, HBO, guest laundry, heated pool and Jacuzzi, refrigerators, free local calls, irons, hair dryers. Located just one mile to waterfront, and 1 mile to Acadia National Park. Free shuttle to downtown and park. Special Value Packages available that include meals, and choice of harbor cruise or park tour. AAA 3 Diamond ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Acadia Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acadia Hotel Bar Harbor
Acadia Inn Bar Harbor, Maine
Acadia Bed Breakfast
Acadia Bar Harbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing